We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel and Location”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #11 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Great Hotel and Location”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

This is a first class hotel in a prime location. The rooms are elegant and ours was one of he larger ones on the 1st floor. The Pantheon is right next door and many restaurants are located within walking distance. The roof top bar is a must which is over looking the piazza. The staff at the front desk were very knowledgeable and helpful was ask for recommended eateries or directions.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the piazza are smaller compared to the ones on the opposite side but worth the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,487 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,896
    470
    76
    34
    11
See reviews for
849
1,858
108
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (910)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed only one night at the end of June at the Albergo del Senato as the majority of our trip was in Tuscany and we were flying out of Rome. We went with another couple. Wish we could have stayed longer. Our room on the 6th floor was small, but so lovely with high ceilings, and the view over the Plaza and Pantheon were incredible. It was a delight to see the people in the square into the night, but with the doors closed to our balcony window, we heard nothing. The staff was very accommodating from the time of reservation until our departure. The breakfast was an added bonus. The location served us well to the major sites we saw in one day. I have already recommended this hotel to many others.

Room Tip: Loved being on the 6th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewYorkFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
446 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was not our "go to" hotel in Rome, so it was not on the radar for this year's trip because, frankly, the rooms are pricier than we wanted to pay and we could still stay very near the Pantheon for less. However, two friends and frequent visitors to Rome insisted that we give it a try this time.

I reserved a room with a view of the Pantheon (having been told that standard rooms are too small), but I think we scored much better and I do not know if we were upgraded or is this room still considered a superior, which I reserved. We got room 602 with a small balcony overlooking the Pantheon and what a glorious view it was from the moment we woke up and looked out to the last glance before we retired for the day. The room was not large, but it was certainly adequate with very nice decor of yellowish-brownish and teal, gorgeous crown moldings, comfortable bed, a desk, an armchair, lots of closet space, and a modern bathroom. Housekeeping is outstanding, the room was spotless with plenty of fresh towels and toiletries replenished daily.

There is a roof top bar which is open from about 4:00 pm until 11:00 pm. It is a fantastic spot for an aperitif. The view of the Pantheon and rooftops of Rome is to die for! Breakfast is served in the first floor dining room. While the selection of food is certainly adequate, it did not comport with the high class that is the del Senato, but it is also possible that we were simply breakfasted out at this tail end of our three-week holiday.

Service is fantastic! Very charming and gracious Mauro at the front desk was always eager to assist with locating a toy store, chocolate shop, where to purchase gifts for family and, of course, with spot-on restaurant suggestions. The rest of the staff is also very responsive but consider yourselves lucky if Mauro is there.

It is a wonderful hotel and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The hotel is located right on the square of the Pantheon, with many rooms having a view of the square. Within walking distance of all of the historical sites of ancient Rome. There are also dozens of restaurants to choose from within 2 blocks from the hotel. The front desk staff is very knowledgeable,helpful and accommodating, and can offer suggestions among the many nearby restaurants. Breakfast just off the lobby offers a good selection of food with nicely set tables. You can also relax at the end of the day on the rooftop bar with a view of the Pantheon and square, which usually has a lot of activity. The housekeeping staff also comes in while you are out to dinner to turn down the beds and close the shutters on the windows. We were very pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We loved our three night stay at the Albergo del Senato! Our room (406) overlooked the piazza where something was happening all the time. The windows are very soundproof so we could choose to be entertained by the music and singing -or not. We usually found that the music added to the ambiance and some of it was really quite good.

Our room was small but well furnished. There is really not a lot of room for luggage but we managed. There was very good wi-fi in the rooms. There was turn-down service each night which included closing the shutters, drawing the draperies, and permitting one to sleep easily without being awakened by the early sunrise.

The roof top terrace was lovely and we enjoyed relaxing there every evening before dinner. Views are spectacular and the bartenders friendly and helpful.

The hotel is within easy walking distance of some great restaurants as well as many "tourist" attractions...and of course you only have to look out the window to see the Pantheon-no more than thirty feet away from our window.

We would choose to return here without hesitation.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCtourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We visited Rome for 5 days in March 2014 as part of doing Rome Marathon. Overall, we really enjoyed Rome in terms of everything to see, the people and of course the wonderful food. Albergo del Senato is in a great location for seeing all of the sights and we were able to pretty much walk everywhere. We found the hotel and the staff friendly and welcoming. The first floor renovations taking place at the time didn't impact on us as largely took place when we were out.

We did find the room we were allocated somewhat disappointing especially when paying over £200 per night to stay there. As the hotel was fully booked, there were no alternative rooms. It was an internal bedroom looking onto a tiny courtyard and a wall opposite which made the room rather dark. The room itself was pretty small as was the internal bathroom - no room to "swing a cat". Despite it being only March and it was relatively cool outside, the room was constantly too hot. The controller said 25-26C all the time which made sleeping at night difficult. We asked if the air conditioning was working and the staff explained that before May they only have "heating" so all they could do was turn the heating off (which made no difference) - after May they switch the system to "cooling". Bascially they have climate control not air conditioning so they only way to cool our room was to leave the windows open which wasn't really an option due to the lots of little black flies outside the window in the courtyard.

Would we go back to Rome again - yes. Would we stay here again - no.

Room Tip: Avoid the "internal" rooms as lack light
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This was a post cruise choice for our one additional day In Rome.We dropped off our bags due to an early arrival and a prearranged private tour and were immediately thrilled at the location. We were four and our 2 rooms were available after we returned after 1, they upgraded ours to a view over the square. The rooms are small, but well tended, they will provide you with codes for the free wifi when asked. The wood flooring could be quite slippery since there is no floor covering. After check in we had a late lunch ( recommended by the front desk, when asked) at La Sagrestia, a charming little restaurant off one of the many allys . great pizza and seafood. My husband and I have a mobility problem, so while our daughter and son in law took off to walk the sights of Rome, we had a most delightful time going for gelato next to the hotel and sitting on the stone wall people watching, what a myriad of nationalities! It was a beautiful day. The hotel offers a modest buffet breakfast (quite sufficient) and the staff could not be anymore helpful, especially the gentleman concierge, I think his name was Mauro. A definite must for a return visit.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemini50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,619 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,256 in Rome
2,863 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,095 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing