We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rates and Overlooks the Pantheon? Sign Me Up!”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #10 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great Rates and Overlooks the Pantheon? Sign Me Up!”
Reviewed 27 August 2009

The Albergo del Senato is an attractive and atmospheric hotel that seems the ideal choice for travelers making their first trip to the Eternal City. Its proximity to the Pantheon (right next door), the marvelous Piazza Navona (Bernini's can't-miss fountain), and numerous art-filled churches (starring the likes of Michelangelo and Caravaggio) underscore the hotel's noteworthy location, and the Senato, at about 135 euros per night for a double room, provides very good value for money.

From the street, the Senato may cause many tourists to view it as a four-star, and indeed there are many top-level aspects on offer. First and foremost is the well-dressed and highly personable front-desk staff. Talk about helpful and enthusiastic! Kudos to this group. In addition, the hotel's attractively designed and well-lit ground level, featuring a lovely winding staircase, is another charming aspect of the Senato. Another plus is the hotel's top-level outdoor lounge which provides stirring views of Rome. This is the ideal way to cap a day's worth of sightseeing.

While these hints of four-star lodging are appealing, the Senato's standard double rooms, however, is where confusion with the star system ends. The hotel's standard rooms are just that - standard. While a window view out to the Pantheon is a special treat, along with much-needed double-pane windows (piazza noise becomes non-existent), the room that my wife and I inhabited was rather small with precious little space beyond the bed. The bathroom, moreover, was small, though the plumbing was satisfactory. The Senato features satellite TV, a minibar, and effective air-conditioning. Also, note that a "tuck in" service is also provided (candy and a turn down of bed covers) - a nice personal touch from this well run hotel.

The Senato offers daily international newspapers to its guests, including the Herald Tribune, and a fine and very diverse buffet breakfast in a bland dining area.

In closing, the Albergo del Senato, while not without its shortcomings, offers solid value in a sensational location. Its personalized, helpful staff make this a must-stay location while in Rome.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank claremay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,870
    468
    75
    34
    10
See reviews for
842
1,841
107
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (899)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
notts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Triple room lovely with huge bathroom - classy decor throughout, high plaster ceilings. The other great reviews of the hotel are spot-on. The location next to the Pantheon is just fantastic. Nice breakfast, with everything fresh. Good soundproofing. Roof terrace is a nice little extra. If we ever go back to Rome, I wouldn't stay anywhere else. As we walked around the sights in the city we came across lots of other hotels, but none matched this for classy location. So many restuarants and Rome-style takeaways within a few minutes walk! You will not need the metro or a taxi!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank itsthatbirdagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2009

My mother's favourite hotel was the del Senato. Every time she talked about it, a great smile used to appear on her face. The same happened to a very good friend of the family, whose favourite lodging it was for many many years as well. When I went to Italy with my then boyfriend in the 80s, I stayed there. When I was in Rome on my honeymoon in 1995, I stayed there. Lately I had the pleasure to return with my husband and ten yrs old child. What can I tell you? It has gotten even better. Having booked a long time in advance, we got a great rate and an upgrade to a Junior suite with view of the Pantheon. We got room 402, a corner suite which is in fact two rooms made into a suite. A single with its own TV, kettle with choices of tea and coffee, an alcove for luggage, a small corridor, a great bathroom with rain shower over bathtub and towel heater, large washspace (great toiletries - soap, shampoo, conditioner, two types of bath gel, shower cap, vanity and shoe shine), WC with bidet, bathrobe and fluffy towels, another little corridor and a truly big double room with another TV (both have SKY if you wish to watch TV albeit Rome), a sofa, writing table, big mirror, safe, very large and comfy bed and another alcove for lugagge and clothes. The two windows faced one the Pantheon and another a side street, and the excellent insulation made for very little (until elevenish pm) and then no noise from the Piazza getting into the room. Very good air conditioning, sorely needed during the terrific heat wave which graced our stay in Rome. I loved the decor of the room, which I was told is the result of a recent refurbishment of the fourth floor. Breakfast included in the rates (it wans't back in the old times) nice and quite varied (cheeses, meats, pastries, cake, jams, various types of breads, croissants, toast maker, fruits, yoghourt, juices). Personnel couldn't have been nicer or more helpful - on the day of our early departure, the concierge sneaked into the kitchen to get my son two slices of cake for the journey. Unbeatable location.
The Pavlov reaction - Al senato=smiles definitely carries on in my family!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2009

For a short stay in Rome, we could not have asked for better! Every staff member was friendly and helpful. Hotel and rooms very clean and well appointed. Our room was small but at 1 day booking notice was possibly one of the last available. That being said it was more than adequate for such a break and more than made up for by the amazing view and location - we could almost touch the Pantheon out of our window. Free wifi was useful and breakfast was good continental in a room with a real Ancient Roman column in the middle. Roof top bar with that view just added to the romance.All in all - a very special trip in great surroundings!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AFGY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2009

This hotel is literally right next to the Pantheon. It is a great location where you can walk to any of the sites. Very quaint and old. The ceilings in our room were about 15 feet high. The staff was extremely helpful. They even allowed me to use their own computer and printer to print out our boarding passes for the next morning's departure. If you can get it, request room 204. It is the best! It is the only room with a balcony that overlooks the pantheon. They also have a roof top terrace you can sit on in the afternoons and enjoy a glass of wine. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoneStarLane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Looking for a fabulous hotel in Rome for a weekend away or an extended holiday? Look no further. Words cannot express how pleased I am with our weekend stay at the Albergo del Senato. The TA reviews are right on the money - the place is fantastic. From the moment we checked-in to the moment we checked-out, everything was spot-on perfect. The staff: incredibly helpful, attentive, kind and pleasant. (Especially Mauro - bravo!). The room: well beyond expectations - clean, comfortable and spacious (we had a room with a view of the Pantheon. Pay extra - trust me, its worth it) a/c worked wonderfully. The food: breakfast was bountiful with great variety. The location: in my opinion, second to none. Definitely THE place to stay. We look forward to going back soon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londonmama1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kailua, Hawaii
Level Contributor
236 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2009

Family w teens, and Grandparent, all agreed best hotel of 6 country European vacation. Breakfast was average compared to other hotels. Location is perfect. Not noisy, even with our room facing Pantheon.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssmhawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6,558 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#21 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,044 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing