We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“impressive” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore

Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore
Book In Advance
More Info
US$42.81*
and up
Churches of Rome Small-Group Tour: Saint Mary Mayor, Santa Pudenziana and Saint...
Ranked #5 of 1,455 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: One of seven pilgrimage basilicas in the world, this church was founded in 432 AD and is where the famous architect Bernini is buried.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“impressive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very beautiful and for 12 euros good value for money to see the museum, crypt and basilica. Reached it from the hop on hop off bus which was really good.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargW1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,000 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,254
    2,384
    326
    25
    11
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

I love this church, it is my favourite in Rome, the paintings and monuments in the cathederal are stunning, I will certainly be back on my next visit to Rome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Den-Ern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Inspirational !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A beautiful basilica not far from our hotel. Not as crowded !along it a !ore serene experience. I happened to visit as the cardinal celebrated mass.

If you ever encounter such a situation, I highly recommend taking a deep breath, discard your tourist cap, and soak up the experience. It is truly a soul calming experience. You will exit the basilica rejuvenated.

Helpful?
1 Thank benHusa
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
North Branford, CT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

A magnificent church that can only be found in Italy. This 5th century church is one of the oldest and most beautiful in all of Italy. A free attraction that is easy to get to and easy to see.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank fatic11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubrovnik, Croatia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“roma ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

It was really nice, jou should just be aware of what are you wearing..we went in summer time,july,and we werent covered...so ee had to buy scarfs, just make sure your legs and shoulders are covered. Great experience.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank monika n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore also viewed

 

Been to Basilica di Santa Maria Maggiore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing