We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Hassler
Nearby Hotels
US$241
US$185
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$542
US$468
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$306
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Italia(Rome)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$613
US$558
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$265
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$401
US$387
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$258
US$237
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$203
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$315
US$225
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,132)
Filter reviews
1,132 results
Traveller rating
859
154
63
29
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
859
154
63
29
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspanish stepsmichelin star restaurantfloor terraceseventh floorconcierge staffluxury hotelwalk in closeteternal citybeautiful hotelvia condottirooftop restaurantdeluxe roombreakfast buffetperfect locationroman holidaypiazza di spagnasmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
666 - 671 of 1,132 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2011

We stayed here in May 2011 for our anniversary. They did everything they could to make it special. Upgraded room to look out over the Vatican and Spanish Steps. Nice king size bed and bathroom although the room itself was small. Very nicely decorated but an older hotel. They had fruit and bottled water available for us during our stay. I think our room was the adjoining room to a large penthouse suite. The balcony was lovely and the views were awesome. We walked everywhere from here and had many restaurant options.

Room Tip: ask for room with a balcony or view.
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gwizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

Our wedding (June 09) was a small and intimate gathering for our immediate family and friends only. Coming from Ireland we checked out most of the 5 star hotels in Rome - there was no question on the best hotel for our needs.

The most important thing we wanted was a beautiful balcony / terrace area where we could sit and enjoy the magical backrop of the Roman skyline. On top of that we wanted good food, a classic and elegant style and a relaxed atmosphere. The last thing we wanted was a huge hotel with vast lobby's and 100's of rooms and an impersonal feel for our group size.

Whilst we were a small party; the hotel treated us like Royalty. We had a lovely champagne reception and canopies on the inner courtyard and then we went up to the terrace for what was a feast of fabulous food. It's got a Michelen star for good reason. The staff were exceptional without being fussy or pretentious. The food and drink flowed for hours and hours as the Roman skyline changed from day to night. It was magical and I couldn't recommend it high enough.

One of my fond memories of the day will be the jaw dropping reaction from eveyone as they stepped out of the small lift and onto the beautifully decorated terrace with a panoramic view of Rome. Let the magic begin.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NiamhfromIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel was completely over priced for what you got and had terrible service. I have travelled all over the world and usually have stayed in very high end hotels as I work in the travel industry. The Hassler was a complete waste if money and had none of the customer service, extra services and good food you expect with a 5 star hotel.

We payed over 500 euro a night for a 3 night stay. Upon arrival there was a distinct attitude given by the front desk staff. I don't know if it may have been because I was traveling with my mother, just the two of us, or what. But right from the beginning I got a bad vibe. They showed us to the room which was very small and did nit have the proper bed we had reserved for, but we were told there were no other rooms available.

The first morning we were woken up at 8am by the housekeeping staff being terribly noisy in the room next door. After complaining we were told it would be resolved but the noise continued on and happened the next morning as well.

The food I can't even describe how horrible it is. First off we order a chicken and avocado sandwich to room service which was 20€ and when it comes it's a ham and lettuce sandwich, when we send it back they say "oh well there was no avocado". Wouldn't it of then been a good time to call up and ask us if we wanted something else? After bringing us a diff kind of sandwich over 25 mins later they still charged us for it. Not to even mention that it looked like the simple kind of sandwich you would pack in a kids lunch. The buffet in the morning was small and overpriced and to have any kind of drink on the courtyard at night, even a coke it was 10€ for a skinny glass with ice in it.

The rooms were not very clean, there was lotion from someone else all along the bathroom wall, and smudges in the glass part of the shower. The walls are so thin you could hear everyone in the halls or rooms next to you. And the lights are difficult to control as most of the switches in our room didn't work.

Over all the location is the only great part of the hotel, but there was at least 7 other hotels within a few blocks that I'm sure would be cheaper, friendlier, cleaner and have better food.

Don't waste your time.



Overall

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Vanessa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2011

This hotel does not come cheap. However if you are looking for a true luxury experience with all the associated amenities, location and service and go out of their way staff this is it! We called this property at 10 pm at night as we were leaving the hotel we had originally checked into due to no AC and mechanical issues and misleading reviews and pictures and zero value for your money. Thankfully Elizabeth at the reception answered my call. She understood our issue, and need to find a suitable room fast for three days. She immediately offered us a room and would stay until we arrived to ensure we were settled and happy in the room. She even offered to show us the room even before we committed. She never asked for cc# or cell #. Just my name and she would take care of us upon arrival. 20 minutes after leaving our bad experience we were taken to a lovely air conditioned room overlooking their palm court. She even called room service and told them to wait for us as we were hungry and she knew the kitchen was almost closing.

We ordered food and it arrived in what seemed like minutes along with a lovely fruit tray and champagne tom welcome us.

All of this considering we had called out of the blue in one of their busiest times for tourists in Rome.

Concierge is great honest and provided us with a private tour guide at short notice at very reasonable rates. Doorman is extremely helpful, nice and welcoming. All staff here smile, and look to please you and are not in your face.

This is what service is.

Hotel is well located beautifully appointed. The room we were given was renovated spotless and the bed is exceptional. Breakfast buffet in the garden is quiet and perfect for starting your day. A little bit of everything.

Previous reviewers mention snobby staff and cold reception and little value, we have no idea what they are talking about. Before you can say buenosera or ciao the staff beat you to it.

Hassler will see us again on our next trip to the eternal city.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cormarToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The Hassler made our Rome vacation all the more unforgettable. The Hotel is simply magnificent from the lobby area, restaurants, room, and we love The Palm Court!

Our room was beautiful, very clean and very quiet (slept peacefully!). We received everywhere an impeccable, personalized and high quality of service from the staff.

To experience a one of a kind elegance and luxury again, we will definitely be coming back to The Hassler again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jce326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews