We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad ambience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Residenza dell'Angelo
Ranked #1,019 of 3,620 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Bad ambience.”
Reviewed 20 January 2013

People who run this business have obviously another business, they don't really care about customers which makes a not comfortable ambience. Rooms where not very clean, the blanket has not been cleaned in ages. Part of the sink fell on my feet and when I informed the lady that cleans, the owners (or people that behave as if they were owners) came with a rude attitude into the room. They entered without asking for permission to entry. Breakfast was poor.

Room Tip: Before paying, check that your room is clean and everything functions ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eugeniademexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    35
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
26
53
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We stayed at the B and B on two occasions the first was for 4 nights when we arrived from Canada. The room was small but well put together and we had no issues with the internet hook up. The location is excellent for old Rome with a lot of the Roma sites well within walking distance. The area of Roma was very safe and a lot of fun walking around in the evening trying to decide where to eat. we agree that a small bar fridge in each of the rooms would be great. The beds were very comfortable and the summer heat had already subsided. Carlo was quite accommodating with a few requests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yukontravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The main problem with this 150Euro a night Bed & Breakfast was there was no receptionist or staff person in residence. A person named Carlo met us when we arrived, showed us the room, gave us keys, and left. There were 3 rooms for different residents (all on the 2nd floor) and on the first day the lock of the door to those rooms malfunctioned. It was not fixed for 4 days. Meanwhile we had to get help from strangers in a nearby building to get in and out. Breakfast was farmed-out to a nearby restaurant for which we were provided tickets. There was no phone. The room was cleaned each day by a lady from elsewhere who spoke no English. We were booked for 7 nights and before we departed for the airport Carlo appeared (first time since we arrived) so we could pay our bill. Not a place I would recommend.

Room Tip: I don't know about the other rooms. I think they were mostly unoccupied. Our bedroom was small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norman97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ResidenzadellAngelo, Proprietario at La Residenza dell'Angelo, responded to this review, 19 June 2013
Dear guest,
thank for your review; any costumer which express its opinion helps us to provide our guests a better service for the time being.
We are really sorry for your decision not to recommend our structure; in any case, in order to clarify some of the aspects which might have not been taken into your account, we would like to point out the following.
First of all, let us note that no mention to telephone sets in the rooms is ever made in the ads or through the reservation channels. We are sorry for the misunderstanding.
As for the presence of the staff at the B&B, please consider that the very notion of such category does not imply the presence of personnel 24 hours a day. In any case, in order to provide our guests with the best service available, the managers of the Residenza dell’Angelo are reachable via mobile phone (i.e. through calls, sms and e-mails) at any hour of the day. Moreover, the cleaning service personnel speaks English and can help our guests, if necessary, to get in touch the staff. Furthermore, please note that, during the day, the staff takes care always to ensure the presence of at least one of its members in the vicinities of the structure itself: in case of need, the guests shall have prompt assistance on a very short notice.
Please let us add that the problems with the room key were promptly resolved; moreover, especially in the light of the above, it cannot be argued that none of the difficulties you complained about (for example, the organization of the check-out) would have arisen had you had with you, as usual nowadays, a mobile phone to contact the staff.
Thanks once again for your stay and for letting us know what can be improved in our structure; we surely will take into account all of your precious considerations.
Kind regards
La Residenza dell’Angelo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin, ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Myself and two friends stayed here in June and could not have been happier with our choice. It is in a quiet street in an old traditional building but the rooms are modern, bright and clean. Alessandro and Carlo are fantastic hosts, very friendly and helpful but leave you to your own devices.

The rooms were large, we had 2 connecting rooms (was a suite that they turned into a triple very easily) and a decent sized modern bathroom. You have your own key to the front door and just come and go as you please. The Vatican and Piazza Navona are within a few minutes walk. There is a lovely little restaurant next door also if you fancy a late night glass of wine before retiring.

I cant really say much more about it, the rooms were perfect, the owners lovely and helpful (let us use the room up till 5pm on our last day and ordered us a private car to the airport) and the location is spot on and all for an extremely reasonable price. Breakfast (continental) is also included in the little cafe around the corner.

Would not hesitate to recommend this and will be staying here again when we return to Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank halfpint08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012

The Residenzza dell'Angelo is a wonderful propery in the middle of Rome. When we pulled up to the building I must admit I was skeptical as its not in the most beautiful street but the inside is really beautiful. Nice comfortable modern furnishings, good AC in the room too. The service is outstanding and what sets this place apart. The owners were available and quite helpful. We arrived earlier than expected and they promptly came and let us in (there is no full time welcome desk but they are very reachable by cell phone). They also helped us when in the morning we could not find a parking attendant at the parking across the street to get our car out, they managed to get a hold of someone very quickly saving our reservations for a museum. The parking across the street is a bit pricy (40 eur) but has the advantage of being located just outside of the limited traffic zone of Rome so you don't have to drive into the city and risk getting a big fine. Our room price included a breakfast at the café around the corner which was delicous and filling. The price we paid was a great value. I would highly highly recommend staying here if you are looking for something centrally located but yet on a calm street and are comfortable having an independent room and don't need full hotel amenities.

Room Tip: We had the room for 4 people and it was very large and roomy (it was more like two rooms split by a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NA294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Totnes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

A touch of old Rome in the Centro Storico near Navona, the Pantheon and a short walk to the Vatican. Very helpful and friendly service. Smart clean rooms in an old Roman town house.

Just needs a small fridge to be perfect as it was very hot in August and we would have liked to keep our drinks cold.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterctotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Carlo a very nice young man, one of the owners corresponded with me from booking to arrival and greeted us once we arrived and saw us into the room and settled. The room had comfortable beds and an extra folding bed brought in was also fairly comfortable. The decor was neutral which more hoteliers should embrace and had good air conditioning which was needed as Rome was hot during our stay. The bathroom was good and overall the space felt homey. Since the walls are over a foot thick and solid it was quiet but that also limited the wifi and my girls settled in the hallway between the bath and bed on chairs to get good connections. I found Rome to be a difficult city to book a hotel in and would certainly stay here again but a few touches to the room would add greatly to the comforts of future guests. A small cafe table, seating for four and a small hot water pot and cups for tea would have made the stay more enjoyable. Another aside would be for hosts to have a list of needed traveller wants, cleaners, groceries, etc. since most correspond by email it could just be an attachment. Rome is amazing and the location of the hotel was perfect for walking to everything we wanted to see in a fairly short three days. It is closest to the river and Castel Sant Angelo and the Vatican, but we walked within a half hour to the ruins.

Room Tip: We had the gold toned room from the pictures online - quiet even though it faced street ...One floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CalaX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Relais Palazzo Taverna
Relais Palazzo Taverna
#441 of 1,257 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Ponte
Domizia Sancti Angeli
Domizia Sancti Angeli
#2,393 of 3,620 in Rome
3.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
B&B All'Orologio
B&B All'Orologio
#599 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Ponte Sant'Angelo
Residenza Ponte Sant'Angelo
#684 of 3,620 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa De' Fiori
Casa De' Fiori
#311 of 1,070 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Angel's House
Angel's House
#352 of 1,070 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Residenza dell'Angelo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Residenza dell'Angelo

Property: La Residenza dell'Angelo
Address: Via Paola N. 46, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori , Ponte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,019 of 3,620 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — La Residenza dell'Angelo 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Residenza dell'Angelo" is a charming and elegant Bed & Breakfast opened in October 2010.Located in the heart of Rome, in the historic and quiet Via Paola, is on the first floor of a prestigious XIXth century building. The property is located 190 meters from the Castel Sant'Angelo, 400 meters from St. Peter and 500 mt from the most beautiful City's squares: Piazza Navona, Piazza del Pantheon, and Piazza Campo de Fiori. Is also 900 meters from the world most famous shopping streets: Via del Corso and Via Condotti, which will lead you to the magnificent Piazza di Spagna.Wooden floors and high ceilings provide the right at ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your La Residenza dell'Angelo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing