We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow wow wow”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Rome late on a Thursday night and were immediately wowed when the taxi pulled up outside the hotel just yards from the pantheon. I say taxi but it was more of a private transfer in a smart Mercedes, arranged by the hotel when we booked (for 55 euros). The staff were so friendly and helpful - whether on reception, on the bar or in the breakfast lounge. The location is second to none, being centrally located for all Rome attractions. This is reflected in the price but we really thought it was worth it for the whole experience. The roof terrace is really cute. It wasn't open during our visit as it wasn't the main holiday season but we spent a couple of afternoons up there reading in the sunshine and enjoyed a cheeky bottle of Prosecco up there.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SasJackson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,598)
There are newer reviews for Albergo del Senato
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 3,598 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2014

Well, I dont know what to say about this amazing little hotel except ... YOU WONT BE DISSAPPOINTED! It is AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!! Loved it! Best view ever!! Get a room with a view of the Pantheon. It will blow you away. I could not stop looking out the window. This is in a PERFECT location. Staff are friendly, food and beverages are delicious - coffee is AMAZING. It feel very safe and your in the middle of where its all happenning. If you want to imense yourself in what it really feels like to live in Rome, stay here!!!!!!!!! LOVED IT, HIGHLY RECOMMEND IT - WILL DEFINATELY STAY AGAIN!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pantheon!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

That's what she said when I showed her the photo I'd taken through the window of our room, with the Pantheon framed in our window, so big and close and incongruous that it didn't even look real!

Other hotels with such a location might not try too hard. But this one does. And as a result, the service is excellent, the room comfortable, the breakfasts very good, and the prices not out of line for all that.

Oh, and the view from the roof-top terrace is stunning.

I'd highly recommend this hotel, especially for first-timers to Rome, as you're close to most things you'll want to do.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I selected this hotel based upon the comments on TripAdvisor and we were not disappointed. The comments that it has a "view" of the Pantheon is misleading. I expected it just to be somewhere in my line of sight but it's really a stones-throw away. Our 4th floor window looked directly onto the Pantheon, some 50 feet away! The square where the hotel is located has multiple good restaurants and shopping right near by in addition to the Pantheon. The airport pick-up after a long travel day is a great perk. Our internet was spotty at times but always could connect in the lobby. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The square can be noisy but the windows shut out the noise well so request a 3rd floor or higher roo...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flannie1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

The Albergo del Senato is located right next to the Pantheon, so Roman history is everywhere, on the Piazza della Rotonda, where a variety of local musicians perform free throughout the afternoon into the evening.
The hotel itself is very old, with steep steps, high ceilings, ornate furnishings, and everything bright and updated. There are two elevators, one teeny-tiny and the other with room enough for three (maybe).
The beds are perfection, not too hard and not too soft. The coffee served at the free breakfast is so good that I swear we were filled by caffeine until late in the afternoon because we couldn't stoop drinking it. And then there are the Italian pastries, cheese and fresh rolls, bacon and eggs, cereals, and, always, a variety of fresh fruit dishes. This is a truly creative spread.
As for the staff, if you like smiles, you'll love this place, because everyone seems to love his/her job and seems truly happy to make your day better.
Our only complaint? We had to leave.

Room Tip: Upper floor with a side balcony is more private and quieter.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank brendaVictoriaBc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

This hotel is just amazing. It´s location could not be any better and the staff is really awesome. We were travelling with our 6 months old daughter and hotel arranged easily our airport transfers. Our room was bigger than most european rooms and no traffic noise at all. Breakfast buffet was also great. I felt that every staffmember at this hotel was giving their best all the time and we felt very welcome. They also do these little tricks that make you feel good, like getting your bed ready during dinnertime and remembering your name. We never needed to tell who we were - they gave us the correct room key every time we stepped back in. How do they do that?

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mh79_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Yes, that's my humble but honest strong recommendation. If a view of the pantheon from the comfort of your room is what you seek before going to bed each night; if watching the crowds on the piazza without having to jostle with the rest of the tourist sounds like a more comfortable option (which in our case we were very thankful for), then look no further.... at the albergo del senato, we got a nice comfortable room over 5 nights, took advantage of the stellar location of this hotel and of course, we would be remissed to mention the lovely recommendations, tips and insights of this beautiful city from the hotel concierge! Superb time in the city thanks to a large part to our stay in this hotel. thumbs up!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaintsDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,267 in Rome
6,803 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,267 in Rome
212 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,267 in Rome
2,965 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,267 in Rome
4,228 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#24 of 1,267 in Rome
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £143 - £284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing