We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner in a cozy location”

Osteria del Sostegno
Ranked #227 of 12,359 Restaurants in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Colonna
Description: phone +39 06 679 38 42
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a cozy location”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We found this gem because we are literally staying just above it in a tiny apartment, so after checking some of the other reviews we decided to give it a try. Glad we did because it was fantastic - great food, attentive service, and a cozy feeling. The carbonara is the best we've had so far in Italy but all of the dishes we had were great. A good mix of locals and tourists and very reasonable pricing as well.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    517
    240
    74
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Carbonara I've Ever Had”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We ate here our first night in Rome and it was the perfect way to start our vacation. Even though it's right in the center of the city it's hidden in this quiet little alley away from the crazy crowds. We sat outside and loved the atmosphere. The service was also really nice. We didn't order a starter and our waitress brought us bruschetta on the house because she wanted us to have a starter which was just really cool. The pasta was amazing. We ordered the tagliolini all tartufo and the carbonara and they were a revelation. I've never had carbonara like that anywhere else. Seemed pretty popular locally as well since there were lots of Italians dining the night we were there. Just a perfect dinner all around. Highly recommend. We called ahead for a reservation and asked to sit outside and that worked out wonderfully.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank from-madison-wi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“You can't leave Rome without eating their Tagliolini with black truffle”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I've been in this restaurant 6 or 7 times, and it's one of my musts everytime I go to Rome. I've been there with my husband and also with my family, in a bigger table. The place is not big, so it's better to book a table. Their tagliolini all tartufo are unforgettable. I like the ambiance too. Despite being in the very center of Rome, it's not touristic, and the place is crowded with romans. It has a political flair too (the Senate is very close). The waiters are very nice and try to make you feel confortable all the time. And on top of all that... ask for the tiramisú. You will never regret!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellersamanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We went twice on our visit because we loved it so much the first time. And the second visit didn't disappoint. The food is simple but incredibly delicious. And the service is excellent. Our waitress cares about her work and it shows. I'm looking forward to going back to Rome for another visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globtrekr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“need a tasty lunch break near the Panteon ?”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stop at Osteria del Sostegno
Hidden in a hidden cul de sac near the Panteon where only a small tratoria sign tell you about it
A small place, a bit cramped with tables, but also with romans, who enjoy, just as you can do , the great pasta dishes, and excellent salads . Not to mention the desserts ( delicious zabayone ice cream )
Decor is simple and nice, and service impecable .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank naza2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Osteria del Sostegno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing