We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still one of the best locations in Rome” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Longview, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Still one of the best locations in Rome”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Once again, my husband and I stayed at the Albergo del Senato, and we were warmly welcomed by the hotel's wonderful staff, Alessandra, Mauro, Lucca, and the others. Our hotel room overlooked the Piazza della Rotunda with its historic Pantheon, so the view is magnificent. However, I must warn those of you that are going to Rome soon that the city is replacing the stones in front of the Pantheon little by little, and while we were there, the construction workers were busily working right in front of our window, so we were awakened between 7:30 and 8:00 a.m. by the annoying sound of jackhammers every morning. The day we were leaving, the repair job had moved slightly up the street, but we could still hear them hammering. Perhaps by now, they have completed the job, but the noise was definitely a hindrance especially as we were trying to recover from jet lag those first few days.

In addition, a new trend has begun in that musicians take up residence in the piazza beginning at about 10:00 a.m. and continuing until about 7:00 p.m. At first, we found the music quite charming, as the musicians alternate between singers of opera, Italian folk songs, and even rock and roll. However, it seemed that the same musicians took up residence every day and sang the same songs over and over. It became not so charming to hear "Stairway to Heaven," which WAS one of my favorite songs played over and over a dozen times every afternoon.

However, the staff is still wonderful, as I mentioned, so helpful in giving directions and recommendations for local restaurants, and the location cannot be topped as central to all the major sites in the old city. The hotel is definitely in walking distance to the Trevi, the Piazza Navona, Campo di Fiori, the Spanish Steps, and even the Vatican if you are a true walker. And there is a taxi stand conveniently located right next to the Pantheon. There are also several good places to eat within steps of the hotel. Be sure to go to Quirino's, a little sidewalk restaurant near the Trevi. Order the seafood lasagna and vino della casa. Say hello to big and little Antonio for us. Tell them Butch and Lynda from Texas said Hello!

P.S. This hotel has no swimming pool or fitness center, but who really needs a fitness center when they are going to walk all over Rome? There is a very nice Italian breakfast included with the room and a rooftop bar with great views of the city. Michelle and Guiseppe will be happy to serve you.

P.S.

Room Tip: If you want a quieter room, ask for a room that borders one of the side streets as the piazza is qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynda442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,805
    461
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
819
1,802
104
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (875)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

I travelled to Rome with my husband for 4 days and stayed at the Albergo del Senato. This hotel was very relaxed and friendly. The room was very comfortable, don't expect a large room, we booked a standard room but it was fine for our stay and it was fine for the two of us. The bathroom was lovely and clean, and the room was kept immaculate by the cleaning ladies. I liked the hotel being quite small which meant the staff got to know you and it felt a very warm and pleasant place to stay. The delightful breakfast in the morning was a laid back affair with a continental breakfast buffet. The location was excellent as we could walk everywhere we wanted to go. I did request a double bed and a nice view and we certainly got that, a lovely view of the Pantheon. We booked the hotel pick up service from the airport and we appreciated this as arriving at Rome airport seemed just madness, it was so busy, so our driver meeting us and taking us to his car, whisking us away to the Hotel was very welcome. Although we arrived early before check in time we were still allowed into our room as it was available and this was very welcome after all our travelling. You could hear the lovely music going on every night outside the Pantheon and everything was lively until late in the evening. The atmosphere in the square was just magic. We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: Ask for any special requests, the hotel will try to accommodate. although it was lively outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shazzyb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

My husband and I just returned from our trip to Rome, Florence, Tuscany Countryside, and Venice. This hotel was wonderful and of all the hotels on our trip, this one had the best customer service. I have never felt so welcome somewhere. We were on the 4th floor with a Pantheon view. It was nice to open the window in the afternoon and hear the music going on. At night I never heard any noise and slept very well. We loved the rooftop bar. The hotel is in a very busy square but it is centrally located to everything. I debated on this and I am really glad I chose this hotel. It was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kurt2fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

I travel a lot, and seldom do I come across a hotel that is run as well as this one, with excellent staff, very helpful in all respects, and always willing to lend a hand. The hotel fronts the Piazza Della Rotunda, where the Pantheon is. Excellent cafés right on the Piazza. The room prices are reasonable, and the rooms are well equipped and modern. There's also a rooftop patio with excellent views of Rome -- a late afternoon spot to meet new friends, before going out to dinner. So many spots within walking distance of the hotel. No car is needed whatsoever. There's a taxi stand nearby.

Whenever we're on a trip, we always look around for how we would do things better next time, and my wife and I both agree that we would select this hotel again -- without a doubt. Just a perfect spot, with about the best hotel staff I've ever come across in more than 1 million miles of travel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bainbridge Island, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Wow!! Beautiful little hotel in the piazza next to the Pantheon. Room was small and a bit pricey but it was beautiful, the staff exceptional and you cannot beat the location. Make note no irons are permitted in the room. I believe this is typical in Rome. Restaurants in the area are exceptional.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 665KimC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farmingville, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is right next to the Pantheon which is within walking distances to most attractions. There is also a taxi stand right across the piazza for any distances that are too far. The garden bar on the roof has great views of the city. Our room was a little small and because it was on the side road off the piazza, was a little noisy at night. The AC broke our second night there but was quickly repaired the next day. The breakfast had some good things to choose from. The staff was very friendly and made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cindy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, TX
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

The view of the Pantheon from the hotel room was fantastic. The room was clean and comfortable. Bathroom was larger than I expected for a single sized room and shower had excellent water pressure. Staff was friendly and helpful. They served a good breakfast and the roof-top patio was a great place to have a drink in the evening while looking out over the city. The location also couldn’t have been any better. I was able to walk to all the places I wanted to see and when I wasn’t in the mood to walk anymore there were plenty of good places to eat and drink at nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Texan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,356 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,758 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Colonna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing