We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World Class Hotel Atop Spanish Steps”
Review of Hotel Hassler

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Hassler
Ranked #37 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Nearly every knowledgeable source I checked included Hotel Hassler on their short list of Rome's finest hotels, so our expectations were high. And so was the price. But the Hotel Hassler did not disappoint. For travelers wanting to stay in Rome's finest hotel near the Spanish Steps, look no further than the Hotel Hassler. The building itself is historically significant and has served in a variety of noteworthy causes over the years. It is also exceedingly rare to find an international class hotel that is owned by one person and has been in the same family for over half a century. Expect top notch service and a facility that is maintained impeccably. The rooftop deck offers astonishing views of Rome. From the quality of the towels and robes to the furniture to the bathroom products, no detail is overlooked or subject to compromise. We were fortunate to get one of the few rooms with a balcony. Some rooms lack city views, but that is typical for hotels that are not towers which are nowhere to be found in Rome. For those seeking the latest contemporary surroundings, look elsewhere but from all I could gather, there is nothing in the Eternal City which will top the Hotel Hassler.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a lovely review. I am delighted to know that you truly enjoyed your stay at the Hassler and that we met your expectations in every way.

It will be a pleasure to pass on your sincere words of appreciation to all the staff and Hassler team. Each of us takes great pride and joy in the careful care and assistance for our guests. The same dedication is also given to the maintenance of this elegant historical building and establishment as it has been a “home away from home” to countless guests for generations. It is extremely pleasing to know that our hard work is appreciated and recognized. Thank you.

I truly hope you will have the opportunity to return to the Hassler soon as we look forward to welcoming you once again!

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,063)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Hassler
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

410 - 416 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We were here in May 2014. Wow, so many great things to see right outside the front doors.

Pros:
All Staff was very helpful
Clean Rooms: Amazing actually. Bed was super comfortable
Located at the top of the Spanish Steps


Cons:
I wanted to be there longer

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsilly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler while in Rome, but also for having shared your comments with us.

I am very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay here and that you would have loved to stay longer. We truly look forward to welcoming you back.

I was also very pleased to know you particularly appreciated your comfortable accommodations and the location of the Hassler in downtown historic Rome just above the Spanish steps. We aim to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and we are very glad to know this was the case.

Thank you for the compliment in regards to our staff. I am very pleased to hear that they were helpful and I will pass on your compliments to them.

Greeting from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Great location...very friendly and accommodating service...7th floor rooftop access alone worth the price of admission...Tiramisu is tremendous, able to outshine the dish served around the town's best trattoria's...

Room Tip: Stay on the second floor and above
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at the Hassler. I am very pleased to know you enjoyed our 7th floor rooftop terrace and that you truly enjoyed the Tiramisu.

I would also like to thank you for your appreciative comments about our location and service. It will be a pleasure to pass on your compliments to our staff.

I hope you will have future opportunities to visit the Hassler and our panoramic restaurant Imàgo in order to try many more exquisite dishes.

Greetings from the Eternal City!

Kindest regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Hotel Hassler is likely too traditional for some, but its service is impeccable, and its location is second to none. The roof top terrace has some of the best views in Rome, and its restaurant Imàgo is also one of the best in Rome.

Room Tip: The Classic Suites have no view, despite what they say on their website.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruiser64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler and for having taken the time to share your comments about your experience.

I am very pleased to know that you found the service provided by our staff impeccable. We aim to exceed our guest’s expectations every time they visit the Hassler by providing our traditionally renown professional and welcoming guest care.

I am also glad to learn that you had the opportunity of visiting our roof top terrace as well as our Michelin starred restaurant Imàgo. The view truly is an amazing sight and when it is accompanied by a splendid glass of wine and remarkable cuisine prepared by our Chef, it is an experience that can not be missed.

I hope you will have many more future opportunities to stay at the Hassler and try new dishes at our Imàgo restaurant!

Cheers!

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in the summer last year and it was fantastic! It is quite an old fashioned and dated hotel but it really didn't matter because it reflected the history of Rome. It's nice sometimes to stay somewhere less modern and makes you realise the beauty and elegance of this capital city! The location is unbeatable, right on the top of the Spanish Steps with the Via Condotti straight ahead of you. There was a very small terrace with some chairs on at the top to sit and we managed to ask the spa to sit on their 3 deckchairs on their small terrace but that is one downside. There is no proper outside space to sunbathe so I wouldn't stay here for too long if i was looking for relaxation time as well. This hotel is more suited to a business/sightseeing trip. It is also definitely very romantic! The breakafast was lovely on the ground floor terrace. Rooms were lovely too!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sweety9London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your comments about your stay at the Hassler. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in this historic hotel.

All of our rooms have been individually decorated with different unique styles each reflecting a beautiful classic elegance and I am very glad to know that you appreciated this decor in your accommodations.

I do hope you also had the chance of visiting our Amorvero Spa during your stay. They have luxurious packages and services dedicated to creating an incredibly relaxing experience for our guests. I would personally suggest one of our masseuses’ renowned massages.

I hope that you will have many more opportunities to stay at the Hassler in the future and to visit the Eternal City once more!

Greetings from Rome!

Best Regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Charm charm.
Impecable staff...... roof top terrace for an evening drink or dinner provides an overall perspective of Roma including the Vatican... and breakfast & or lunch on the ground floor terrace is special.
This is an old hotel...family owned, at the top end.
And at the top of the Spanish Steps....... unique location.
Apart from the charm & warmth of staff, two reservations. In a hotel of this category it is surprising there is no complimentary internet, as is now the custom in the vast majority of hotels around the world. I was told there was, but at checkout it became an issue with an inexperienced receptionist.
And my wife would appreciate a modern or current, or workable hair dryer !
ANDREW BUCHANAN SYDNEY AUSTRALIA

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen to stay at the Hassler during your stay in Rome and for having shared your comments about your experience.

I was very pleased to know that you would describe our staff as impeccable, charming and warm. We aim to make your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and I will be delighted to inform all of our staff in regards to your comments of appreciation.

I do understand your reservations in regards to the internet regulations and hair dryer. I will discuss these items with the relevant departments and I trust you will find these services greatly improved upon your next stay.

Please do not hesitate to contact our staff with any requests in order to make each of your next visits better then the last.

We look forward to greeting you again, hoping the future reserves many more occasions for you to stay at the Hassler!

Best Regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

There is no better place to stay than at the Hotel Hassler! It has a prime location at the top of the Spanish steps. The rooms are large and comfortable with all the amenities that you would expect from a hotel of this caliber.

Breakfast was fantastic and if you have the time plan an evening at the rooftop restaurant. We enjoyed the tasting menu and watched the sunset over Rome. Magical doesn't begin to describe our experience.

Here's a tip: There is a cafe to the left just beyond the church. It's also run by the Hassler and is a perfect place to enjoy a nice drink at the end of your touring day.

Room Tip: We choose a room with an interior courtyard view. It was super quiet and nice.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DirezioneHassler, General Manager at Hotel Hassler, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. I am very pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hassler and that you found your accommodations particularly comfortable and well furnished with all the necessities our guest’s may need.

The prestigious location at the top of the Spanish Steps and the view from our panoramic restaurant Imàgo truly give our guest’s the opportunity to live an amazing and unique experience. I am very glad you had the opportunity of enjoying the spectacular view as the sun set over the rooftops of historical Rome.

The Cafè you mentioned in your tips is called Il Palazzetto and I am very glad you had the opportunity to stop and enjoy a refreshing drink on the terrace overlooking Piazza di Spagna.

I hope you will have further opportunities to stay at the Hassler in the future!

I look forward to welcoming you again!

Greetings from the Eternal City and kind regards,

Roberto E. Wirth
President and Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel De Russie
Hotel De Russie
#53 of 1,267 in Rome
1,368 reviews
Campo Marzio
J.K. Place Roma
J.K. Place Roma
#3 of 1,267 in Rome
430 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
The First Luxury Art Hotel
Campo Marzio
Portrait Roma
Portrait Roma
#2 of 1,267 in Rome
736 reviews
Monti
The Inn At The Roman Forum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hassler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hassler

Address: Piazza della Trinita' Dei Monti 6, 00187 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Rome
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#76 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#116 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £422 - £1,100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Hassler 5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hassler Roma is the legendary five star Rome luxury hotel at the top of the Spanish Steps, residence of choice for a memorable experience in the Eternal City. In the heart of the city's historic center, the Hassler is one of the best hotels in Rome, minutes from Via Condotti as well as important monuments and landmarks, including the Pantheon, St. Peter's Basilica, the Coliseum, the Villa Borghese gardens and The Trevi Fountain. Owned by President and Managing Director Roberto E. Wirth, fifth generation of a famous Swiss dynasty of hoteliers, the Hassler Roma hotel offers 93 unique rooms and suites. Magnificent dining options within the hotel include the Michelin-starred Imàgo, the Salone Eva and Palm Court Restaurants and Hassler Bar, and Il Palazzetto Restaurant & Wine Bar nearby. Elegance, style, the highest quality service and discretion have made the Hassler Roma the very symbol of international hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Hassler reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hassler Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing