We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay in a great location”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #9 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in Rome for 4 nights in July. The Del Senato was in the perfect Rome location - overlooking the Pantheon. We only used taxi's once - to go to the Vatican. We were in walking distance of all the major sites and piazzas. The hotel had a nice triple or us with a queen bed and single bed for my son. Very large for a European room. The breakfast buffet was good and did include eggs and bacon, which my son enjoyed. I personally thought the fresh mozzarello and bread were a perfect breakfast!. There were issues with the Internet during our stay and they need to work on extending it to all rooms. The front desk staff was fabulous at helping with directions or making arrangements. Mauro was great in the mornings at helping us get on our way and arranging for a car to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,724)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,788 - 2,794 of 3,724 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato is excellent!

You couldn't get a better location, exactly as everyone on TA has said - right next to the Patheon. We had changed our Rome accommodation at the 11th hour and we are SO GLAD we did. They had a pretty good special and this included breakfast and free Wi-Fi in the room.

We opted to have a room without a view (as it wasn't worth the extra money, and it makes you get out and have a look around!) and it was great. It was at the back of the hotel and overlooking a small courtyard. The room was very quiet (except for a little bit of squeaking from the floorboards when someone walked by - not very often) and, despite other comments, our air-con worked really, really well. The room stayed beautifully cool, which was such a welcome relief in the Rome heat. The rooftop bar is a really good idea too. Great view all around, but I would recommend going up there at dusk in summer.

There is a supermarket close by (walk out the door, and walk diagonally (approx. 2 o'clock) and about 50m up that street) that sells fairly cheap groceries and the best proscuitto we have ever eaten, along with some yummo cheese & olives!

For a well-priced, authentic and rustic Italian meal, head to er Faciolaro (turn right out the door, and then right again into Via del Pastini). Alfredo will look after you there (he runs around an awful lot, but he loves his customers!) If you try nothing else, try the tagliatelle (I think) with wild boar - gorgeous!

This is a brilliant hotel and well worth a stay. If we ever return to Rome (despite not throwing a coin into the Trevi Fountain), we will definitely stay here again. Alessandra and Mauro will look after you, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DASP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We recently returned from a med cruise and spent two nights here prior to the cruise. We are very well travelled and have stayed in other hotels in Rome. We had an amazing experience at this hotel, very comfortable beds and rooms, really good bath & shower and an unforgettable view of the Pantheon. The staff were attentive, very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations etc nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic start to our cruise....we will definately go back to Albergo del Senato!!

2  Thank luv2travel053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato was the perfect hotel to start off our trip through Italy. The view of the Pantheon from our balcony was such an amazing way to begin and end our day and the location couldn't have been any better. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and restaurant suggestions. Mauro was my favorite! Also, the rooftop is a must. Such an incredible view! Definitely recommend the Albergo del Senato!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen76Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Based on TA reviews , we stayed at Albergo del Senato for our 3 nights pre-cruise in July. Being so centrally located allowed us to tour in the morning before the high heat set in, return after lunch for a rest , and venture out again for dinner and walking in the evening. No need for public transport- just walked in every direction and found Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Trastevere, Colosseum, Wedding Cake, Piazza Navona... it was the perfect location for our stay in Rome!
Delightful room on 6th floor facing the Pantheon . Sat on our small balcony late at night to listen to random opera singer! Where else could this happen?
Staff was happy to do whatever they could for us. Breakfast was very good and cappucino with the foam heart was delicious!
Don't hesitate to stay here. All the positive reviews are true!
Thank you to the staff !!!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank spiritj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We stayed for two nights in July and had a great stay in the centrally located well run hotel.

The hotel staff was very accommodating to get our room ready early since we had some jet lag to get over. The front desk staff was always friendly and helpful. The breakfast room staff was also very good.

The room (a triple) was very well appointed. The bathroom was very good. There was a small fridge and flat panel TV with some English language channels.

The morning breakfast was quite good with a good selection of items. The rooftop lounge is definitely a place you should visit.

Like many Italian hotels, you leave the key at the desk when you head out and they give it back to you when you return.

The hotel has internet service available but we didn't use it. There is a small elevator and easily accessible stairs.

It's not a low-cost hotel but worth it looking at if you want a great centrally-located hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USAMaineTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

We've stayed in this hotel three times and will definitely go back.

The location is excellent - next to the Pantheon, in the middle of Rome's historic center. You step out of the hotel and you are in the middle of the action. Piazza della Rotonda where the hotel and Pantheon are situated, is always full of people, buzzing with tourist and full of restaurants and cafes where you can sit outside and people-watch. If you get bored with this Piazza, Piazza Navona, Trevi Fountain and other touristy places are just few blocks away. We only took a cab to the Vatican, otherwise we walked everywhere.

Each time we stayed at Albergo del Senato, we asked for a room with a view of Pantheon and were fortunate to receive it. Despite of all the crowds at the Piazza, the rooms are quiet when you close the windows.

The rooms are cozy, not very large, but spacious enough. Nicely furnished, clean, with flat screen TV (I think with satellite – I’m not sure, I don’t watch TV when I go to Italy). Walls are covered with fabric – made me feel like we were in some sort of castle. There is a turn down service at night – they put a little towel and slippers (nice touch) on the floor by the bed for you, and candy on the nightstand. AC is working and you have a thermostat in the room, but we couldn’t get the temperature in the colder than 23 Celsius (about 73-74F).

The bathrooms are on the small side (although quite standard for hotels I guess), but very pretty and clean, marble I believe (or something that looks very much like marble); they even have towel warmers. And the water pressure is FANTASTIC! I wish we had that water pressure at home.

The breakfast room is beautiful with the usual for Italian hotels breakfast – bread rolls, cold cuts, cheese, frittata, quiche, tomatoes with fresh mozzarella, cereals, pastries (fresh, still warm and yummy), etc.

The people working in this hotel are wonderful. Everybody is very polite, smiling, helpful and cheerful. At the front desk we dealt mostly with Alessandra and Mauro – both professional, but also very approachable and with a great sense of humor.

If you have any questions – ask away and I’ll do my best to respond.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank World_citizen_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,109 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Lifestyle Suites Rome
Lifestyle Suites Rome
#3 of 1,272 in Rome
279 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#44 of 1,272 in Rome
1,063 reviews
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,272 in Rome
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#6 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £148 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing