We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the location doesn`t bother you, its a great place to stay.”
Review of Hotel Artis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Artis
Ranked #450 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 11 May 2014

If the location doesn`t bother you, its a great place to stay.
Clean, modern,Comfy beds, friendly staff that speak good english and are very helpful.
Good maid service. {Although a bit early at 7am, not much chance of a lie in}.
Bar at hotel a bit on the small side.
Basic continental breakfast, but lots of it.
Supermarket right next door.
Great restaurant less than a 10 min walk from hotel.
English themed bar and restaurant less than a 15 min walk.
Local market, pizzeria, chemist etc

True the hotel is situated in a residential area with rubbish strewn streets, but we were out and about at all times of the day and night {up until about 11pm} and we never saw anyone else walking the streets.

Its a bus and metro journey to the centre of Rome and takes about 40 mins in total.
It can be a bit of a pain with the crowds.
But you pays your money, you takes your chances.
Its either a great hotel at a good price with a journey to Rome centre or a noisy, rubbish hotel thats expensive in the centre of Rome.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the sides of the building, we were told rooms on the front are noisy from guests a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

153 - 159 of 666 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is clean and fresh and well kept
Everyone moans about the location of the hotel compared to the centre of rome.. Well if you read it BEFORE you go, might help you out a little..
The 558 bus served us well and got us to the metro everyday with no problem
Approx 30-40 mins from hotel to central rome
Travel cards for three days are just 16.50
The breakfast at the hotel was standard cereal eggs ham, usual european breakfasts.
The staff are very friendly and will help you with anything you need
Perfect little gem we both thoroughly enjoyed our stay, thank you artis!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DibDab1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My wife and I decided to make a stop in Rome before traveling to Spain and after staying a few days in Florence. We got in the train from Florence to Rome and tried to book a hotel while in the train but it didn't work as the Wi-Fi in the train was very slow. When we got to Rome we found a reliable Wi-Fi spot and started to search for hotels. The Hotel Artis showed up in our search as a hotel with good reviews and not too expensive... the description also mentioned that Rome city center was within a bus and train ride which didn't sound too bad for us. However, when we got to the hotel the first thing we noticed was the surroundings, it seems like a quiet area but it is definitely not what you have in mind while visiting Rome.

This hotel might be perfect for business travelers or people visiting family but if you came to Rome to visit the city center and all of its wonders this is not the place for you in my opinion. There are a few restaurants close by but it is not the Rome you expect, this is a residential area and not a very charming one. The bus ride to the train station is close to 30 minutes and the train station you get to is another 20 minutes or so - it is FAR and there is definitely not possibility to walk to any of Rome's attractions from it.

The hotel itself is very clean and has a minimalistic look. Its contemporary style is nice and the rooms are of good size. The free Wi-Fi was very reliable in our room (first floor above the reception area) and the staff was polite and friendly. We originally booked this hotel for 3 nights but ended up staying only one night as this was not the hotel we have hoped for. We did found a hotel within Rome's city center the very next day and moved there for the rest of our stay in Rome.

Room Tip: We stayed in room on the first floor above reception area and the Wi-Fi connection was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ricardodsanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiodab, Direttore at Hotel Artis, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you so much for your kind review.
We know that, at the moment, it's a little bit difficult reach the city center in less than 30 minutes but we would like to inform you that a new metro line will be available from this August. Closest stop will be just 200 meters far away from here and you can reach the city center in 15/20 minutes.
Looking forward to have you soon here for your next stay in rome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Just returned from a 4 night break at this hotel. On arrival the staff were very helpful, polite and friendly, and also spoke very good English. Unfortunately, we did not know that the restaurant was not open at weekends, but managed to find La Villeta about a 10 minute walk away. This restaurant is in a very unlikely location being tucked away off the beaten track, but the food was excellent, and the manager (and chef) was very friendly, We didn't actually eat in the hotel restaurant during the evenings for the rest of our stay as we wanted to visit as many places as possible while we were there, and did not get back to the hotel until quite late. The hotel itself was spotlessly clean, with lovely white towels and clean bedding every day. It was a good continental style breakfast, which was more than adequate with a wide selection of food available, including cereals for those who don't like meat and cheese for breakfast! Coffee was available from a machine, and it was good quality coffee too.

In respect of the location of the hotel, yes it is in a fairly poor area, but we knew that before we visited (check out trip advisor before you go!). We had no problems using public transport, and were given good directions by the hotel staff.

Our room was on the ground floor (room 15) and yes there was a bit of noise, but nothing too excessive. It's a hotel when all said and done, and you have to expect a certain amount of noise.

The only suggestion I can think of to improve this hotel would be if there was tea/coffee making facilities in the rooms.

In summary, excellent hotel, but do your own homework about the location and don't whinge about it if you haven't checked it out first - it's your own fault!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This hotel was very basic and in the worst possible location. Unfortunately you need to get both a bus and a train to reach Rome city center. The hotel facilities where non existent and the staff where not overly helpful. However, although basic the hotel was clean and the rooms where nice.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kara760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiodab, Direttore at Hotel Artis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment!
Unfortunately the location is a factor over which we can not intervene. We are glad, however, that it was you who choose, of your own free will!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

A girlfriend and I stayed here last weekend after receiving a recommendation from an acquanitence but we should have done our research. The hotel itself is located about a 40 minute + commute into Rome centre and that involves walking from the hotel to a bus stop, taking a local bus about 20-30 minutes to the underground station depending on traffic and then taking the underground to the centre of Rome. The closest underground station is Subaugusta and is the 2nd to last station on the line so it's a VERY long way out. The area the hotel is in itself felt really unsafe for two girls travelling on their own but then we bumped into a husband and wife who also said they felt really unsafe here. There is literally nothing around, one small supermarket next door (the staff were lovely and opened our bottle of wine for us each night yay that kept us sane) and apparently there was a restaurant near by which we never found and that's about it. We felt so unsafe out here that we didn't want to return or do the commute after sundown so each day we would return to the hotel around 6pm.

The only thing the hotel had going for itself was it's cleanliness - this I cannot fault however what I would like people to be aware of is:
The onsite restaurant is not open on the weekends. So as I have mentioned there was nothing around the hotel so when we returned on Sunday evening the supermarket was closed and there was no where else to get dinner from much to our disappointment.
To get onto the bus you need to buy a ticket (obviously) however you cannot buy this on the bus just from the train station or from some Tobacco stores. Each day a new staff member would say that they normally sold them at the reception of the hotel but that they were "finished" and would have some tomorrow however they never had them at reception. One staff member even told us you could only buy them from the train station as you had to sign for them which was an absolute lie since we had got them from the train station from the ticket machine easily. So I would suggest you buy up at the train station how many day passes you need for your time there and then validate one each day.
It appears the hotel is a fantastic place for tour buses to stop for the night as every night like clockwork at 9pm for the next 3 hours it would sound like renovations were happening as there is no carpet in the hotel so a bus would arrive full of tourists at 9pm, they would then wheel there bags up and down the hallway, in and out of the rooms, moves chairs around and strike up conversations across the hallway and keep everyone awake. Then this would kick off again from around 5am as they would wake up and pack up to head off on the bus again anytime between 7-8am. So very little sleep was had in with the paper thin walls.

FYI aswell when we arrived from the airport we took the train into Termini (14 euros) and then got a taxi to the hotel as we didn't feel safe catching the local bus at 10pm at night. The taxi cost about 30 euros from Termini to the hotel and he struggled to find it either.

All in all it was just a terrible experience staying here and I wish I had done my research more.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiodab, Direttore at Hotel Artis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment , even if we consider it unfair.
You said that the hotel is clean and lovely staff so why you give us 1 of 5 ?
Why is that the area where the hotel is located is dangerous ? This is incorrect because it is absolutely quiet, much of the city center .
Because our restaurant is only open until Thursday, and there are no other restaurant in the area? This is incorrect because there are 2 restaurants within walking distance and many more using a taxi.
The only aspect on which we feel we owe you an apology is the noise caused by other guests , however, little educated who do not think that in a hotel there are other people who usually sleep .
We very much agree instead on the fact that maybe next time you should take care of personally search the hotel for you .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel, the reception staff were very helpful and speak good English. We got to our room in no time. However we were a bit surprised to be on the ground floor (room 24). The room was very clean and modern, although the tiled flooring throughout the whole room was a bit cold on our feet. The hotel advertises free wifi, which is correct. However, being in one of the furthest rooms away from reception, we struggled to connect to the internet in our room. For best connection we had to go in the bathroom. We had a comfortable nights sleep after a long day travelling. However, upon waking up and craving a coffee, we realised that there were no tea or coffee making facilities in our room. This wasn't really an issue as breakfast was included in our stay so went downstairs to the breakfast room. Don't expect to be presented with a full english breakfast. It was simply continental breakfast, which just about satisfied us. There was a small selection of pastries (croissants, pan au chocolat etc) some cake, cereal, canned fruit, yogurt, ham, cheese, and two hot dishes filled with fried egg and frankfurters.

The reception staff were very helpful in telling us how to get into the centre of rome, drawing directions to the nearest bus stop on a map they have on the desk (less than 5 minute walk). Don't be fooled by the metro map on the back which falsely advertises an additional green line, which isn't in operation yet (opens 2015). So in order to get to the centre of Rome we had to catch the number 558 bus, get off at Subaugusta, and catch the metro from there. This took about 40 mins altogether give or take. You can get a travel card in the metro station which is very good value for money if you are on a city break. You get 3 days unlimited rides on the metro and buses all for €16.

When we arrived back at the hotel after a long day in Rome we noticed that there is a supermarket right next door! This was very convenient for buying bottles of water and snacks for the evening. When it comes to dining in the evening, unless you want to eat at the hotel or while in the centre of Rome, there is only really one restaurant in the close proximity of the hotel. So we ended up eating at a Pizzeria called La Carovana Pazza every single night. I have to say the food was delicious, and would highly recommend eating here. However, you will need to book a reservation on weekends. The lack of choice for dining in the area however was disappointing.

On our second night back at the hotel we were able to explore the television channels a bit more in the room, and I'm afraid there are only 2 or 3 channels with English programs on. On the plus side these channels played pretty decent movies most of the time, so perfect for evening television.

One of the biggest downers for us were the paper thin walls in the hotel! So don't expect to get a lie in in the morning. If it's not people slamming doors, it's the cleaners moving furniture about and hoovering. You can even hear some people talking in the rooms above. The tiled flooring doesn't help either as anyone in high heels will also be heard walking around.

Upon leaving we had to pay £9 each tourist tax, so don't forget to budget for this.

All in all the hotel was fine for what we wanted it for. If you want somewhere clean and modern this is definitely a good choice and good value for money. However if we were to go to rome again we would definitely choose a hotel that is more central, even if this means paying a bit more.

Room Tip: The closer to reception the better, as wifi connection is weak the further away you are. Also, top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellychafe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fabiodab, Direttore at Hotel Artis, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Dear Customer,
Thank you for your comment.
We are very sorry for the noise caused by other guests who do not think that little educated in a hotel there are other people who usually sleep.
You would, however, point out the problem and we proceeded to make a room change to a plan almo, much more peaceful and quiet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
3.0 mi away
Domidea Hotel
Domidea Hotel
#215 of 1,269 in Rome
656 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
Alba Hotel Torre Maura
#1,035 of 1,269 in Rome
301 reviews
8.6 mi away
Raganelli Hotel
Raganelli Hotel
#392 of 1,269 in Rome
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Pineta Palace
Hotel Pineta Palace
#454 of 1,269 in Rome
1,053 reviews
5.4 mi away
ARS Hotel
ARS Hotel
#440 of 1,269 in Rome
622 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel degli Imperatori
Hotel degli Imperatori
#617 of 1,269 in Rome
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Artis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Artis

Address: Via Roberto Fancelli 3, 00169 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #450 of 1,269 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £46 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Artis 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Artis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing