We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious cakes”
Review of Caffe Greco

Caffe Greco
Book In Advance
More Info
US$59.24*
and up
Small-Group Food Tour in Rome: Espresso, Gelato and Tiramisu
Ranked #5 of 567 Nightlife in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Poets Keats and Shelley were regular patrons of this popular café, where the view from the outside is not nearly as expensive as the coffee served within.
Chapel-en-le-Frith
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious cakes”
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We had two coffees and two gorgeous wild strawberry tarts. Expensive but worth it for the décor and history. Found the waiters friendly and were even taking photos for people when asked.
If ever in Rome again would definitely pay a return visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Millie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,066 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    417
    334
    155
    79
    81
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clapton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best coffee”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We had two time coffee in one day in this cafeteria and was great. Me and my friends had also a tiramisu also good.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Smih E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Sitting in a museum”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Prices are high but worth it for the decor and history.Opened for over 300 years it is still there.I had a Spritz and it came with a small plate of antipasto,olives and nuts....all excellent.Thank you for keeping the place beautiful.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 30chartier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine for just a one off”
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

When we read that the oldest bar in Rome was near by we decided to go along and give it a go.

Caffe Greco's interior and layout are pretty amazing but the same can't be said for the selection of drinks.

We had a glass of red wine and a dry Martini. The waiter brought us small bites to eat also which was nice.

In summary, it's the novelty factor that takes you to Caffe Greco. It's fine for one drink, if a little over priced. ?15 for a Martini and ?10 for a glass of red wine!

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew Q
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A classy cafe”
Reviewed 16 January 2014

If you visit Sacher cafe at Vienna, Cafe Central at Budapest and Caffe Greco at Rome, you will cover the triangle of old (very elderly) coffee shops in Europe. It works on the circumstance that you are a collector of vintage items or reminiscences of a previous life, otherwise, even if the place is as old as you will never be, the service is quite tolerable, the toilet inadequate, and the people mixture odd . I liked the air of decadent glamour, and the delicate tableware.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank ChristinaLiveri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Greco also viewed

 

Been to Caffe Greco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing