We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Imagine a Better Place to be in Rome”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This was a 3-night stay prior to a Mediterranean cruise from Civitavecchia. Albergo Del Senato is an absolutely gorgeous hotel and sits directly on Piazza Della Rotonda, right beside the Pantheon. The location is ideal for getting to the major sites, either a short cab ride or a short walk away. We were given a room on the third floor facing the Pantheon and piazza, as I had requested in advance. The room is fashioned in understated elegance and the bed very comfortable.  But the real beauty is what awaits the eyes outside the window. The windows open in and the shutters slide out, providing the most amazing view of the Pantheon and all the lively action happening on the plaza below. No need to worry about noise, either, because the windows are fairly soundproof and block out any noise below. Be sure to visit the rooftop terrace and bar for more amazing views and ambience. There are two small elevators in case you return exhausted from sightseeing and don't want to climb the stairs. A nice complimentary continental breakfast was available every morning, and provided us with a good start to our day. With a prime location, comfortable accommodations, a killer view, complimentary breakfast, and helpful and friendly staff, we couldn't have picked a better hotel for our first visit to Rome!  

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 7SeaJourney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,626)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,243 - 1,249 of 3,627 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great value hotel and in a very central location. Ask for a Parthenon facing room and you will wake up every morning in awe! We stayed on the 4th floor suite, lots of space for a city which is known for tiny hotel rooms. Breakfast is generous and service efficient. Our hotel in Rome!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LizandTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Right next to the Pantheon in a nice piazza. We walked everywhere. The staff is wonderful and the facilities are clean and modern. Breakfast was good. Room was quiet. It faced the Pantheon but had double panned glass so we did not hear the noise from below. Staff was very knowledgable with directions.
My only minor complaints were: 1-no work out facility- not common to find in Rome; 2- internet was painfully slow but was free. Overall we were very happy and will stay again when in Rome.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank irwins0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We enjoyed a 5 day 4 night trip to the Albergo del Senato to celebrate my 50th Birthday in July. We had found the Hotel through trip advisor, and were expecting great things given the consistently good reviews. We were not disappointed.

We booked directly with the Hotel via email communication, and right form the start the staff were helpful and efficient. They organised a car to pick us up at the airport, which was worth the tiny bit extra we paid ( over and above the white taxi rate), as our taxi driver was more than happy to give us a bit of a guided tour as he drove us into the heart of the city.

The staff at this hotel get a lot of good press in the reviews that I have read, and it is very much deserved. They are friendly, efficient and really keen to help and give advice and recommendations. They are also lovely with children, and made our daughter feel relaxed and special straight away.

Our room (602) was delightful. It was a two room suite, which had a separate room for our daughter, plus a massive bathroom and a really nice terrace which looked out over the square and the Pantheon. The decor was lovely and the room extremely clean.

We did use the roof top terrace when we managed to tear ourselves away from our terrace (there was also a well stocked mini bar in the room which is re filled every day). The roof top terrace was lovely, very nicely laid out, with friendly bar staff, and great views out over Rome.

Breakfast was good, with plenty of choice. Just be aware that if you go down to breakfast late the choice will be limited as they stop topping up with about 30 mins to go.

The location of this hotel is a very strong point, right in the centre, next to the Pantheon and within walking distance of everything. We bought. Travel pass but really didn't need it.


The other thing to mention is the noise. During the day and evening with the windows open there was a real buzz coming up from the square which we really enjoyed, but once we closed the windows at night, you really couldn't hear any noise at all. Air conditioning was very good.

This is a really lovely hotel, and we will certainly be back.

Room Tip: If you can, go for a room with a Pantheon view, and if you are travelling during the summer, a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We spent three nights here at the start of our two week trip to Italy and could not have been more pleased. The front desk staff was unfailingly professional, polite and helpful - very old school service that's sadly lacking in other places, and the location is outstanding. From the rooftop cocktail garden it's possible to see both the Vatican and Colosseum, and both are within easy walking distance, as are all the other major sites (PIazza Navonna, Spanish Steps, Trevi Fountain, etc) in the section of Rome within the old city walls. Attached is a photo of the Pantheon taken from our room's window.

We stayed in a standard double room that was at least as large as a conventional American hotel room, and included a modern and well equipped full bath. The room was air conditioned, and very elegantly decorated. To top it all off, the free breakfast buffet was, by far, the best I've ever seen at any hotel in Europe or the US. Do yourself a favor and book your Rome stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HartfordMtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Really there is nothing more to add over what has been written already. Excellent location and great service by the reception staff. Nice, clean and functional rooms although a bit small but that is true for most hotels in Europe. We stayed at this property for 3 nights and had two rooms, 306 and 308. Room 306 had an unbelievable view of the Pantheon, could literally hang in the window the whole day watching the happenings in the Piazza below. Live music in the evening in the Piazza added to the charm of this place. The Piazza and surrounding streets is just bustling with people all day and the hotel does a very good job at keeping the noise out when windows are closed. We walked to all the sites just once taking cab from St. Peter’s to the Borghese Gardens. If you stay at this hotel then there is no need to take any public transport unless you are venturing away from the usual tourist attractions. We booked an airport pickup service through Rome Chauffer for 55 euro, it was very convenient and economical too since we were four people travelling together.

Rooms are very clean. Beds a bit hard but we discovered that to be the case across Italy. Nice roof top bar that we tried two of our three nights to catch the views and lovely evening breeze. Wifi was free but barely worked in the rooms. It did work very well in the reception and breakfast area.

In the area around the hotel, Gilloti and Grom for gelato were our faves and of many hundreds more as there was always a line outside both day and night. We did not like San Crispino as much even though it’s highly rated. For dinner we tried Taverna del Seminario and Pietro al Pantheon in the neighborhood, both were decent meals.

Do not hesitate to stay here. Surely good value for the money.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sbaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here with my extended family of 7 in August. The location can't be beat. The roof top bar overlooking the Pantheon in the evening is a great way to end a day and start the night before venturing out for dinner. But what really sets this hotel apart from the rest is the staff. The attention to detail and gracious, genuine care made us feel at home. We will be back!

Room Tip: We had 2 suites for the 7 of us. #101 & #501. both outstanding. A view of the Pantheon from your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mdemelfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,269 in Rome
6,863 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#5 of 1,269 in Rome
226 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#29 of 1,269 in Rome
807 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#45 of 1,269 in Rome
1,015 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,269 in Rome
2,995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £138 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing