We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay for view”
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hassler
Ranked #40 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You pay for view”
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We stayed at the famous family run Hassler Hotel expecting something different from the international chain hotels you can literally find next door to this hotel. We were proven wrong. Nobody from the familiy showed up to at least say hello, just plenty of very freindly personel running around. The concierges are perfect! They were extremely helpful in suggesting restaurants that made a difference and were really Italian style. The concierge arranged for the best tourguide we ever had, the guide was a walking dictionnary.
Wifi worked well and at no charge.
We also tried the praised one star Imago restaurant on the roof top. Great view overlooking the city if you catch a window table. But clearly that evening it was no one star cuisine. Macarons filled with somethng fishy as pre starters, I guess macarons are really way out if you await inventive sophisticated cuisine. The pigeon was tasteless and topped with sticky sauce but the sorbettos were lovely. Very expensive view on Rome but exellent service!
The room we had was lovely furnitured, spacy, clean with daily change of sheets. Welcome fruit basket, macarons(! again), still and sparkling water on the table on arrival. View from the room onto Rome skyline or Spanish Steps is very lovely in the early morning hours but at midnight (you can put the clock) garbage collecting is quite noisy.
Breakfast is either in a lovely outside patio if weather permits or in the bar / library area. Funny to have breakfast sitting on sofas but also funny to find a breakfast buffet that could be anywhere than Rome. We missed the typical cornetto that you normally get in Italian bars. Same kind of fresh fruits and other products everyday - nothing changed at least as long as we stayed. Don´t ever ask anything exceptional or an early breakfast, the team of girls just cannot cope with this and ignore you, forget about service.
Summary: If you are willing to spend a lot of money for a great view on Rome and enjoy the feeling staying in under the same roof than some celebrities did go for it. For everything else - maybe except for the concierge - you can find alternatives.

Room Tip: chose view side if you don´t mind noise from Spanish Steps and garbage collection at midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quatschkopf9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    770
    151
    63
    27
    27
See reviews for
229
532
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
milano
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

STRUCTURE: perfect location in the most exclusive area of ​​Rome. On top of the Spanish Steps, overlooks the city with its austere facade. Many rooms have views of Rome, others have a view of the courtyard. The hotel is first class, family-run preserves the authenticity of the good times, while respecting all the modern comforts.
LOBBYING: I once was never make a change, I stayed at the hotel for at least six times in the last 10 years and the only thing that has changed personnel. Elegant, cozy breakfast room, I must say that it is the best breakfast I've ever done in a hotel, especially for the quality of products.
ROOMS: as a regular customer I often offer great upgrades, they know my taste and know what I like best are the rooms (each room is different from one another). Some rooms have been renovated recently with decidedly more modern fabrics and furnishings. The beds are comfortable, good linen, and room service is exceptional. The waitresses are the plans of an extreme kindness and all Roman ladies of a certain age who have carefully prepared the rooms could do as a mother.
RESTAURANT: amazing view, elegant, modern, romantic, ideal for private events. Kitchen modern and refined. Great service. Compulsory dinner jacket as they should do all the restaurants of a certain level.
SWIMMING: No swimming pool.
What I liked most: location, service, staff.
What I like least: nothing.
OVERALL: A great lady.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bestmilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
183 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 385 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed in this hotel as part of a grand tour of Italy. So, I'll start this review by saying that we arrived on the Orient Express and also stayed in the Luna Hotel Baglioni in Venice, the Hotel Relais dell'Orologio in Pisa and Il San Pietro in Positano.

All the hotels that we stayed in had free WiFi, which was very nice change from UK hotels!

The Hassler is beautiful with an enviable location at the top of the Spanish Steps. Our room was fabulous ... a really good size, with an extremely comfortable bed, a small seating area and desk. It also had a large bathroom, complete with large bottles of good quality products and large cakes of soap that you can actually use (rather than the fiddly pea-sized things that you normally find). One small problem was the nail file, which had been pre-used. Yuk.

The terrace at the top of the hotel is the perfect place for room service to come and serve you a drink, whilst you watch the sun set over beautiful Rome. The view is phenomenal. And getting room service to do the drinks is a lot better than going downstairs to the bar, where the waiters are much more interested in chatting with each other rather than serving. They seemed to find it strange that we wanted another round of drinks before dinner ... so strange that we had to send an envoy to walk up to the bar in order to attract anyone's attention. Then the second round of drinks arrived but without the olives and nuts being refreshed. That's pretty poor if you're paying nearly €100 for six drinks.

My other gripe is the paying for breakfast. Not actually having to pay but having to wait for their amazingly antiquated system to print out a bill that I then need to sign. Most hotels simply check you in as you walk into breakfast, rather than worrying about signing bills.

Make sure you eat in Imago, the restaurant in the hotel. Fabulous views, fabulous service and fabulous food.

I'd certainly stay here again ... but I'd stick to room service and the top terrace for any drinks.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

Stay here if you can afford it. It is worth it. Great Property at top of Spanish Steps.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor for better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon Dunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

For many years our family have been staying at The Hassler.  We consider it our home in Rome. The locaton is ideal, atop the Spanish Steps.  Just walk out and you are in the center of Rome.  The view from your room is spectacular, overlooking this wonderful city.  Service is excelllent.  We are especially fond of the staff at the Concierge desk who greet you with a warm wecome and see to all of your needs. The rooms are lovely with high ceilings that make them appear larger.  Our only complaint on our last trip last fall was that breakfast is no longer served in their dining room with overlooks the city.  We always looked forward to having breakfast while enjoying the magnificent view of Rome.  Breakfast is now served in the garden which is lovely.  We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a room overlooking the Spanish Steps which has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mdelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2011

It has been thirty years since my last visit to Rome. Just a reminder all the attractions and even the streets and sidewalks overflowed with thousands of tourists. I mean it was more crowed than any place I have been including Disney. The entire city reminded me of exiting an NFL football stadium that went into OT.
We stayed four nights in a courtyard view grand delux king. The room was large with purple velvet decor. The bath was all slab marble and very nice except the jets in the tub didn't work the first night.
The restaurant on the top floor, Imagio, has excellent views but certainly not worth 290 euros for two (the sparking water charge was 32euro). Everything in the hotel including the rooms was overpriced. The room was 830 euros with tax and breakfast.
The front desk service was fine but slow. Housekeeping never answered its phone. No coffee in the room. You must request feather pillows.
The hotel is old, but elegant and it appeared remodeled. The common area decor consist of antiques that are really special. The elevators are the smallest and slowest in Italy.
The fitness area is really small and inadequate for weights, but has a neat balcony attached with chaise lounge chairs overlooking the city and the Spanish steps.
The location is great. The breakfast in the courtyard was great; beautiful setting and the staff there were eager to please and moved fast. The Internet was free and fairly fast.

Room Tip: If you want a quite room chose a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chevydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

The Hassler Roma is a grand hotel in probably the best location you can imagine, directly at the top of the Spanish Steps. It occupies the best position of any hotel in the area. Simply walk out the front door and
you are in the middle of Rome. No compromise. When you exit the hotel you in any direction you are in Rome!
Even the little square off to the front side of the hotel is charming with restaurants and shops.
The hotel itself is charming and every bit of 5 star. The service at all levels is outstanding. The restaurant is
excellent, the front desk staff and the concierge without compromise. Expensive, yes but worth every penny...i mean euro!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LPK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,258 in Rome
408 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#52 of 1,258 in Rome
1,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,258 in Rome
706 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#84 of 1,258 in Rome
1,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Property: Hotel Hassler
Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#23 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 93 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing