We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegance in the Heart of Rome”
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Hassler
Ranked #24 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved this Hotel. It has the best location in Rome-close to shopping and all the main attractions. The service is solicitous, excellent and quick; the restaurant on the main terrace
is excellent both for breakfast and supper. It is an elegant space. The room was beautifully appointed, spotless, quiet and the air-conditioning was a blessing in ultra-hot August. I have only the highest praise for the hotel, it management and its staff and recommend it unreservedly.
When in Rome-stay at the Hassler! KMeloff Toronbto

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kmeloff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Mr. Meloff,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for your beautiful comments of praise.

All comments I receive from my clients are very much appreciated and a necessary tool to understand if I succeed in my aim to render each and every stay as memorable and enjoyable as possible. In this specific instance, I am happy to be able to ascertain that this goal has in some way been accomplished.

On a closing note, I hope the future holds in store another opportunity for you to return to the Hassler.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

512 - 518 of 1,111 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

The stay was excellent staff were courteous food was excellent services and promptness of it is also commendable.
I wish the lifts are slightly larger and the stairs well lit.
The freshness of room was relatively better on business travel experience.

Room Tip: Towards the Spanish steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ayroor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your comments.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the staff attention and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments. Moreover, note has been taken concerning your suggestions regarding the lifts and the stairs, while Housekeeping has been alerted in respect to your impression regarding the freshness of the room.

I look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Few weeks ago , i have stayed in Hotel Hassler in Rome, one of the most famous hotel, i guess in Rome, however its not like that..

First of all didnt like staff at the reception, quite rude, some of them dont even speak good English..I think the name of guest realtion manager was Alessandra, she is really unprofessional and she needs to improve her English ( 5 star hotel guysss)

The second reason why i didnt like this hotel,
Its restaraunt Imago , i have heard from my friends, that its one Michlen restaraunt, so i decided to go there with my family, we have been told that there is even menu in Russian,

so we booked a table , came there, the view is really heartbreking, however when we saw a menu in russian, we couldnt stop laughing, come on whohave translated this sh.t?!!

..I think even google translator would translate better, such a shame that this restaraunt got a Michelen star, terrible i dont understanв how other people still didnt complain about it...I think even will write a letter to Leading hotel of the world, because its really crazy...

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having spent your time at the Hassler while in Rome last month, and also for having taken time to share your comments concerning the stay.

I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. I hope you will decide to reconsider your judgment to date and give us a future opportunity to demonstrate that we can meet your expectations.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

One of the Leading Small hotels of the world. If you are a member of this group you will receive an upgrade. We were moved to the 5th floor with a small balcony and view of the Spanish steps and the roof tops towards the Vatican. The hotel is immaculate, attention to detail is perfect. Big beds with the most comfortable pillows, large marble bathrooms. Very efficient concierge service. Downside - we only stayed for one night. Rome is an incredible city, despite the bad press concerning pick pockets, there was a visible presence of police, but wise not to walk around with anything in back pockets of trousers and mobile phones etc

Room Tip: Any with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissesN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your beautiful comments of praise.

My aim as a family hotelier, with five generations of tradition, is to provide a blend of service and atmosphere, to make you feel that each stay is a home away from home experience and with your comments make me feel that this time I succeeded. I am happy that you enjoyed the Concierge staff attention and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments to each and everyone.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hotel have great location, just on the top of Spanish steps. But i would suggest to ask room with the view on the square, not garden. Room was very clean and fresh, service good and friendly.Restaurant on the top was not on the open terrace, basically even windows been close for conditioning. This was a bit of dissapointing, because food was really good and view great. I think if restaurant was on the open air, at night would be totally different experience.
I would suggest this hotel to friends, but personally i think for the same price you will find greater rooms with good garden and swimming pool in the same good location near by.

Watch bills everywhere you go in Rome(from best restaurants to small cafe's or shops), it's tendency there to try to over calculate prices!

Room Tip: View on the city, not garden. Print online confirmation in case of computer mistake in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquaKitty55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,



Greetings from the Eternal City!

First of all, I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler while in Rome, but also for
the time you took to share your comments, which were much appreciated.

My ongoing aim is to succeed in meeting my clients’ expectations, so your personal comments are a precious tool for me to understand where and how I can improve in order to succeed in my goal. For your information, I will use the information during my upcoming team meetings where we will also be discussing your impressions.

On a final note, I also hope you get an opportunity to return and maybe experience for yourself some changes that may be a result of your very remarks!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2013

This building, at the top of the Spanish Steps, is incredibly beautiful and it is wonderfully located for lots of foot-friendly site seeing, shopping and dining. It is pretty Americanized in its food and services - which can be a good thing or a bad thing depending on your style. As far as food, I thought it was a bad thing. For service, a good thing. If you are looking for a more Italian experience, there are other hotels for this.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chele32789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome and also for having taken the time to share your comments concerning the stay.

It is indeed our constant aim to make our guests feel at home and to render their stay as memorable and comfortable as possible, I am therefore glad that you generally enjoyed being here. On the other hand I was sorry to learn that you were not satisfied with the food. I do thank you however for having brought it to my attention

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We were recently in Rome and wanted to stay near the Spanish Steps. You couldn't get any closer to them unless you stay at the Hotel Hassler or next door at their boutique hotel Il Palazetto. Very clean, comfortable, private, and so relaxing after a long day of walking. On our next trip to Rome, we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thomashawker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2013

Dear Guest,

Greetings from the Eternal City!

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for your lovely note of appreciation.



Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, I was very pleased to read that you were positively impressed and enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#4 of 1,272 in Rome
460 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,272 in Rome
1,415 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,272 in Rome
763 reviews
Esquilino
The St. Regis Rome
The St. Regis Rome
#94 of 1,272 in Rome
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#82 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £424 - £724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 93 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing