We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location, Walking Distance to EVERYTHING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Location, Walking Distance to EVERYTHING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

We stayed in Rome for 3 nights at the end of our trip to Europe in January and WOW!
We got a train from Florence SM Novella station to Roma Termini, and arrived in the late afternoon. We jumped in a taxi which took approximately 15 minutes to take us to the Pantheon area which was bustling and full of life. We were so excited to be in an environment that was so full of life compared to the quiet surroundings of Florence. So many people were travelling to this area and it was where our hotel was located! Right in the heart of Rome!
The staff at the desk were really helpful and due to the quiet season they upgraded us to an apartment which was amazing. The hotel was clean and very modern, with access to wifi. We had read reviews about the poor quality wifi but ours worked well, only cutting out once when the power went out briefly on our last day.
The location was amazing, the actual square the hotel is located in has a vast array of restaurants, gelato shops and small boutique shops. We were walking distance from every main attraction in Rome, and our longest walk was to Vatican City, which took us about 30 minutes, however there was lots to see on the way. It was an easy 10-15 minute walk to the Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, and the Colosseum. The only way to get around Rome is to walk around the streets and soak up the culture, so the location of this hotel allowed us to do this with ease!
Breakfast was also included daily, and although it was not of huge variety, it included eggs, bacon, pastries, fruit and cereals which is more than adequate enough to get you started.
Would definitely stay here again, the location was perfect, the staff were friendly and the inclusive breakfast just added to our great experience here :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,805
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
819
1,802
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

......do stay at this hotel!
My husband and I stayed here for four nights for my birthday and cannot praise this hotel enough.
The location is fantastic near to all the major attractions, the hotel is unique and the staff are very professional and extremely friendly.
Once they found out from my passport it was my birthday they gave us complimentary drinks vouchers for the bar and a lovely hand written birthday letter.
We got an upgrade to one of the most fantastic suites, but judging by all the other reviews on trip advisor we would not have been disappointed with any of the rooms allocated to us.
The breakfast was very good with an adequate choice and the waitress service as first rate.
A special mention goes to the young man in the bar who was extremely polite and welcoming when serving us each evening.
We will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the fantastic city of Rome.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Thenewsalopians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I found this hotel while searching for somewhere to stay for a one night trip to Rome for my partner and I. Because we had only one night, the hotel was super important to me.

I did a shortlist and couldn't decide between this one and another more towards Termini station... I wasted so many hours debating and eventually plumped for this. I am so glad I chose this, that I felt compelled to write a review to try to prevent someone else from wasting hours debating if this one is in your shortlist.

The first thing that I would say is that if you are keen to see the sights you will not beat this location. The hotel is right on the Piazza of the Pantheon (the front of the hotel is also nice). You can walk to pretty much anywhere if you want to. We even walked from the Termini station to the hotel when we first arrived (Took us around 45 mins of very slow walking and stopping taking pictures).

On the final day, we jumped in a cab to the Vatican because we where short of time. It cost us just 6 euros and took maybe 7 minutes. We also got a cab back from the Collosseum because of time constraints and that cost us just 7 euros.

The roof terrace of the hotel was a major tick for me of this hotel. The bar there wasn't open when we stayed but you still had the option to go up there if you wanted to and take a glass of vino up etc. Speaking of which, from the minibar in the room, a glass of wine was only 3euros.

As other reviews have mentioned, the staff are exceptional. We arrived at 12noon and they let us check in (officially, check-in is 2pm). They also let us leave our bags there once we had checked out and gave us non stop information on how to get to different places etc.

We where asked if we wanted a room overlooking the Pantheon or a quieter one at the back, we chose the first option and the room was upgraded to a Junior Suite. We was not disturbed by any noise at all and slept very well (We are from London so perhaps we are used to sleeping with noise).

They are currently upgrading the second floor of the hotel and as such, there is some building work happening outside and in but that did not bother us at all as it was super contained and happened during the day.

Some other quick pointers we learnt in Rome...

- Look out for * on the menus, it means you are eating frozen food, not fresh
- If you are going to ask a hotel / bar to call you a taxi, be aware that the meter starts from the moment the cab gets allocated to job. This means that by the time it arrives to collect you, you will have a lot of money already charged, depending on where car has come from.

Enjoy your trip.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank michelledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Just back from a 5 night stay at this hotel and we felt inspired to write our first ever Tripadvisor review.
From the moment we were met in the airport (arranged by hotel) by the best dressed driver in a comfy black Mercedes it was perfect all the way! The location, room,and particularly the staff (who never seemed rushed and were always smiling and charming) were outstanding. I even got a lovely birthday surprise!
The activity in the Piazza below was fascinating and ever changing, we especially loved the live music, there is something special about listening to "Stairway to heaven" played on a cello in such an idyllic location!
If we return to Rome and I hope we do........I couldn't think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coles_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

A superb hotel in a fantastic location. The rooms were lovely and the staff were exceptional. Gave us tips on getting places, sorted out airport transfers and bent over backwards to help.

I couldn't have enjoyed it more and was a perfect city break

Room Tip: avoid the 01 rooms on each floor as these are the closest to the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DynamoCowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

This is an excellent hotel. The view is gorgeous. You will enjoy the Pantheon. The rooms are very elegant with nice furniture. Nice breakfast. Excellent service. Everything is at a Walking distance. Perfect for a romantic gateway.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vittoria5768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houma, Louisiana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

My wife and I have stayed in this hotel on three different trips to Rome. It is not the most expensive or elegant hotel in Rome. But we don't go to Rome to stay in a hotel. It is a very nice well run hotel in the perfect place in Rome to be your sightseeing headquarters. Besides having the Pantheon a stone's throw away, it is within walking distance of most of the things you will want to see in Rome. If I got up early, I would just walk out of the hotel into the square and step into the Pantheon all alone. There are also many small neighborhood restaurants in the area, just ask the concierge to help. I will definitely stay there on my next rip to Rome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,358 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,759 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing