We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great location, great staff”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 May 2014

This lovely hotel faces the Pantheon and is within walking distance of many of the top sites in Rome. It's a small luxury hotel that provides enthusiastic and personal service to its guests. I will definitely go back when in Rome.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back if noise is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,355 - 1,361 of 3,626 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

This is our second stay and we loved it as much as before. You can walk to many of the top sites from the hotel. There is a cab stand on the other side of the Pantheon which is convenient. The rooms are nice, the people at the front desk are excellent, the barman is very friendly. The rooftop bar is nice to go to for a drink after a day of touring. We will definitely be back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Pantheon, although there is a little more noise from that direction. If you a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The Pantheon is 30 steps from the door. The midnight restaurants where people dance and sing are 40 steps away. Yet our room was quiet, the staff was absolutely fabulous, and the breakfasts were nice indeed.
Rooms are small, but all over Europe we encounter small rooms. The lobby is pretty. The bar could stay open a bit later, but it's not as if you don't have several choice spots right outside the door. We'll go back to this place. It

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 5228Sigrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

I have been in this Hotel more than once, last time it was last winter and was lucky to have a room with a view on the Pantheon. This location is truly fantastic, not only for the view of the gorgeous roman monument, but because you're really in the heart of the city, and you can walk almost everywhere from there. Historic sites, restaurants, cafes, old streets and squares, shops, etc.. there's a whole world around to visit, daytime and night time. For instance you can go have a great coffee (and buy some as well) at the Tazza d'Oro, on your right when you exit the hotel, in the corner. Or you can go eat at lunch time in Piazza Capranica, or in one of the many restaurants around Piazza della Maddalena or Piazza delle Coppelle (for instance "Parmaroma" is a good one). The coices area truly countless, everything is nearby.
The hotel in itself is nice, old stylish rooms, small but comfortable, quiet (the windows' have double glasses so you wont hear the noise from the street). The personnel is nice and helpful. The only weak point is the breakfast, but that's not a big deal. Location trumps all other factors anyway. This hotel is definitevely worth the price you pay for it, especially in the fall and winter (low season). In spring and summer it can get expensive though. Anyway, if you choose an hotel in the area, this is for sure the first choice you should keep in mind, all things considered. You will enjoy being there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view on the Pantheon, any floor would do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mauouo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

What a lovely hotel in a perfect location. We stayed 2 nights recently and we are hooked. Our room looked out over the Pantheon. The staff was very responsive to my requests prior to arrival and arranged for a pick up at another hotel near the airport. When the driver was late, a call to them quickly had the driver there. Mauro constantly helped us with restaurant reservations and advice.He also hand wrote a note wishing my husband a happy birthday along with a bottle of champagne. Such a nice, friendly and knowledgable man. EVERYONE at the front desk was pleasant and helpful. And everyone spoke fluent English which was much appreciated..

This hotel was a 10 min walk to the Trevi Fountain and 20 min to the Spanish Steps. Truly magical location. Our room on the second floor was not recently renovated but was lovely anyway. There was some noise from the Piazza at night but that's why I wanted to stay there- to be in the middle of everything. The rooftop view is incredible. Don't miss it. If I am ever lucky enough to be in Rome again, this will be my hotel. Thank you Albergo del Senato, for some wonderful memories!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2Deb2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

I wish there was a waiting room in a bottle of water, at least on the first day . No kettle in the room for those who like tea /coffee.
basic room and furniture. There is not enough room for two suitcases. The walls are thin and you can hear the people in the next room. The staff not particularly friendly but helpfull when u ask some information . no lobby.

Excellent sized bed but the mattress slightly harder.The sheets and towels are clean and nice. The bathroom is small but pleasant. Malfunction of water leak repaired immediately!. Decent breakfast but there is not white cheese, some fresh fruit.

In addition, was the the entrance to the room - 4 rooms in a very narrow spot, which caused us wake up every time when someone came to his room and opened the door, or spoke with his partner.

Although we ordered a room in advance, we had room that we had needed to climb 10 steps in order to reach the elevator and 10 stairs to go down to the room. Very disappointing.
It is a relatively quiet area but close to attractions. we loved the area which was great!

Room Tip: room 401-2-3-4 in one block - try to avoid - Probably there are more "blocks" in other f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank y0y020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

We returned home last night from four nights at the Albergo del Senato. This was our third visit to the hotel and we were surprised to find that we reviewed our first trip in 2007. Where did time go??

We initially stayed in a room on the fourth floor and in a sixth floor double superior room (in 2008-2009). For this visit, we decided to push the boat out and stay in one of the Penthouse suites (Room 606). The room was more than what we would usually wish to pay for but credit cards are wonderful inventions (until it is time to pay up).

The Albergo del Senato is in a fantastic location and the Piazza delle Rotonda area has some great restaurants and pizzerias within easy walking distance from the hotel. We had a great balcony view of the Pantheon. Room 606 had an additional space which could be used as a separate sleeping area. This would be particularly useful to couples who have grown up children or for spouses who fall out during their time in Rome.

The bathroom was more than adequate for us although our body shapes have expanded over the years and have certainly increased in the past week. For any fellow reviewers who expect American sized bathrooms, it would be useful to remember you will be in Europe during your visit.

As in our previous two visits to the hotel, we found all of the hotel staff to be very professional, friendly and courteous. Unfortunately, I have to stay away from home on business for more nights than I would wish and I do not accept poor or sub-standard service no matter where I stay. However, we always apply the maxim that we want to be treated the same way as we treat others. If we are treated as fellow human beings, all is well. If not, take a step back and suffer the consequences.

The Pantheon continues to be our favourite building in Rome and you almost feel you can reach out and touch it from the hotel. Based on the upper floors gives a different perspective of the Pantheon from the more identifiable view from the piazza.

A recent review indicated taxis were hard to find. We find this difficult to understand as we can confirm that if you walk from the hotel and stand directly in front of the Pantheon, look over to your right hand side and there is a taxi rank (official taxis are white in colour).

The only slight problem is that since our last visit, various street “artists” play in the piazza from about 10 a.m. to 7 p.m. This is outwith the control of the hotel and is more within the remit of the city. The female singer in the morning and the cellist in the afternoon are more in keeping with the piazza (in our opinion) than electric guitarists and accompanying drums. The piazza is too small for amplified electric guitars and drums and the sound reverberates around the buildings giving distorted feedback. Piazza Navona, Piazza del Popolo or, preferably, Circus Maximus would be more applicable for this type of “music”.

Summarising our second review of the hotel after a period of 7 years, in our opinion, standards at the hotel continue to be of a high level. If the hotel can be accused of impersonating anything, it is a 3 star hotel supplying a 5 star service.

Now it is back to reality, 5.00 a.m. departures from home and a credit card bill to pay next month.

D&L

Room Tip: A room a view of the Pantheon is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doognlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,862 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
225 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
806 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £141 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing