We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will stay here every time I am in Rome!”
Review of Albergo del Senato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Albergo del Senato
Ranked #11 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Will stay here every time I am in Rome!”
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This place is a gem! Really incredible! It has everything going for it. Location. Wonderfully friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful rooms. Splendid views. NIce breakfast. Everything was just perfect! And what's amazing is that I can say this even though they messed up my reservation. I reserved a double, and requested two beds (I was with my 10 year-old son). Somehow when assigning rooms they missed the two bed request and assigned us a double. Because the hotel was full they were unable to accommodate the two bed request for our first night (but could move us to the two bed room our second night). I was a little frustrated, but I also realize this was a simple human error that unfortunately happened when the hotel was fully booked. The man who checked us in was clearly bothered by this mistake and was doing everything in his power to make it right. In the end we took the double one-bedded room for the first night and the two-bedded room for the second night and without my asking they offered a pretty significant discount off each night for my troubles. In the end I felt like I got a good deal. Both rooms were beautiful, and then I got a discount that was enough to pay for all our meals for the three days we were in Rome and I was beginning to feel like I was glad for the mistake! The staff were also so pleasant and welcoming at every turn. They were fun with my 10 year-old helping him learn some Italian and lent him a Rome for Kids book. They made us feel so welcome. The rooms were incredible. We were in superior rooms, one on the top floor and one on one floor down. Both were lovely. Very luxurious for a small boutique hotel. Nice touches. Views over the Pantheon were surreal! Breakfast was very nice. Lots of great options. The location cannot be overstated. It is the best in Rome in my opinion. Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roeshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,894
    469
    76
    34
    11
See reviews for
848
1,856
108
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (909)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

A professional guide that we used encouraged us to stay at this hotel over a larger and higher rated one. We took her advice and glad that we did.

First of all, its location can't be beat. There must be 50 restaurants within a ten minute walk, most of which are great cafes with exceptional food. Second, the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Third the room was good too. Great view on the plaza and Pantheon (literally next door).

I believe that this is a 3-star hotel (we usually prefer a higher rating) but in this case don't let their rating direct you to another choice. We are selective in hotel choices and recommend this one.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank njp51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
near London, UK
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

I tend to avoid the tourist traps when holidaying in cities, but this was an exception. It was right on the Piazza della Rotunda, looking at the unbelievable Pantheon. The hotel's appearance echoed the lovely Renaissance buildings that surrounded this buzzing but lovely square, and the inside was as beautiful as the outside.
The staff, from reception to chamber maid, were charming, helpful and efficient.
I arrived a few days before my husband, and the first room had no wifi signal. It was an inside room, so a little gloomy, too. I took my courage in my hands, and asked the first morning if they had an alternative (I did need to use my computer during my stay). There was no hastle, the showed me a new room on the refurbished floor, and it was perfect: bright, with windows opening over the Pantheon itself, and quieter. It also had perfect wifi reception. The rest of the stay was on the same lines.
Nothing, really, was too much trouble. The receptionists were all multilingual, too, but willing to indulge our efforts to try the odd Italian words.
And make sure you visit the roof bar. At night, you can see an illuminated St Peters and the rest of Rome laid before you. Worth the stay on its own.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2010

Excellent hotel to which I wish to return once again. Huge numbers, ideal service. Huge balcony in number. Went with the child what problems were not. A meal wide choice at restaurant. Had perfectly a rest. Especially many thanks to our operator http://www.tripcatcher.ru for the picked up tour. If you go from Moscow call to them: conveniently, качетвенно, the pro)

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SerBSV1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We are 2 friends from New York visting Rome for the first time for vacation. Both of us have traveled extensively around the US and a good amount in Europe. We scheduled the pick up service from the airport which was a very welcome service after the overnight flight from JFK. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Housekeeping kept the rooms very clean daily as well. Staff was friendly and very helpful... thanks Mario, Alexandra, Luca and Luigi for dealing with us Americans! This hotel was in walking distance of all the major sights including Vatican, Spanish Steps, Trevi, and Colesseum. Taxi's were easily optained outside as well. The Pantheon square directly in front of the hotel offered many casual dining options as well as convenient outside pre-dinner cocktails for tired tourists, not too mention awesome views and enjoyable people watching. All of the streets around this area had casual dining options if you didn't want to make reservations.. you were able to get a table easily before 8...locals eat later... but after walking and touring all day this was convenient. The hotel breakfast was very convenient as well. The only downside, if you can call it that, was the square outside is very busy and tends to be a lively at all times except early am... I am a light sleeper but the location and clean rooms trumped any sleeping issues...Overall, this hotel was really a great find!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deva07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2010

Just spent 5 nights at this hotel & could not be happier. Great staff,nice rooms & amazing location. The staff at the hotel were so nice & friendly we did not want to leave. They told us of great places to eat & were always very helpful. The location is outstanding. Although they told us they had no rooms with a Pantheon view we still could see it from our room.
Really loved this hotel & they got us transport from the airport when we arrived. 55 Euro for the driver from the airport but well worth it. Nice driver & nice car. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squibjib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mobile, al
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2010

This was my third trip to Rome. We decided on Albergo Del Senato because of the fabulous location and the positive reviews here and on other sites. We were not disappointed! In fact, I have been online today, looking into booking another stay there. It seems that the best price is with the hotel website. I booked with the hotel website last time, also.
The location is perfect, of course. The staff was the friendliest I've found in Europe...gracious, helpful, always pleasant. The room was not large, but attractive and very clean.
The complimentary breakfast was typical, but nice. The only negative I can think of is that the rooftop area was closed when we were there (the last of Feb and first of March). I believe it is not open during the colder months.
I like to look for the best rates and have actually have been pleased with other hotels I've stayed in while in Rome, but this one is my favorite.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#9 of 1,256 in Rome
6,614 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Martis Palace
Hotel Martis Palace
#3 of 1,256 in Rome
169 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Barocco Hotel
#16 of 1,256 in Rome
2,861 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#22 of 1,256 in Rome
4,092 reviews
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,256 in Rome
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Senato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Senato

Property: Albergo del Senato
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 73, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#7 Family Hotel in Rome
#7 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo del Senato 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Senato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Senato Hotel Rome
Rome Senato Hotel
Albergo Del Senato Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing