We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst accommodation I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Artis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Artis
Ranked #371 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The worst accommodation I have ever stayed in”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

A girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend after receiving a recommendation from an acquanitence but we should have done our research. The hotel itself is located about a 40 minute + commute into Rome centre and that involves walking from the hotel to a bus stop, taking a local bus about 20-30 minutes to the underground station depending on traffic and then taking the underground to the centre of Rome. The closest underground station is Subaugusta and is the 2nd to last station on the line so it's a VERY long way out. The area the hotel is in itself felt really unsafe for two girls travelling on their own but then we bumped into a husband and wife who also said they felt really unsafe here. There is literally nothing around, one small supermarket next door (the staff were lovely and opened our bottle of wine for us each night yay that kept us sane) and apparently there was a restaurant near by which we never found and that's about it. We felt so unsafe out here that we didn't want to return or do the commute after sundown so each day we would return to the hotel around 6pm.

The only thing the hotel had going for itself was it's cleanliness - this I cannot fault however what I would like people to be aware of is:
The onsite restaurant is not open on the weekends. So as I have mentioned there was nothing around the hotel so when we returned on Sunday evening the supermarket was closed and there was no where else to get dinner from much to our disappointment.
To get onto the bus you need to buy a ticket (obviously) however you cannot buy this on the bus just from the train station or from some Tobacco stores. Each day a new staff member would say that they normally sold them at the reception of the hotel but that they were "finished" and would have some tomorrow however they never had them at reception. One staff member even told us you could only buy them from the train station as you had to sign for them which was an absolute lie since we had got them from the train station from the ticket machine easily. So I would suggest you buy up at the train station how many day passes you need for your time there and then validate one each day.
It appears the hotel is a fantastic place for tour buses to stop for the night as every night like clockwork at 9pm for the next 3 hours it would sound like renovations were happening as there is no carpet in the hotel so a bus would arrive full of tourists at 9pm, they would then wheel there bags up and down the hallway, in and out of the rooms, moves chairs around and strike up conversations across the hallway and keep everyone awake. Then this would kick off again from around 5am as they would wake up and pack up to head off on the bus again anytime between 7-8am. So very little sleep was had in with the paper thin walls.

FYI aswell when we arrived from the airport we took the train into Termini (14 euros) and then got a taxi to the hotel as we didn't feel safe catching the local bus at 10pm at night. The taxi cost about 30 euros from Termini to the hotel and he struggled to find it either.

All in all it was just a terrible experience staying here and I wish I had done my research more.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiodab, Direttore at Hotel Artis, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment , even if we consider it unfair.
You said that the hotel is clean and lovely staff so why you give us 1 of 5 ?
Why is that the area where the hotel is located is dangerous ? This is incorrect because it is absolutely quiet, much of the city center .
Because our restaurant is only open until Thursday, and there are no other restaurant in the area? This is incorrect because there are 2 restaurants within walking distance and many more using a taxi.
The only aspect on which we feel we owe you an apology is the noise caused by other guests , however, little educated who do not think that in a hotel there are other people who usually sleep .
We very much agree instead on the fact that maybe next time you should take care of personally search the hotel for you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

614 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    280
    139
    35
    20
See reviews for
76
278
18
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel, the reception staff were very helpful and speak good English. We got to our room in no time. However we were a bit surprised to be on the ground floor (room 24). The room was very clean and modern, although the tiled flooring throughout the whole room was a bit cold on our feet. The hotel advertises free wifi, which is correct. However, being in one of the furthest rooms away from reception, we struggled to connect to the internet in our room. For best connection we had to go in the bathroom. We had a comfortable nights sleep after a long day travelling. However, upon waking up and craving a coffee, we realised that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in our room. This wasn't really an issue as breakfast was included in our stay so went downstairs to the breakfast room. Don't expect to be presented with a full english breakfast. It was simply continental breakfast, which just about satisfied us. There was a small selection of pastries (croissants, pan au chocolat etc) some cake, cereal, canned fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, and two hot dishes filled with fried egg and frankfurters.

The reception staff were very helpful in telling us how to get into the centre of rome, drawing directions to the nearest bus stop on a map they have on the desk (less than 5 minute walk). Don't be fooled by the metro map on the back which falsely advertises an additional green line, which isn't in operation yet (opens 2015). So in order to get to the centre of Rome we had to catch the number 558 bus, get off at Subaugusta, and catch the metro from there. This took about 40 mins altogether give or take. You can get a travel card in the metro station which is very good value for money if you are on a city break. You get 3 days unlimited rides on the metro and buses all for €16.

When we arrived back at the hotel after a long day in Rome we noticed that there is a supermarket right next door! This was very convenient for buying bottles of water and snacks for the evening. When it comes to dining in the evening, unless you want to eat at the hotel or while in the centre of Rome, there is only really one restaurant in the close proximity of the hotel. So we ended up eating at a Pizzeria called La Carovana Pazza every single night. I have to say the food was delicious, and would highly recommend eating here. However, you will need to book a reservation on weekends. The lack of choice for dining in the area however was disappointing.

On our second night back at the hotel we were able to explore the television channels a bit more in the room, and I'm afraid there are only 2 or 3 channels with English programs on. On the plus side these channels played pretty decent movies most of the time, so perfect for evening television.

One of the biggest downers for us were the paper thin walls in the hotel! So don't expect to get a lie in in the morning. If it's not people slamming doors, it's the cleaners moving furniture about and hoovering. You can even hear some people talking in the rooms above. The tiled flooring doesn't help either as anyone in high heels will also be heard walking around.

Upon leaving we had to pay £9 each tourist tax, so don't forget to budget for this.

All in all the hotel was fine for what we wanted it for. If you want somewhere clean and modern this is definitely a good choice and good value for money. However if we were to go to rome again we would definitely choose a hotel that is more central, even if this means paying a bit more.

Room Tip: The closer to reception the better, as wifi connection is weak the further away you are. Also, top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellychafe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiodab, Direttore at Hotel Artis, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry for the noise caused by other guests who do not think that little educated in a hotel there are other people who usually sleep.
You would, however, point out the problem and we proceeded to make a room change to a plan almo, much more peaceful and quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

If you're reading this review, then you must have internet connection. Look on a map of where Hotel Artis is and where the main attractions are before you book. So many people are irritated by the location of the hotel, yet it takes minutes to check online where it is. Yes, Hotel Artis is cheaper but if you're going to complain about its location, why not pay more for a hotel in Central Rome.

As previous posters have mentioned, there is a bus (558) that runs on Via Romanisti. It is fairly regular and takes 10 minutes to the nearest Metro. You can see the sign well before the stop. I don't think anyone has mentioned but the hotel do sell 100minute tickets for 1euro50cents which is very handy as you can purchase a day ticket, 3 days or a week ticket at the metro station.

The staff at the reception are lovely, very polite - saying hello every time we walk past, they spoke English well and any problems we had, we felt comfortable in asking them. As we were on our honeymoon, they also arranged for a bottle of champagne to be sent up! It was very thoughtful and was well appreciated.

The restaurant is good value for money and was a lovely first taste of Rome. The breakfast buffet was well enjoyed by us also. A great start to the day with varied choices. Although some days, I did fancy toast which is the one equipment they lacked but they did have packeted toast/biscuit which was a nice alternative. The buffet ends at 10am. The staff at the restaurant are also very helpful and polite.

The rooms are clean and very modern. Rather than a doorknob hanger, they have an electronic button on the door that flashes red if you do not want to be disturbed. The cleaners did a fantastic job. They only cleaned the room when we weren't in and I didn't find a single strand of my hair which seemed to moult in copious amounts.

There aren't many restaurants locally but there is a great pub style restaurant up the road - about a 10 minute walk - called La Villeta. The owner was the chef and waiter. He was lovely to chat to. He said he only had a few tables because he wanted to deliver great food. The food was amazing. The pasta was made fresh. The atmosphere was great. Would loved to have gone again.

There are several pizzerias nearby. We tried one and definitely weren't disappointed. Brilliant value for money and we could enjoy the pizza in the comfort of our room. We were able to choose different slices rather than just have one sort. If we fancied anything else, we knew we could take the bus to where the nearest Metro station is (Subaugusta) where there were much more shops, pizzerias, restaurants and gelaterias.

A supermarket is also right next door if you needed bits and pieces. We needed toothpaste (which, unfortunately, the hotel does not provide) but it was no bother with supermarket there!

Overall, the hotel was a pleasant stay. We would definitely recommend it to others and hopefully one day we can stay there again!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ailar T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

I recently visited this hotel when the company i`d booked a holiday with let me down.
First time in Rome and this Hotel is in the a very poor location and miles out of the way from the center of Rome. The gentleman on duty on the day of arrival spoke good english and gave us good directions which was a life saver.
I was however disapointed that the only refreshments and snacks available after 10am was a small fridge in the room, not even a kettle. For a four star hotel that is in the middle of nowhere there could have been more entertainment, there is no bar or pool.
Because of the lack of secruity i would strongly advise to single mothers not to bring their children to this hotel. I was dissapointed after a serious incident the staff did not take the appropiate action, which left me feeling very unsafe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolf4tony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My mum and I stayed here for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago, all in all I thought it was good value for money and the niceness of the place was worth the slight inconvenience of its location.

Room was large and well-appointed with nice bath and shower. TV was mostly Italian but we did catch the odd English programme and film – note it’s probably worth taking lap top and dvds if you like to watch tv when away. There was a mini bar which we only had a bottle of water from which at 80 cents didn’t seem too bad but I couldn’t tell you the price of other things in it! We mostly bought beers from the supermarket next door and kept them in it which the hotel didn’t seem to mind about. The room was clean and the bedding and towels changed daily.

Breakfast was nothing special, your normal continental offering but coffee was very good and the bread, pastries, meats and cheeses were more than enough as a start to the day. We didn’t eat in the hotel but there is a restaurant on site although on speaking to other guests it would appear the choice is limited. There is a bar on site which was nice for a drink in the evening and wasn’t too expensive.

Now on to the elephant in the room, - location:-

Yes this hotel is out of central Rome, we knew this when we booked it but as it came as part of a relatively cheap package deal (£180 pp inc flights and 3 nights accomodation) we thought we would brave it. To get into Rome you had to get a bus and then the metro, most days the bus was pretty quick arriving, the most we waited was maybe 15 mins. Then the journey was maybe ten mins to Sabuagusta (I think that’s how you spell it!) metro station. The metro station is obvious from the bus although a nice Italian chap did help me with where to get off. The metro journey into Rome depends on where you are going to but to get to the Vatican I would say maybe a half an hour metro journey. We never waited long for a metro. The main issues we had were on Saturday night when trying to get the metro back about 7pm from the Trevi fountain, clearly a very busy stop and busy time of day/year as we waited for 3 tubes in a row and literally they were jammed so much you couldn’t get on. On this occasion we got a taxi back to the hotel which was 25 euro which didn’t seem to bad. On another occasion on a Sunday we got back to Sabuagusta but waited ages for a bus (45 mins at least), we know they run on Sundays as we had got one in but be careful on a Sunday if you are in a rush would be my advice. We eventually gave up on the bus and got a taxi from a bar on the corner by Sabuagusta (be careful of this bar, there is some sort of buffet included in the price of your drink and if all you are after is just the drink its expensive at 10 euro for a beer!).

A booked car from the airport to the hotel cost 50 euro each way (booked through http://www.romecabs.com/).

All in all I think for the money this hotel was worth it, being where it was it was also very quiet which was nice.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CPBisthebest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013 via mobile

I know I have left it a long time, but here goes. We booked this hotel for our Easter break and initially thought it was in the centre of Rome but it wasn't. However this in actual fact all added to the charm of using the public transport navigating and using maps etc.
When we first arrived it was quite late in the evening and there was a problem with the type of room we booked as we were given a double room instead of a twin room. This was promptly amended. We were very pleased with how clean and modern the hotel was. The breakfast in the morning was a continental breakfast buffet and again we were pleased with that. The staff were all friendly and professional. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Rome as I think it is an excellent hotel and great value for money. It may not be in the centre but there is a bus stop at the top of the road that takes you to the metro. All in all about 45 minutes commuting time to get to the centre. Would I return to this hotel ? I would definitely return to this hotel and Rome. Thank you to all the staff at hotel artis. Keep up the good work !

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonmg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

I been guest to this hotel last week for 4 days ... The place is clean and nice maybe the breakfast is not the Best but for the value of money you pay it's more than ok maybe it s a bit to far from the central but you can easy get bus ant tube..... The staff is nice and friendly I will probably come back

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronale86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
3.0 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
6.4 mi away
Warmthotel
Warmthotel
#191 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
7.9 mi away
Occidental Aurelia
Occidental Aurelia
#240 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#433 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 929 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Poggioverde
Hotel Poggioverde
#112 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
9.1 mi away
Black Hotel
Black Hotel
#605 of 1,291 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artis

Property: Hotel Artis
Address: Via Roberto Fancelli 3, 00169 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #371 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artis 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Lastminute, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Artis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing