We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shocked by the low reviews”
Review of Trattoria Ciao

Trattoria Ciao
Ranked #9,645 of 12,448 Restaurants in Rome
Cuisines: Italian
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Vatican / Borgo
1 review
“Shocked by the low reviews”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

Went in and wasn't expecting much as most reviews were poor.

However after dining here, we were quite impressed.

We ordered the spaghetti with clams dish first and after devouring it, we ordered a second.

Would definitely come back and would recommend this place.

Helpful?
Thank Ray .
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    76
    69
    44
    70
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kokkedal, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Poor quality food with lazy waiters”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Went there for lunch and got poorly prepared dishes prepared out of low quality ingredients. They did not even make their own pizzas - it was bakeoff and the filling completely tasteless. The waiters where constantly playing with their smartphones and was as good as impossible to wakeup. I dont believe that the other restaurants on Borgo Pio street is much better, but this restaurant is to avoid if you are going for well-prepared italian food.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmaschoreck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Probably the worst restaurant in Rome - better off buying a sandwich next door”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

Probably the worst food we have experienced in a long long long time - possibly ever. It was enough to put us off pizza for life. Order a pizza - choose anyone and get virtually the same pizza regardless of your order. Greasy, overcooked cardboard. The service was very slow, though the waiter was pleasant and nice. The toilets were pretty low grade. One of the options was a chilly sauce- which was so acidic it took the lining off the gums/back of the mouth of one of our party. Heaven knows what it consisted of. When we left this place we felt put off food for the rest of the day. Zero health benefits,zero taste satisfaction and expensive. How it scores four or five stars is beyond us, based on our experience. Choose somewhere else. Not good, not good...

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Boushka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We really liked it”
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We were surprised to see the fairly poor range of ratings for this restaurant. We found it to be very good value and we all (three of us) felt that it offered the best pizzas we tasted anywhere in Rome. We also liked this place because it was just about the only restaurant that did not spring any surprises on us when it came to the bill. (Compare this with another restaurant that charged us €1.50 per person for bread, which we had not asked for, and then put a 20% service charge on everything, including the bread!).

Pizza, dessert, carafe of house red, large bottle of water - all for three people - came in at under 40 euros. Staff were friendly and attentive without pestering.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Authoritis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
247 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Close to Vatican”
Reviewed 30 March 2013

Small but comfortable stop for lunch. Tables inside or out, nicely situated not to close together. Bottles of wine placed om each table, tables covered with traditional red check tablecloth. Frescoes and religious pictures on walls as well as statues along alcoves.
We stopped there for lunch as when we were wandering down the cobbled street we were approached and when we said we only wanted a snack we were told they did pannini's. We decided to try it out, ordered the pannini's and were served two crusty rolls each. Not really what we had expected. Otherwise a pleasant stop.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colgate50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trattoria Ciao also viewed

 

Been to Trattoria Ciao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing