We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location and great, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing location and great, friendly staff!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato was the perfect hotel to start off our trip through Italy. The view of the Pantheon from our balcony was such an amazing way to begin and end our day and the location couldn't have been any better. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and restaurant suggestions. Mauro was my favorite! Also, the rooftop is a must. Such an incredible view! Definitely recommend the Albergo del Senato!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen76Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,419 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,837
    464
    75
    33
    10
See reviews for
832
1,818
106
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

Based on TA reviews , we stayed at Albergo del Senato for our 3 nights pre-cruise in July. Being so centrally located allowed us to tour in the morning before the high heat set in, return after lunch for a rest , and venture out again for dinner and walking in the evening. No need for public transport- just walked in every direction and found Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Trastevere, Colosseum, Wedding Cake, Piazza Navona... it was the perfect location for our stay in Rome!
Delightful room on 6th floor facing the Pantheon . Sat on our small balcony late at night to listen to random opera singer! Where else could this happen?
Staff was happy to do whatever they could for us. Breakfast was very good and cappucino with the foam heart was delicious!
Don't hesitate to stay here. All the positive reviews are true!
Thank you to the staff !!!

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank spiritj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine, USA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed for two nights in July and had a great stay in the centrally located well run hotel.

The hotel staff was very accommodating to get our room ready early since we had some jet lag to get over. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. The breakfast room staff was also very good.

The room (a triple) was very well appointed. The bathroom was very good. There was a small fridge and flat panel TV with some English language channels.

The morning breakfast was quite good with a good selection of items. The rooftop lounge is definitely a place you should visit.

Like many Italian hotels, you leave the key at the desk when you head out and they give it back to you when you return.

The hotel has internet service available but we didn't use it. There is a small elevator and easily accessible stairs.

It's not a low-cost hotel but worth it looking at if you want a great centrally-located hotel.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Illinois, USA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2009

We've stayed in this hotel three times and will definitely go back.

The location is excellent - next to the Pantheon, in the middle of Rome's historic center. You step out of the hotel and you are in the middle of the action. Piazza della Rotonda where the hotel and Pantheon are situated, is always full of people, buzzing with tourist and full of restaurants and cafes where you can sit outside and people-watch. If you get bored with this Piazza, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain and other touristy places are just few blocks away. We only took a cab to the Vatican, otherwise we walked everywhere.

Each time we stayed at Albergo del Senato, we asked for a room with a view of Pantheon and were fortunate to receive it. Despite of all the crowds at the Piazza, the rooms are quiet when you close the windows.

The rooms are cozy, not very large, but spacious enough. Nicely furnished, clean, with flat screen TV (I think with satellite – I’m not sure, I don’t watch TV when I go to Italy). Walls are covered with fabric – made me feel like we were in some sort of castle. There is a turn down service at night – they put a little towel and slippers (nice touch) on the floor by the bed for you, and candy on the nightstand. AC is working and you have a thermostat in the room, but we couldn’t get the temperature in the colder than 23 Celsius (about 73-74F).

The bathrooms are on the small side (although quite standard for hotels I guess), but very pretty and clean, marble I believe (or something that looks very much like marble); they even have towel warmers. And the water pressure is FANTASTIC! I wish we had that water pressure at home.

The breakfast room is beautiful with the usual for Italian hotels breakfast – bread rolls, cold cuts, cheese, frittata, quiche, tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, cereals, pastries (fresh, still warm and yummy), etc.

The people working in this hotel are wonderful. Everybody is very polite, smiling, helpful and cheerful. At the front desk we dealt mostly with Alessandra and Mauro – both professional, but also very approachable and with a great sense of humor.

If you have any questions – ask away and I’ll do my best to respond.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank World_citizen_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bronxville, NY
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato has so much going for it -- the location is spectacular, but in our experience both the rooms and the beds are sub-par. At the price point of this hotel, which was the most expensive of our whole trip, I expect a spectacular experience not one in which I needed to change rooms once, and would have a second time had I had the energy to pack up again. Let me say that the people in this hotel are unfailingly lovely and the atmosphere is luxurious and pleasant, but our rooms? Not so much.
Upon arrival, we were upgraded to a junior suite with a fabulous view over the Pantheon. However, the beds were lumpy and tiny and in making room for a small anteroom, the designer stole space from both the bathroom, which was miniscule and the bedroom, which was also small. The final problem though was the sub-standard air-conditioning, which in Rome's August heat, just didn't cut it. Since our second room also had the air-conditioning problem, I finally figured out what the issue was -- both the vents and the thermostat are in the hallway, which is pleasantly cool, but that cool air doesn't make its way into the room itself. The lovely hotel manager got us a fan, for our second room, which helped alleviate the problem somewhat. Though our second room was quite large, as was the bathroom, the tiles on the wall of the shower had pulled away, and what was left was a poor attempt to repair the area as well as what looked to be a good crop of mildew. It was a real turn off. The wall facing the shower in the bedroom also had signs of water damage. The manager assured us that these rooms were going to be renovated this year, but that didn't help us or make our stay any more pleasant. Also, the beds in this room were very boingy, and desperately in need of replacement, as they had been in the first room. I understand that the top floors have been renovated, so I would assume that this is where you want to be if you stay at this hotel. Also, though the hotel had free internet, the signal was frequently non-existent and really only worked well from the lobby since our room was in the back of the hotel. Free, but not easy to use.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SquashMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2009

Albergo del Senato is a fantastic hotel. I searched high and low for the best spot for our 4 day stay in Rome after a 12 night cruise, and consulted the reviews here on TripAdvisor. The reviews are spot-on. We had a fantastic room on the third floor in the front of the hotel overlooking Piazza della Rotonda and the Pantheon. What an amazing sight to awaken to and fall asleep to each evening! The location is perfect for exploring Rome - easily within walking distance to just about anything. Great restaurants nearby too (although some seemed very touristy). We ate lunches and dinners around that neighboorhood our whole trip and never had a bad meal. I would definitely recommend Enoteca Caprianica and Casale di Giglio - both are two or three blocks north east of the hotel and a little less tourist trampled. Food was terrific at both.
Not only would I recommend this hotel to a friend, but I would stay here again next time we are in Rome. Yes, the elevators are tiny (as they are everywhere in Rome). But the rooms are a nice (average) size, with beautifully upholstered walls, comfy beds, and shiny marble bathrooms. The only complaint I have is about the air conditioning - aside from really being controlled by the front desk, it doesn't work well at all. Understandably, our room overlooking the Piazza was in direct sunlight all day and into the evening which made the room hot. The air conditioning was no match for the hot July sunshine! We dealt with it (and occasionally closed the outside shutters - a sin given our amazing view!). But that's the only thing that kept this experience from being perfect. Keep this in mind if you request a front room (as I did) when booking.

Final note - definitely have the hotel arrange a hotel transfer for you - we did at the spur of the moment, and a nicely dressed gentleman with a black mercedes was at the door in 10 minutes waiting for us! 50 Euros for the two of us and our luggage, which was comparable to a cab but much nicer!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AntArc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta USA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2009

Hotel Albergo del Senato is a must if your looking for a central location to all the sites in Rome with an old world historic feel w/ modern appointments. . When your hotel is right across from the Pantheon and located on the Piazza della rotonda its hard not to fall in love with this hotel. Check out the roof bar after 5:30. We loved every thing about our stay. We tried the higher end Hotel Intercontinental earlier visit but found the charm and location of Albergo del Senato to be superior and reasonably priced......

Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mligas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#8 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#17 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,799 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,828 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing