We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment with great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lux Appartamenti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lux Appartamenti
Ranked #67 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great apartment with great hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

We stayed here for three nights and weren't disappointed.

The apartment was large and well laid out and fully self contained. There was a fantastic introduction by our hostess who gave us an excellent intro to the apartment and surrounding areas. The location seems a little out of the way of thing but its not too far to the metro, shorter if you get the bus to the station.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank timeforanotherbreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    56
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
99
44
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bettendorf, Iowa
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

We were generally pleased with our stay. With 6 people (2 adults 4 small children) it was a bit cramped. The shower was really small and quite ridiculous. The Staff is incredible, extremely helpful and gracious. The kitchen is well-stocked. Even with all the windows closed, we still heard the many trains coming and going. It is a decent location, but still a good walk to nearby Metro stations. Also, the Giant Ponta Maggiore Roundabout nearby is a nightmare to get around -- especially with small children. The apartment and building were immaculate and very secure. The price wasn't cheap but wasn't too expensive considering other prices in Rome. All in all a very positive experience despite the few issues mentioned above.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank esfesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Egham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I would thoroughly recommend a stay at the Lux Apts. The apartment was spacious and well equipped. The location is approx. 20 mins walk from the Termini but there are frequent tram and bus connections both to the station and all points throughout the city. I cannot praise the wonderful Maria Laura highly enough, she has all the time in the world for you. She provides all the information regarding the apartment, the location, sites to visit, transportation and where to eat. Believe me, if Maria recommends it, it is worth doing. Even before your arrival she sends you really useful information but it went straight to junk so do check your Spam box. I have previously stayed in Rome in a significantly more expensive yet cramped hotel room, so for a family with teenage children this was ideal.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madaaaea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

Leaving Roma Termini, there is lots of graffiti around, but it is much better near Porta Maggiore which is where Lux Apps are located. Felt safe. Remember the landmark to easily locate this place is Bingo Palace. It is right next door to the building. Over 30 minutes walk from Roma Termini so make sure you check your junk mail folder for instructions from Lux App on how to get to this place by cab, tram or bus. I do not recommend walking. An email will be sent to you after you book. Read it! There is a 2-3% surcharge if you don't pay your balance in cash at arrival. Once they buzz you in, take the elevator up or walk up one floor to reception.

Place was clean and well-maintained, but shower is the tinyest I have ever used. Water pressure was good, but hot water tank small. Maria at reception was very helpful with directions, etc... Pensa & Boi restaurant is closeby & wonderful. We went twice! Getting places to sightsee was not so easy unless you got lucky on timing. We often walked the ten minutes from metro Manzoni or took cabs home as bus and tram times were unpredictable. Maybe due to Easter holiday.

Bring your own toiletries, regardless of what the website states. There was no shampoo. The only soap and toilet paper there is what the previous rentors likely left. Not enough to last the whole stay even though ours was only five days. At least the supermarket Dico was only a few mins walk away so you could stock up and they have wine & beer too!

It was great to have a washer/dryer though it takes hours to wash and dry. We would just load and go out for the day and it sometimes was still on when we got back! No coffeemaker so we just bought and used instant. Not ideal, but we made do.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaraL14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lux2007, General Manager at Lux Appartamenti, responded to this review, 8 September 2014
Thank you for your review, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay.
Ours are normal size showers, our boilers contain 100 lt of heated water and water heats up in 10 minutes. When you rent an apartment is well known that daily use goods are up to the clients, anyway our apartments are fully equipped, there is also an italian coffe maker. Everything you can find in the apartment is there because we've put it not because someone left it.
You have to be sure when you start the washer/dryer that you leave the key inside the device to let the power runs, otherwise the washer/dryer stops.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the lux apartments. Upon arrival Laura was very welcoming with information and tips. The apartment was great and comfortable for all four of us. The dishwasher and washing machine are a plus when travelling as a family. It is close to public transport which made it very easy to get around to the attractions.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013

We just spent one week here, traveling with our two children ages 12 and 5. Maria Laura and Paola at the reception area were waiting to greet us upon our arrival. As she recommended, we hired a private car to the apartment. Total cost was E45 for four people with small luggage.

The location makes you feel like you're living among the locals. Many good gelato, pastry and pizza places nearby. The best thing was the proximity to transportation. The #5 tram is at the end of the block, as you turn right out of the apartment. The number 571 bus was also nearby and the San Giovanni Metro stop was a short walk.

Maria Laura knows Rome inside and out and is very helpful with directions and recommendations. If you want to visit an certain attraction, she will know how to get there.

Regarding the apartment, it was very clean and well-maintained. Be forewarned - don't do laundry the day before you depart. The machine takes so long to wash and dry your clothes!!! I think it took roughly 8-9 hours to do a load and the clothes were still wet. It has a crazy lock in place so you cannot open the door until the load is completely finished. I never quite figured out how to work the machine, even after looking up directions on-line.

What to bring - you must provide your own facial/bath soap, shampoo, conditioner, etc. There are only two rolls of toilet paper so bring some extra rolls. We also brought some dishwasher detergent, a dish sponge, and liquid dish soap. I really wasn't able to find a shop that carried these small necessities. The kitchen only has salt, sugar and instant coffee. There is an electric tea kettle and panini maker.

If you like new adventures and exploring, you will love your stay in Rome and this apartment!

Room Tip: All rooms are on the first floor. Use the electric blinds to completely darken the room before bedt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tradewinds13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I just got back from a twelve-day stay at Lux Appartamenti, with four other people, two in each apartment and it was excellent from beginning to end. Maria and Jasmine provide a level of service and care that seems to be missing from most hotels. They provide you with honest, helpful service that makes getting around Rome easy. At first glance, it may seem a bit off the beaten path, but once you learn your way around, you'll be glad you aren't stuck in the never-ending maddness on the tourist zone. As a bonus, you'll get to walk around some of Rome's more ethnic districts. You'll find great, cheap shopping in many of the Chinatown shops, as well as all kinds of wonderful foods, from Indian to Ethiopian. I found the area to be perfectly safe, day or night. Public transportation is just minutes away at Porta Santa Maggorie. You can catch a safe and clean Taxi, several busses, or, my favorite option, either the #5 or the #14 Tram to the Vittorio Emmanual metro stop about a half mile away and the Metro system is at your disposal. The tram will also take you directly to the Termini. You can take the #3 tram to The Colloseum too, its great! Right next to the Apartments is a wonderful restaurant, specializing in Sardinian food and ultra-frest sea food. It's mid-range in price, but excellent. The apartments themselves we impeccably clean and well appointed with mostly, efficient IKEA furniture. Automatic blinds can be closed with the flick of a switch, sealing off your room from light and most sounds. All the appliances are new and work well and the kitchens are fully-stocked with nice dinnerware, pans and glassware, as well as a teapot, microwave, and coffeepot. Several wonderful churches and sites in the nearby area, as well as restaurants and shopping. Will definitley stay here next year.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Ostiense
Residence Colombo 112
Residence Colombo 112
#27 of 1,088 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Borgo Papareschi
#41 of 1,088 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Patrizia Romana Palace
#40 of 1,088 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Vatican / Borgo
Trianon Borgo Pio Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Appartamenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Appartamenti

Property: Lux Appartamenti
Address: Via Casilina 3U, 00182 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,088 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lux Appartamenti 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Appartamenti is a first class property, centrally located in Rome, just steps from Porta Maggiore, not far from Termini Station, in an area full of shops, bars and restaurants. Many public transport links nearby (bus, trams, subway) allow easy access to Rome's tourist attractions. Lux Apartments is the perfect solution for long term business trips or tourist city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lux Appartamenti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Appartamenti Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing