We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must stay while in Rome...great value and location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome
Ranked #144 of 3,688 Rome B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A must stay while in Rome...great value and location!”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

My wife and I stayed there in June, what a unbelievable stay we had. Marco and Emiliano make you feel like family and are fantastic hosts! They helped us with bookings and will do anything they can to improve your stay. I recommend this hotel to all my friends and family! This is truly a must stay, do not look anywhere else!!! Just an added bonus, Locanda del Sole has the best cappuccino in the world!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bestbgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    238
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
171
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

My husband and I spent the first two nights of our stay in Italy at Locanda del Sole. Before even arriving at the B&B, I knew we made the right choice. I sent a number of emails with questions, and Marco (one of the owners) responded to each one kindly and with detail! Upon arrival, we were greeted by Pierluigi (the other owner) who immediately took our bags and brought us to the quaint dining area to make us an espresso and cappuccino.

Overall, the service was fantastic. With only three rooms in the B&B, the amount of guests is never excessive, so everything really is personalized. Marco and Pierluigi are attentive to the needs of their guests - even leaving a bouquet of roses on our bed for our anniversary. Emiliano was also wonderful - making cappuccinos and engaging in lovely conversation each morning at breakfast.

Overall, the highlights of Locanda del Sole:
- Phenomenal service

- An incredible location. A few blocks from Piazza Navona and the Pantheon and a short walk to the Spanish Steps and Trevi fountain. We also walked to both the Colosseum and Vatican in about 30 minutes. There is also a 24 hour bakery/pizzeria a 1 minute walk away.

- Beautiful rooms. We stayed in the Berger Suite and were beyond happy. A good size, incredible washroom, and large windows which open up to the street below and make you feel as though you are part of the city.

- Pick-up/Drop-off at the airport (50 Euros each way). This is incredibly convenient. Especially considering that when you get out of the airport, it is quite chaotic. It's nice to have someone waiting at your gate holding a sign with your name!

Overall, the only downside to our stay was that it wasn't long enough!

Thank you Marco, Pierluigi, and Emiliano for starting our trip in Italy off in the best possible way. We hope to see you again soon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoneXploring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I continue to appreciate how great this location is in Rome.... To great sites, Parks, shopping and restaurants. Given we tend to make quick trips to Roma, we love this location to be able to see our favorite places + finding new treasures. The rooms are big for Roma and ammenties are sweet... From mini bar to little italian candies to toiletries. Their breakfast that is included is always fresh and includes Italian favorite of homemade cakes/sweets and their coffees are always yummy and just what you need to start your day. The service is always personal and amazing.... These guys know how to do it right in Roma! This time we even locked our keys in a room and they came back after hours to help... Quickly. This is the main reason to stay here. We will see you next year, beautiful Locanda Del Sole!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucianaramsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in the Locanda del Sole for a few nights while in Rome.

What we liked:
The rooms are all very stylishly designed -- makes you feel like you're staying at a trendy boutique hotel. The staff were excellent -- very eager to help and very personal w/ their approach. Breakfast was fantastic -- from the excellent coffee to the divine home made cakes. The hotel's location is very central -- many sites are 15 mins away (Pantheon, Piazza Novono, Trevi) while the furthest we had to walk was 30 mins (Colosseum, Vatican, Trastevere). Stocked minibar was very helpful too

What we didnt like:
Not much to say here. We did get a lot of noise from other people entering and leaving the building as there are a couple of gates to exit that bang when the doors close. Our air conditioner was also a little weak

I would warn that this B&B is ~3 rooms in a building occupied by other other units for other residents / businesses. So it definitely does not have the feel of a hotel as you're literally mixed in w/ other locals in the same building. So maybe not perfect for those w/ kids, seeking privacy, or worried about security. We didnt have these concerns, but could be a shock to others as they walk in

Overall, very happy with our stay. And very touched by the personalized treatment and warmth of the staff

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Omar I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 July 2013

B&B is situated at city centre. 20-30 mins walk to vatican city and also to colosseum. 10 mins walk to spanish steps and fountain. B&B has nicely decorated room. Very clean and spacious. We were given butterfly room. Great room! Service is excellent! Their cappuccino is great!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lavenderscent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

This wonderful little establishment in Rome offers impeccable service, comfort & care. We felt utterly pampered by the owners who are not at all intrusive but available to help in any way. It's in a historic building so the entry is a bit dark but once inside it is light and airy with a free minibar! There is no lift but the owners carry your luggage up & down for you. Linen is changed daily. A bottle of wine & chocolates are free in your room to welcome you. Breakfast is typically continental with very delicious sweet things as well as the cheese, ham & prosciutto tray & rolls. We loved it all & highly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robyncoolum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were greeted by a bunch of roses and flower petals around the basin, as well as a bottle of wine in the room - which added to the delight as the room (and bathroom) itself was decorated in a well thought out, high quality designer way. We particularly loved the textured wallpaper.

The lovely guys who run this beautiful place were really helpful, and ever on hand to give us advice and make delicious fresh espresso and cappucinos! They always had a smile and friendly attitude. Definitely the nicest people we've ever encountered running a hotel or B&B.

There was a good selection of pastries, bread, meat, cheese, yogurt, juices etc for breakfast, including fresh homemade cake!

The mini bar is also free/complimentary and included a bottle of prosecco perfect for 2 glasses.

There's Sky on the TV but we didn't even turn it on, as this place is 5-10 minutes from most of the major tourist sites and only about 20 - 25 mins from the Vatican, with various little cafes nearby.

If we go back to Rome, we wouldn't stay anywhere else. Our first night in Rome, we'd stayed in a 4* hotel near the Vatican and the service was cursory, breakfast bland, and the experience didn't hold a candle to our experience at Locanda del Sole.

Room Tip: Recommend getting their suite (think it was called the Berger room), as it's really lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Adriano
Hotel Adriano
#177 of 1,261 in Rome
1,445 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Assunta Domus
Assunta Domus
#47 of 3,688 in Rome
171 reviews
Colonna
Relais Maddalena
Relais Maddalena
#98 of 3,688 in Rome
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Splendor Suite Rome
Splendor Suite Rome
#49 of 3,688 in Rome
363 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Casa de'Coronari - Design Rooms Library
Campo Marzio
Mood 44
Mood 44
#1 of 1,115 in Rome
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome

Property: Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome
Address: Via della Scrofa 10, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 3,688 B&Bs / Inns in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The "Locanda del Sole" is an inviting luxury B&B in Rome's historic centre boasting an idyllic setting in the famous Rione Campo Marzio district. Guests on a romantic break in Rome will receive a warm welcome, where lived Jose Carlos Mariategui, a famous Peruvian thinker and essayist, in a characteristic 19th century building on Via della Scrofa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Locanda del Sole Luxury Suite Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Del Sole Luxury Bed And Breakfast
Locanda Del Sole Luxury Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing