We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
new jersey
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We recently visited Rome for 6 Days. Our home base was the hotel Albergo del Senato. In all of the reviews we read ahead of time, "stay in a central location" was mentioned over and over. We chose this hotel after reading reviews on trip advisor! It was perfecto! Completely centrally located, we walked everywhere when not on a specific tour. Our room had a view of the Pantheon and the bustling Piazza della Rotonda but at night with the window closed it was very quiet. The hotel was extremely clean, breakfast was included and tasty and the staff were very friendly. The location couldn't have been better. It was an easy walk to Piazza Navona, the Trevi fountain, the Forum (a little longer), The Circus Maximus, the Tiber Island…. and tons of great restaurants everywhere. Rome is wonderful and staying at the Albergo del Senato was a pleasure!

Room Tip: Facing the Piazza would be a plus! there are elevators and a beautiful staircase
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank josyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,869
    468
    75
    34
    10
See reviews for
842
1,840
107
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Fabulous location. Fabulous, friendly, English-speaking staff. Fabulous, clean, large room with a fabulous view. Fabulous roof-top terrace that can be used regardless of the season. The breakfast was a nice bonus and had great fruit, pastries, meats and cheeses. We were upgraded to a suite upon arrival which gave our grown son his own room. It can be difficult to find a European hotel room that can accommodate 3 adults, so were quite pleased to say the least. The front desk staff was extremely helpful (just don't pronounce Mauro's name wrong!!!!) and answered all our questions. Great value for your money!

Room Tip: If you would like to be serenaded by the performers in the Piazza, get a room facing the Pantheon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyB5584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
242 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is the most central location if you plan to explore Rome on foot. Having a comfortable, friendly hotel makes things easier. There is some construction underway, but it was not intrusive. The bathrooms are great, modern clean and well lit, huge showers, great water pressure, but our bathroom slider door did not lock (lock was improperly installed, welcome to Italia!). The breakfast room has a great selection of fruits, pastries, eggs, yogurts to fuel your morning, opens promptly at 7am. The staff is friendly and helpful, but this is slightly large hotel, so not terribly intimate. Very comfortable and convenient.

Room Tip: Request views of the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa_NJ_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

two ways to review this hotel,
The first is: location location location. :)
The second is: fab staff. good breakfast, excellent rooms, mini bar cheaper than local bars, ... and obv. location. We will be returning.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the square are interesting and there is a fabulous view of the pantheon but there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jinxsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Title says it all. Great hotel in a prime location next to the Pantheon and central for all the major sites.

Rooms were good and staff were very helpful.

There was some refurb work underway, but this didn't affect us as works stopped through the weekend of our stay.

Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pc319
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Perfect location and easy to walk to everything including the Colosseum, Forum, Villa Borghese. The staff are lovely and we were given a free upgrade to two fab rooms for our family of five on the sixth floor over looking the Pantheon. The triple room (602 I think) was large and had a terrace. The double was quite tight but that is what we expected in Rome. We went over February half term and had sunny, warm weather. Rome isn't cheap and neither is the hotel...but if you are going to visit Rome, just book this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABC21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Fantastic location-open the balcony doors and look out onto the pantheon (room 604)
Walking distance of all the major sights and great restaurants. The staff are welcoming friendly and efficient. The room was immaculately clean and beautifully presented with big fluffy white towels and dressing gowns. Get back in the evening and the room is prepared for bedtime and with a chocolate which is a nice touch. I stayed on my birthday and when i got back to my room a bottle of Percecco in large silver ice bucket was waiting for me with a Happy Birthday note from the Management. This hotel is exceptional and is a absolute credit to the staff who run it. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: sixth floor has fantastic views on balcolny
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zasu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,557 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing