We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Albergo del Senato
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$366
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$269
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$184
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$277
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$271
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$365
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$933
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$428
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,801)
Filter reviews
3,801 results
Traveller rating
3,171
501
83
34
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,171
501
83
34
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop barpiazza della rotundaroom overlooking the pantheonperfect locationstreet performersfront desk stafftrevi fountainwithin walking distancewonderful hotelspanish stepstaxi standturn down servicewalked everywhereloved this hotelpastriesbottle of proseccotrip to rome
Filter
Updating list...
2,849 - 2,854 of 3,801 reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed in Rome for 4 nights in July. The Del Senato was in the perfect Rome location - overlooking the Pantheon. We only used taxi's once - to go to the Vatican. We were in walking distance of all the major sites and piazzas. The hotel had a nice triple or us with a queen bed and single bed for my son. Very large for a European room. The breakfast buffet was good and did include eggs and bacon, which my son enjoyed. I personally thought the fresh mozzarello and bread were a perfect breakfast!. There were issues with the Internet during our stay and they need to work on extending it to all rooms. The front desk staff was fabulous at helping with directions or making arrangements. Mauro was great in the mornings at helping us get on our way and arranging for a car to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato is excellent!

You couldn't get a better location, exactly as everyone on TA has said - right next to the Patheon. We had changed our Rome accommodation at the 11th hour and we are SO GLAD we did. They had a pretty good special and this included breakfast and free Wi-Fi in the room.

We opted to have a room without a view (as it wasn't worth the extra money, and it makes you get out and have a look around!) and it was great. It was at the back of the hotel and overlooking a small courtyard. The room was very quiet (except for a little bit of squeaking from the floorboards when someone walked by - not very often) and, despite other comments, our air-con worked really, really well. The room stayed beautifully cool, which was such a welcome relief in the Rome heat. The rooftop bar is a really good idea too. Great view all around, but I would recommend going up there at dusk in summer.

There is a supermarket close by (walk out the door, and walk diagonally (approx. 2 o'clock) and about 50m up that street) that sells fairly cheap groceries and the best proscuitto we have ever eaten, along with some yummo cheese & olives!

For a well-priced, authentic and rustic Italian meal, head to er Faciolaro (turn right out the door, and then right again into Via del Pastini). Alfredo will look after you there (he runs around an awful lot, but he loves his customers!) If you try nothing else, try the tagliatelle (I think) with wild boar - gorgeous!

This is a brilliant hotel and well worth a stay. If we ever return to Rome (despite not throwing a coin into the Trevi Fountain), we will definitely stay here again. Alessandra and Mauro will look after you, that's for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DASP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We recently returned from a med cruise and spent two nights here prior to the cruise. We are very well travelled and have stayed in other hotels in Rome. We had an amazing experience at this hotel, very comfortable beds and rooms, really good bath & shower and an unforgettable view of the Pantheon. The staff were attentive, very friendly and helpful with restaurant recommendations etc nothing was too much trouble. A fantastic start to our cruise....we will definately go back to Albergo del Senato!!

2  Thank luv2travel053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato was the perfect hotel to start off our trip through Italy. The view of the Pantheon from our balcony was such an amazing way to begin and end our day and the location couldn't have been any better. The staff was very helpful in providing directions and restaurant suggestions. Mauro was my favorite! Also, the rooftop is a must. Such an incredible view! Definitely recommend the Albergo del Senato!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jen76Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

Based on TA reviews , we stayed at Albergo del Senato for our 3 nights pre-cruise in July. Being so centrally located allowed us to tour in the morning before the high heat set in, return after lunch for a rest , and venture out again for dinner and walking in the evening. No need for public transport- just walked in every direction and found Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps, Trastevere, Colosseum, Wedding Cake, Piazza Navona... it was the perfect location for our stay in Rome!
Delightful room on 6th floor facing the Pantheon . Sat on our small balcony late at night to listen to random opera singer! Where else could this happen?
Staff was happy to do whatever they could for us. Breakfast was very good and cappucino with the foam heart was delicious!
Don't hesitate to stay here. All the positive reviews are true!
Thank you to the staff !!!

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank spiritj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews