We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, character and a good Italian breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Ranked #230 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great location, character and a good Italian breakfast”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We visited Rome with our two children aged 7 and 9 (after our last visit 14 years earlier the city seems much more crowded!). We selected the junior suite that allowed the four of us to sleep together in one room. The suite was spacious with the main sleeping area on a mezzanine floor above the bathroom. The room and bathroom were clean and had enough room for all of our belongings. The breakfasts were a big plus, lots of variety and fresh fruit, pastries and cakes each day, along with coffees made to order. The Pantheon area can get very crowded and noisy during the day, but the hotel allowed us to escape the crowds and get a peaceful nights sleep - the beds were comfortable. The hotel is very old and does not have modern "conveniences" which is exactly why we chose it. Quite basic and simple, but what is provides is very good, with of course the great location. We would go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 101Umpalumpas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    235
    63
    31
    29
See reviews for
189
315
29
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abington, MA
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at this hotel recently with a group of friends. We found the hotel to be comfortable, clean and the location was fantastic. The front door of the hotel exits directly onto the Piazza della Rotonda. The staff was courteous and friendly. The breakfast area is very nice and serves a light continental style selection of foods. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to be centrally located and within walking distance to many of the historical sites.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjsvacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Central to historic site, museums, restaurants, shops etc and with one of the most impressive historic sites on the doorstep. This comfortable hotel has character and if you choose rooms carefully, peace and quiet from the throng just outside.

Room Tip: Front for views, rear for peace and quiet - you can get the view by just walking out the front door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonjondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The location is great but that's all.
The building is very old and fails to supply the minimal services such as descent water pressure in the shower, properly working air condition, and more. Is not worth it !!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amir Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

This hotel is literally on the Piazza della Rotonda in the middle of historic Rome. You step out the door and the Pantheon is right there. It's an easy walk to all the major destinations. We walked to the Colosseum, the Vatican, the Spanish Steps, and more during our 4 days in Rome. This is a quaint old city hotel. The staff was friendly. They serve an excellent breakfast. We had room 204, which is near the elevator and can be noisy. However, unless you are napping from 11-2, it's not a big deal. Did I mention the location? It really was unbelievable.

Room Tip: The elevator can be slow, so if you can get the second floor you can use the beautiful stairs withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jawest777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I should make it clear from the outset, the hotel has its regular rooms and its annex. We stayed in the annex. So, my review is of it. But, if you decide to stay at the Albergo del Sole, be clear about where your room is. The annex is in a separate building about 100 yards from the hotel. In addition to the rooms owned by the hotel, there are apartments there not owned or used by the hotel. The building is old (as are all in central Rome) and not decorated at all as a hotel. That didn't bother us, but it may some who want more of the "hotel experience." Although the hotel holds itself out as a four-star hotel, the annex is really more of a two and a half to three-star level.

The good:

The location is fantastic. Right outside the window of our fourth floor room was the Pantheon. I've never had a more amazing view of a man-made structure outside my hotel room. There is a beautiful fountain in the middle of the piazza, which is surrounded by restaurants and small shops. There must be thirty restaurants within just a couple of blocks. And, the hotel and annex are within a 15 minute walk of many of the sites you will want to see in Rome.

The room we had was once an apartment. So, it was much larger than the typical Italian (European) hotel room. There was a good size TV and satellite service that worked well for catching the news in the evening while allowing our feet to recover from the miles we traversed seeing the sites in Rome.

Breakfast was decent. Daily a typical assortment of yoghurt, meats, cheeses, and baked goods were set out. Again, typical of Italian hotels.

We didn't need much in terms of service, but the front desk staff was always friendly and attentive when we asked for anything.

The bad:

The piazza where the annex (and hotel) are located is busy. If you want quiet, this is not your place. Even with the window closed, things didn't quiet down until well after midnight every night. It's a very busy square (think accordion players, guitar players, guys selling whatever they can get tourists to buy, large groups of young people hanging out). At times, it's downright loud.

The bathroom was tiny, which is expected, but the water got no hotter than lukewarm. We dealt with it and brought to the attention of the front desk. Nothing changed while we were there. Not a huge deal, but at $220 a night for a room, I expect a hot shower.

There is also no internet in the annex. It's available in the lobby of the hotel and I guess in the rooms at the hotel (although we did not confirm this). We ended up going to a restaurant below our room and using theirs (while drinking wine on the square -- not an altogether bad option, but not convenient).

The room safe worked with a key that we had to give back to the front desk every morning. They had no back-up keys to the room and needed ours for housekeeping to get access. Kind of strange that we gave the housekeeper the key to our safe, but nothing was taken.

The annex is a good choice for a low-maintenance traveler who doesn't plan on spending much time in the room/hotel. No frills, but the proximity to and view of the Pantheon made up for a lot.

Room Tip: If in the annex, get a view of the Pantheon
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TravlinDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

Don't judge the hotel by very old exterior. The room is clean with minimalist design and tiny. Well, it's big enough for European standard. The located is perfect. It's located in the same complex as Pantheon. It's very strategically located to many tourist sites. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyrose2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Colonna
Hotel Pantheon
Hotel Pantheon
#137 of 1,257 in Rome
625 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#56 of 1,257 in Rome
970 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#114 of 1,257 in Rome
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#32 of 1,257 in Rome
755 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Albergo del Senato
Albergo del Senato
#10 of 1,257 in Rome
3,522 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon

Property: Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon
Address: Piazza della Rotonda 63, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#106 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#131 Luxury Hotel in Rome
#171 Family Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Albergo del Sole Al Pantheon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Del Sole Al Pantheon Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing