We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The concierge, Dennis, can do anything.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Hassler
Ranked #28 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
“The concierge, Dennis, can do anything.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

I've never bothered to write a review before: this hotel is wonderful. You can tell by the map and photos that the views and location are superb, but the service is what really sets them apart. We had a short trip and it was a huge help to depend on the breakfast buffet, the quick room service, drinks on the terrace on the 7th floor, the friendly bartenders, and the miraculous concierge desk. Restaurant reservations, last minute Villa Borghese tickets, great suggestions for a quick Caravaggio fix or a great place for lunch. . . they can do anything. THANK YOU HOTEL HASSLER!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JM02130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to share with us your satisfaction concerning your recent stay with us.

My aim, in the hotel business, is to allow my clients to experience a unique and enjoyable break and make them feel “home away from home” – and with your lovely note, I pride myself in being able to say that sometimes I manage to accomplish the goals that I fixed for myself. Your kind words of appreciation were also passed on to all the staff concerned.

I look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to return.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    729
    140
    54
    27
    26
See reviews for
213
501
32
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

At the top of the Spanish Steps. The entire experience was wonderful. The service (wow), the atmosphere, the food, the rooms--there is no better place to stay in Rome and the rates are very reasonable.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your beautiful comments of praise.

It is my constant intention to provide an unforgettable experience, so I was pleased to learn that the service, the atmosphere, the food and the rooms succeeded in meeting your expectations. I would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments to all the staff concerned.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bernardsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
205 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

The Hassler is right at the top of the Spanish Steps. Walking distance to Campo di Fiore, Piazza Novanna, the Fontana di Trevi, and the Pantheon. Top shopping areas for all the specialty shops. Rooms are large and decorated beautifully with frescos and Italian charm. Staff is helpful and friendly. We had breakfast once in the hotel and ordered omelets which weren't very good. Very expensive for breakfast E80 for two people which is about $120 US. Don't waste your money here for that. Cocktail lounge is lovely with piano music and hey if you can afford to stay here you have to be prepared to pay top dollar for everything because you will. Totally would stay here again.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 01ritz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your comments, which were much appreciated.

I am very happy to know that you enjoyed the staff attention and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments to each and everyone.

On a different note I was sorry to learn that the breakfast did not meet your expectations and your opinion is being reviewed by the Department concerned.

I look forward to greeting you again, hoping that the future stores many other opportunities for you to stay with us.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

1. Great location: 9/10
2. Great staff: 9/10
3. Small room : 7/10
4. Clean: 8/10
5. Noisy room: 5/10
Overall: 8/10
A great hotel especially for this city standards. But the noise from ladies cleaning the rooms is really terrible!

Panagiotis Iakovis

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Iakovis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear Mr. Iakovis,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen the Hassler, while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to give us your comments.

I appreciated you sharing your positive ratings and also took careful note of your remarks about the loud noise, I was very sorry to learn about the inconvenience our housekeeping caused you. Please rest assured that staff concerned have been soundly reprimanded and obliged to drastically improve their behaviour.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

After reading ranking after ranking in certain magazines of this hotel, all ranking it the most highly rated, I had very high expectations. Now let me be clear, I am extremely picky and overall it was very good but it just did not live up to my anticipation. On a positive note the Service was outstanding and the concierges were among the best we encountered during our stay in Italy. We dined at Imago the rooftop restaurant in the hotel, which was excellent and the view was incredible. All of that being said the issue was the overall decor and feel of the hotel- it just seemed terribly dated. Our room was large but needed to be refurbished a couple of years ago. While you can't get a better location than atop the spainish steps you can do much better than to be accosted by gypsies trying to sell you something or stick roses in your hand everytime you walk in and out of the hotel. If it weren't for the outstanding service and the fact that the staff was so nice I'd say skip it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitzicmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having taken the time to describe your experience.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your dinner at Imàgo Restaurant, the view and the staff attention - and it was nice to be able to pass on your compliments!

On another note, I was sorry to learn that the room you occupied was not to your satisfaction. However, I would like to inform you that renovation works have already begun and are only one aspect of a long term project I have, to restore the Hassler to the initial perfection which my father had back in 1921. Some rooms have already been redesigned, others are being completed at the moment.

I hope you find an occasion to return sometime ahead and do decide to experience the changes for yourself.

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
katonah, ny
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

This was our first time staying here and we were not disappointed. It is everything that you expect it to be. Very nice rooms, nice lobby, professional staff,etc. The location worked out very well for us. There is a very nice bar just off the lobby which was a great meeting spot for us. The restaurant has beautiful views of the city but the food was a little bit too fancy for us. The concierge staff was very accommodating and arranged some car services, restaurant reservations and private tour guides. Overall a good experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank pepper99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Google Translation
Gentile Ospite,

La ringrazio per aver scelto il nostro albergo per il Suo soggiorno a Roma e per aver espresso i Suoi commenti in merito.

Mi ha fatto molto piacere sapere che, con il nostro impegno e la nostra passione, siamo riusciti a soddisfare le Sue aspettative. Le Sue parole di apprezzamento sono state rivolte anche al nostro personale.

Nella speranza di poterLa accogliere nuovamente all’Hassler Le invio cordiali saluti,

Roberto Wirth
Presidente e Direttore Generale
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sullivan's Island, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband & I went to Italy for our honeymoon 18 yrs ago. We visited Italy again in June, 2013. We were able to stay at the Hotel Hassler on this visit. It was wonderful! I had high expectations and they were exceeded. The entire hotel was gorgeous - our room was outstanding. The staff - quite friendly and professional. The bar even carried my favorite Scotch which turned out to be impossible to find in any other place that we visited in Italy.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor facing the front of the hotel. Though it was busy and noisy outside, o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acdiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, Direttore generale at Hotel Hassler, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Dear Guest,
Greetings from the Eternal City!

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for your lovely note of appreciation.

Since my aim is to be able to meet every client’s expectation, your note about your room and the staff gave me great satisfaction and would like you to know that I have passed on your compliments. I am also very happy that you shared the precious comment about your favourite Scotch that you were not able to find in any other place in Italy, except in our Bar.

I look forward to welcoming you again to the Hassler in the near future.

Kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#5 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#57 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Manfredi Suite in Rome
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Property: Hotel Hassler
Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 93 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing