We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Joy to See”

San Pietro in Vincoli
Book In Advance
More Info
US$66.16*
and up
Imperial Rome Afternoon Tour
Ranked #25 of 1,498 things to do in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 5th-century church features Michelangelo's sculpture of Moses that adorns the incomplete tomb of Pope Julius II.
Salisbury, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Joy to See”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We came here to see Michelangelo's Moses. There was no fee. The sculpture was amazing but the church had so much more to offer. The art work, the altar and frescoes were amazing. The colors were bright on the frescoes and unlike many other places the church was not over crowded.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank MargotDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,117
    1,276
    212
    16
    9
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Castlewellan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and unassuming”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

One of the most beautiful churches in Rome. We enjoyed our visit to San Pietro in Vincoli. Don't be fooled by the outside it is very unassuming.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
915 reviews
587 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 432 helpful votes
“Moses a Must”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

A bit out of the way, this unpretentious church houses Michaelangelo's great Moses. The statue is chiseled glory. Walk from side to side to see various angles. Go early to avoid the tour buses. The church itself is barren and uninteresting save for the chains that bound St. Peter. You can no longer get a close up view.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank dmittleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
229 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Worth the effort”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This church was very difficult to find for us pedestrians. I was told it was at a stoplight and across from a bank, if going by Cavour Street. Well, you have to walk halfway down the block, where you'll see some stairs (there are no signs). When we were there, lots of other people were going up and down the stairs, so it gave us an idea that we were at the right place. At the top, after going through an underpass, you'll see the church on the left---with more stairs to get into it.
The church was ornate and peaceful, and the big block of 7 statues in the Moses grouping was at the front of the church on the right. It was worth seeing, as one of Michelangelo's main works.
Just be forewarned that getting a taxi from here to go anywhere else is pretty difficult. We had to walk back down the steps, and even then we had to get someone to call us a taxi. But it really is worth the effort.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TwinMomAlabama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth a Visit”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Not easy to get to, a large flight of stairs from the road, though a longer route will take you in by road. It does shut around 2 for an hour, so check. An unassuming building, but as most of Rome, surprises around every corner. The Chains of St Peter, and to the right MichaelAngelos Moses. learn the story of why Moses has Horns, and not Sun Rays. The only naff thing is you have to put a coin in to light up Moses. Don't worry someone else will always do it for you. So glad I saw this Church.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to San Pietro in Vincoli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing