We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location to major sites”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Colleyville, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
352 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Great location to major sites”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is our second stay and we loved it as much as before. You can walk to many of the top sites from the hotel. There is a cab stand on the other side of the Pantheon which is convenient. The rooms are nice, the people at the front desk are excellent, the barman is very friendly. The rooftop bar is nice to go to for a drink after a day of touring. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Pantheon, although there is a little more noise from that direction. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,926
    474
    77
    34
    11
See reviews for
865
1,871
109
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Pantheon is 30 steps from the door. The midnight restaurants where people dance and sing are 40 steps away. Yet our room was quiet, the staff was absolutely fabulous, and the breakfasts were nice indeed.
Rooms are small, but all over Europe we encounter small rooms. The lobby is pretty. The bar could stay open a bit later, but it's not as if you don't have several choice spots right outside the door. We'll go back to this place. It

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 5228Sigrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roma
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been in this Hotel more than once, last time it was last winter and was lucky to have a room with a view on the Pantheon. This location is truly fantastic, not only for the view of the gorgeous roman monument, but because you're really in the heart of the city, and you can walk almost everywhere from there. Historic sites, restaurants, cafes, old streets and squares, shops, etc.. there's a whole world around to visit, daytime and night time. For instance you can go have a great coffee (and buy some as well) at the Tazza d'Oro, on your right when you exit the hotel, in the corner. Or you can go eat at lunch time in Piazza Capranica, or in one of the many restaurants around Piazza della Maddalena or Piazza delle Coppelle (for instance "Parmaroma" is a good one). The coices area truly countless, everything is nearby.
The hotel in itself is nice, old stylish rooms, small but comfortable, quiet (the windows' have double glasses so you wont hear the noise from the street). The personnel is nice and helpful. The only weak point is the breakfast, but that's not a big deal. Location trumps all other factors anyway. This hotel is definitevely worth the price you pay for it, especially in the fall and winter (low season). In spring and summer it can get expensive though. Anyway, if you choose an hotel in the area, this is for sure the first choice you should keep in mind, all things considered. You will enjoy being there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Pantheon, any floor would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mauouo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a lovely hotel in a perfect location. We stayed 2 nights recently and we are hooked. Our room looked out over the Pantheon. The staff was very responsive to my requests prior to arrival and arranged for a pick up at another hotel near the airport. When the driver was late, a call to them quickly had the driver there. Mauro constantly helped us with restaurant reservations and advice.He also hand wrote a note wishing my husband a happy birthday along with a bottle of champagne. Such a nice, friendly and knowledgable man. EVERYONE at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. And everyone spoke fluent English which was much appreciated..

This hotel was a 10 min walk to the Trevi Fountain and 20 min to the Spanish Steps. Truly magical location. Our room on the second floor was not recently renovated but was lovely anyway. There was some noise from the Piazza at night but that's why I wanted to stay there- to be in the middle of everything. The rooftop view is incredible. Don't miss it. If I am ever lucky enough to be in Rome again, this will be my hotel. Thank you Albergo del Senato, for some wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2Deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I wish there was a waiting room in a bottle of water, at least on the first day . No kettle in the room for those who like tea /coffee.
basic room and furniture. There is not enough room for two suitcases. The walls are thin and you can hear the people in the next room. The staff not particularly friendly but helpfull when u ask some information . no lobby.

Excellent sized bed but the mattress slightly harder.The sheets and towels are clean and nice. The bathroom is small but pleasant. Malfunction of water leak repaired immediately!. Decent breakfast but there is not white cheese, some fresh fruit.

In addition, was the the entrance to the room - 4 rooms in a very narrow spot, which caused us wake up every time when someone came to his room and opened the door, or spoke with his partner.

Although we ordered a room in advance, we had room that we had needed to climb 10 steps in order to reach the elevator and 10 stairs to go down to the room. Very disappointing.
It is a relatively quiet area but close to attractions. we loved the area which was great!

Room Tip: room 401-2-3-4 in one block - try to avoid - Probably there are more "blocks" in other f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank y0y020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We returned home last night from four nights at the Albergo del Senato. This was our third visit to the hotel and we were surprised to find that we reviewed our first trip in 2007. Where did time go??

We initially stayed in a room on the fourth floor and in a sixth floor double superior room (in 2008-2009). For this visit, we decided to push the boat out and stay in one of the Penthouse suites (Room 606). The room was more than what we would usually wish to pay for but credit cards are wonderful inventions (until it is time to pay up).

The Albergo del Senato is in a fantastic location and the Piazza delle Rotonda area has some great restaurants and pizzerias within easy walking distance from the hotel. We had a great balcony view of the Pantheon. Room 606 had an additional space which could be used as a separate sleeping area. This would be particularly useful to couples who have grown up children or for spouses who fall out during their time in Rome.

The bathroom was more than adequate for us although our body shapes have expanded over the years and have certainly increased in the past week. For any fellow reviewers who expect American sized bathrooms, it would be useful to remember you will be in Europe during your visit.

As in our previous two visits to the hotel, we found all of the hotel staff to be very professional, friendly and courteous. Unfortunately, I have to stay away from home on business for more nights than I would wish and I do not accept poor or sub-standard service no matter where I stay. However, we always apply the maxim that we want to be treated the same way as we treat others. If we are treated as fellow human beings, all is well. If not, take a step back and suffer the consequences.

The Pantheon continues to be our favourite building in Rome and you almost feel you can reach out and touch it from the hotel. Based on the upper floors gives a different perspective of the Pantheon from the more identifiable view from the piazza.

A recent review indicated taxis were hard to find. We find this difficult to understand as we can confirm that if you walk from the hotel and stand directly in front of the Pantheon, look over to your right hand side and there is a taxi rank (official taxis are white in colour).

The only slight problem is that since our last visit, various street “artists” play in the piazza from about 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. This is outwith the control of the hotel and is more within the remit of the city. The female singer in the morning and the cellist in the afternoon are more in keeping with the piazza (in our opinion) than electric guitarists and accompanying drums. The piazza is too small for amplified electric guitars and drums and the sound reverberates around the buildings giving distorted feedback. Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo or, preferably, Circus Maximus would be more applicable for this type of “music”.

Summarising our second review of the hotel after a period of 7 years, in our opinion, standards at the hotel continue to be of a high level. If the hotel can be accused of impersonating anything, it is a 3 star hotel supplying a 5 star service.

Now it is back to reality, 5.00 a.m. departures from home and a credit card bill to pay next month.

D&L

Room Tip: A room a view of the Pantheon is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank doognlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We have stayed here twice in the last year, and it is an absolutely wonderful hotel. The location is perfect, just feet from the Pantheon. You can walk pretty much anywhere in the city from here. The hotel is very well run with outstanding staff who really know the city. They gave us invaluable advice about visiting the Vatican Museum without facing the daunting queues. They also know the local restaurants well. The hotel itself has great, unbeatable, views from the room on the front. The first time we stayed we had a room at the back, which was very quiet. The second time, we stayed for a week, and had a perfect room, on the front of the hotel, and with a balcony. I thought the noise from the square might disturb us but it absolutely did not. The rooms are small, but very comfortable, and they are spotlessly clean. Breakfast is a little crowded, but the staff are great. The choice for breakfast is a good one, with little surprises like a different cake each day. I stay in hotels a lot, and can honestly confirm that the three star rating for this hotel is not a good guide to its quality. The combination of excellent staff, the hotel's location, and the comfortable rooms makes this such an attractive place to stay. We are going back later this year for our third stay in twelve months.

Room Tip: Rooms with a Pantheon view are just fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,258 in Rome
6,675 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#7 of 1,258 in Rome
182 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,258 in Rome
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,258 in Rome
4,141 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
705 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing