We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just a bus ride from the centre”
Review of Occidental Aurelia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Occidental Aurelia
Ranked #209 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We have just got back from Rome, staying at the ESH. The hotel was very clean, the bed was big and comfortable, it was a bit tight between the tv stand and the end of the bed, but not a small room, the towels and showergel etc was refilled daily. the staff were very helpful, they gave us a map on check in and told us where to get bus tickets (tobacos) and that the pick up bus stop for central Rome was on the opposite side of the road and drop off by the hotel entrance.
We ate in the hotel the first night, they have a special 3 course with 1/2 bottle wine and a bottle of water for 25 euros or Pizza, starter and a soft drink 20 euros, so not expensive. On the whole I would recommend the hotel, it was quiet, clean and we had a good experience, however you have to travel to get to the sights or restsurants so not for everybody. We would go back to this hotel and met a few people that were on their 2nd or 3rd visit. The hotel has a 'quiet' policy after 10pm. We spoke to a couple who had a problem with a party in the next room, Austrian bankers and reception sorted it out very quickly

Room Tip: Any problems and they will move you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chocolatwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

576 - 582 of 1,162 reviews

Reviewed 17 November 2013

the hotel is very clean, we were in a triple room and the room was spacious and overlooking the garden on the first floor. the reception is opened 24/7 and there's free wifi. their breakfast was good not a lot of variety but still delicious. to get to the hotel could be messy the first time so when you reach Termini station take the red line in the subway direction of Battistini and get off at cornelia station then it's a 10 minute walk from there and there's an elevator in the subway for your luggage no worries there. by bus it's more of a hassle you take the 40 bus which is always super crowded then get off at vittro emanule and take 98 or 889 which will drop you in front of the hotel the bus station is called torre rossa.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Doaa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2013

The hotel is clean and well appointed. Right on the bus route to St Peter's Basillica (98 and 881 stop just outside the hotel coming back but a short walk to the stop on the other side of the road going to Vatican City) be aware that you need a travel ticket from a tabac, you can't pay on the bus.

The hotel has a bar in the lobby where a limited amount of snacks are available and a restaurant on the top floor open for breakfast then dinner from 19.00. The pizzas are delicious!

WiFi is free and available in all the rooms but in limited places in the rest of the hotel. The staff are very helpful in all situations and the hotel has a pad full of maps showing all the spots people want to visit when in Rome and where they are in elation to the hotel.

We bought three day Omnia Rome cards for €90 from the internet, I would most certainly recommend getting one of these, a travel pass for the buses is included in the pack. The ESH is the perfect set off point for everywhere you can use the passes.

The hotel can organise a car to the airport and you can pay before setting off, it's hassle free and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Me and my husband have just spent a lovely 5 days holiday in Rome and were absolutely charmed by this hotel. It's located 1km away from the Vatican city, in a very decent area. Buses 881 and 89 stop just in front of the hotel, so you are in the city center in about 20min (San Piedro church) or 30min (Paola station, near Vittorio Emanuelle bridge). The rooms and bathrooms are very nice and spotless clean - and I am a maniac on this, trust me - the matresses and pillows are extremely comfortable and the breakfast is very good, fresh and tasty. It was a real pleasure returning to the room each evening, after tens of kilometers walked into the beautiful Rome. When we return to Rome we will definitely stay at ESH hotel again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Andreea U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Don't normally write reviews however if you are planning to visit Rome I would definitely recommend this hotel. Rooms are spotless and modern, staff are friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast has enough variety to please most people! The only improvement the hotel could do with is the facility of tea/coffee in your room. Location is spot on too, buses run regularly to the centre of Rome and only 1.50 Euro. Stay here!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Huskyjanet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Spotlessly clean hotel with very friendly staff. Breakfast is plentiful but I would not recommend eating at the Restaurant in the evening as the food is not very nice. Room is a good size, bed very comfortable and was very quiet. Metro is more like 15 minutes walk but not a problem apart from narrow pavement. When returning on the metro make sure you come out at the correct exit - there is a sign at the turnstile saying Via Aurelia - make sure you take this exit or you will not come out on the same one as you went in and it is easy to get confused.You can also get a 3 day tourist pass for the metro.

Room Tip: We were on 3rd floor and it was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALLYSON W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed in the ESH for 4 nights at the end of Oct 2013. Once we found our bearings we felt the hotel was in a good location. Juat a 10 min walk to the Metro station. You can either pay 1.50 euro each journey or 6 euros for a day pass. We paid the 1.50 each journey as once we got off in the centre of Rome somewhere, we walked around for the day and then just got on the metro at the nearest station to come back to the hotel. The walk from the hotel to the metro does mean using a very narrow pavement on the one side. However, unless you have young children or perhaps disabled people with you, then the pavement is fine as long as u take care. our hotel room was lovely. It was clean, modern and very comfortable. The bed was made and clean towels provided every day. Breakfast was really good, plenty of choice and the staff very friendly and helpful. In fact we couldn't have wished for a better hotel for our short break in Rome. To get to the airport on our return, we caught the metro near the hotel to Termini station where we walked from the metro to the train station (in the same area) and bought a ticket to the airport. The total cost of the metro and train was 15.50 euros each. The train only took half an hour to get to the airport from Termini station. The metro and the train system is very efficient and easy to use. As we only had a few days in Rome, we tended to have breakfast at the hotel and then stay out all day, have an evening meal near the city centre before returning to the hotel later. So there was no need to pack clothes for the evening. To get to the metro station you need to turn left when you get out of the hotel, follow the pavement up to the traffic lights, keep to the left and continue on until you pass a flower stall. You will need to cross the road near here and get to McDonalds on the corner. Follow the road to the right side of McDonalds and you will see the METRO sign a few hundred yards ahead of you with steps to take you down to the station. Easy :) . The metros seem to run very frequently so you never have to wait long for one to turn up. I will be recommending the Esh hotel to my friends and family and would be happy to return there in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Domidea Hotel
#216 of 1,268 in Rome
654 reviews
Hotel Pulitzer Roma
#115 of 1,268 in Rome
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Lorenzo
Dock Suites Hotel
Dock Suites Hotel
#231 of 1,268 in Rome
272 reviews
Ostiense
Caravel Hotel
Caravel Hotel
#156 of 1,268 in Rome
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental Aurelia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental Aurelia

Address: Via di Torre Rossa 80, 00165 Rome, Italy (Formerly Esh Executive Style Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 1,268 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £54 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Occidental Aurelia 4*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Barcelo, Expedia, Odigeo, Prestigia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Occidental Aurelia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing