We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in fantastic location - highly recommend.”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is absolutely gorgeous. Located in the Piazza Della Rotonda, it is a very busy square. Our hotel faces the Pantheon and we had amazing views. Although we were on the first floor the rooms are soundproofed with double glazed windows so the street noise was absolutely minimal. This surprised us as the piazza is very busy from early morning to late in the evening. We walked to the Trevi Fountain (10 mins)and Colosseum (25 mins) from here. There is heaps to do and it is very centrally located. Hundreds of restaurants, shops etc in the area. We caught taxi to Galleria Borghese and it was 10EU including tip. The welcome was exceptional, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly - nicest people we have come across so far. The hotel is beautifully decorated and extremely clean. Wifi is free. The rooms are small but lovely. Good bed and pillows. Lovely big bathroom. Breakfast was as good as the larger hotels with plenty of choice at the buffet. We went out a lot but were happy to stay in the hotel, throw open our windows and watch what was happening in the square or just to relax. Would highly recommend this hotel. We could not fault it at all.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Pantheon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ryck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,675)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,315 - 1,321 of 3,675 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

My husband and I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

We were recently here two short days as we ended our European honeymoon. We flew out of Rome and decided to spend the last couple of days exploring the city. We knew we wanted a hotel that was in a prime location and this hotel exceeded our wishes. What is better than staying next door to the Pantheon AND seeing it from your hotel window??

We were able to get to all of the main landmarks in less than a 20 minute walk, including the Vatican. The Piazza Navona, which is our favorite place and where had many meals, was a less than 5 minute walk.

The hotel itself is very clean and updated with a contemporary feel and it is well-airconditioned (which is a must in Rome during July). Also, the staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. The room was on the smaller side, but it never bothered us because we were always out exploring.

The hotel provides a great, diverse breakfast each morning with fresh fruit, eggs, pastries, meats, cheeses, fresh juice and wonderful coffee. Also, the hotel also has a rooftop bar that we highly, HIGHLY recommend going to for a pre-dinner cocktail or even a nightcap. You can see for miles from the rooftop and you can even see the Vatican lit up once the sun sets. It is absolutely perfect.

We had such a great time in Rome and at this hotel that we wished we had scheduled a few more days into our trip to hang around here! The hotel is a gem and we wouldn't dream of staying elsewhere whenever we return. It's a must!

Room Tip: Get a Pantheon view!! You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Erin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Stayed for 3 nights at the start of our 2 weeks in Italy and one night at the end. Both times had a room overlooking the stunning Parthenon. If you can't get a room facing the square don't worry the rooftop bar has a wonderful view of the whole area and city beyond.

First stay our room and bathroom was a little dated and tired, however we had an upgrade on our second visit and as well as being bigger the room had been updated to an excellent standard. Hopefully all of the rooms will eventually match this one.

The staff were superb throughout the hotel, the concierges particularly droll. All in all a cracking hotel in a brilliantly central location.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Parthenon have the views but you do have to put up with a little noise, ie street m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The hotel is small and charming and a perfect location, within walking distance of everything you want to do in Rome. The rooms were a nice size and we were able to get a triple (double and a single, for a family, instead of three single beds.) The front desk staff is friendly and helpful and they serve a lovely breakfast each day. The rooftop bar is also charming and offers a lovely evening view of the Pantheon, which is literally a stone's throw from the hotel. Couldn't have been happier.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amybriskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The location of this hotel simply cannot be beat; it is located right on the square next to the Pantheon in Rome's old city. The hotel has a beautiful roof top bar where you can sit and watch the sun go down over the distant dome of St. Peter's. You can walk to all of the tourist sites from this location, and are quite near Piazza Navona, which is simply beautiful. From the hotel, we walked to the Colosseum, the Forum, the Spanish Steps, Trevi fountain, and even the Vatican.

The front desk staff were always friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. They made friends with my nine year old son, and always had a word or joke for him when we left or returned to the hotel. Breakfast was great -- a nice assortment of pastries, hot foods, yogurt, fruit, etc.

As with any old building in the heart of Rome, the room was very small for three people and did not have a place to unpack our bags. The bathroom was spacious, with a nice shower and bath. The room was clean and well kept.

We really enjoyed our stay, and would return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I knew from the moment we arrived that Albergo del Senato was first class. Luca greeted us and made us feel extremely welcome. My husband and i stayed for a 4 night break in room 310 ….. wow what a room, four poster bed, amazing furniture and a beautiful painted ceiling and all a very lucky complimentary upgrade. The staff at the hotel where all very friendly and extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble and every request was dealt with promptly. The rooftop bar is a great place for some tranquil time before you head out for the evening or a night cap on your return. We used the hotel to book our airport transfer which was totally hassle free. The hotel location could not have been better, the moment you step out of the hotel your ready to begin your day exploring Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank J0anneSimps0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

When in Rome be sure to stay at the Albergo del Senato for a location that can't be beat, a comfortable bed (ours was king) and terrific front desk staff that suggested the best restaurants close by. After a day of sightseeing (again with suggestions from Alessandra, Mauro & Lucca) we enjoyed our evening drinks on the rooftop with a great view. They answered all our questions knowledgeably. The house staff was courteous and timely.The room we had was quite modern (#109), did not face the square but frankly I was fine with that fact as we weren't in the room long enough and if we wanted to people watch we just went down a flight and out the door. Yes, people watching just outside at the Pantheon is entertainment, relax and enjoy it! Tripadvisor's reviews are right on. Two restaurants we enjoyed within a short walk were La Fortunata (Rick Steve eats there) and L' Acarno. Took a taxi to the Vatican as we had an early morning tour and didn't want to get lost, also to/from Colosseum. Having difficulty walking distances we still managed to walk to Trevi Fountain, Piazza Navona, Spanish Steps, and several other churches close to the hotel. We will definitely stay at Albergo del Senato again, hopefully in the near future!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FeliciaG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,271 in Rome
6,959 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,271 in Rome
3,033 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#6 of 1,271 in Rome
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#48 of 1,271 in Rome
1,032 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,271 in Rome
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £117 - £268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing