We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this place”
Review of Lux Appartamenti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lux Appartamenti
Ranked #61 of 1,099 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Livermore, California
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This was my very first visit to Rome. As I was coming in on a late flight Francesca had arranged for a car pick up. From the moment I walked into the apartment it was a very welcoming. It was a great experience. Perfect location, and was in walking distance of every place that I wanted to visit. Having a kitchen was extremely convenient. Just a five minute walk to the market and you could cook your meals and save a little money. The bed was comfortable. The room was spotless. Definitely worth the stay. The staff was amazing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank seriouslyrightnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    57
    8
    1
    0
See reviews for
100
46
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent 5 nights in a Lux apartment in August. The apartment itself was very nice with a good sized bedroom and nicely decorated living/dining/kitchen. The facilities in the kitchen were excellent with a much appreciated washing machine and dishwasher. Although the apartment block is near a busy main road, we didn't have any problems with traffic noise. There is a supermarket not too far from the apartment but the area around the block was not particularly nice and I wouldn't have wanted to walk around the area on my own. The block is slightly too far from the main attractions to walk but there is a bus stop close by or the nearest tram stop is 10 minutes walk away. The apartment managers are extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Not all of the apartments have bedrooms with windows! The apartments on the corners of floor e.g. 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie190745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed in this apartment block the last week in July. The apartment we rented was great, the rooms light and spacious, with all the facilities we expected, but we didn't like the location too much. Nearest metro stations (Manzoni or Vittorio Emanuelle) are a good 20 minute walk away, so most trips into the centre involve catching a 105 bus before you reach the metro. Via Casilina itself isn't a place we wanted to spend time in. It's not over blessed with bars or restaurants and the 'working girls' are out at night, walking up and down, or disappearing with punters into waste ground to conduct business. San Lorenzo is a better place for eating out and is only a 10 minute walk away. However, the walk involves crossing the busy roads and tramlines of Porta Maggiore before negotiating a large underpass. Returning after dark one night, we had to shout and clap our hands to scatter the rats that were scampering along the tramlines and crossing the path in front of us. Not Rome at its most beautiful! I've read other reviews which are very positive about the location, so I appreciate that everyone's experience is not the same, but I wouldn't recommend the area to family or friends.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank beetea7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lux2007, Direttore generale at Lux Appartamenti, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Dear Customer,

Your review made us smile with how much colour you added to the picture. No doubt with your experience even if I never saw a rat myself nor did any of our clients. It could be possible that you saw a mouse which is unfortunately a presence you can find at night in any big city around the world, just like the “ working girls” who change streets and areas constantly. As mentioned from many of our clients, including those who stayed with us for over 3 years , we can assure you that our area is safe during day and night. Many of our long term clients, including single women, never had problems regarding safety in this regard.

Unfortunately, our city has all the characteristics of metropolitan cities which include graffiti, pickpockets, homeless people etc. and to that Rome also has problems with traffic, no parking, and bad transportation services. All the above clearly do not depend on us. In fact your comments regarding our apartments were more than positive.

With regards to the nearest tube station Manzoni is only 13 minutes away by foot as clearly shown on Google maps. Bus 105 stops at 60 meters from our main door. The first restaurant/bar are at 30 meters from our location and further 6 in a ray of 150 meters.
We are confident that we can be easily recommended to your friends and relatives.

Kind Regards,

The General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed at this apartment for a week on our trip to Rome in early July. The apartment was spacious and clean, tastefully updated and well equipped. It was more than enough for our small family of 3 and could easily accommodate a family of 4-5. The apartment manager is a great host and gave us lots of tips to help us on our first visit to Rome. The airport transfer was great and reliable. We missed our scheduled flight into Rome and was put on a later flight. We called ahead to let them know and the airport transfer was rescheduled to accommodate us. The tram station and bus stops are very close by.We used tram 3 and bus 105 to help us get to the metro stations. Despar and other smaller grocery stores are walking distance. Highly recommend going to Fassi ( on the 105 bus route to the Termini) for gelato and the restaurant right next to the apartment. The one downside is that the location is a little out of the way and required us to use the tram or bus to get to the metro stations, which we wished we could avoid.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RumsNair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The rooms were sparkling clean, the amenities were more than satisfactory, the hostess was quite funny and very helpful, the location is very close (walking distance) to the historic sites, indoors garages are available (parking represents a real problem in Rome). Definitely, in a future vacation, we'll come back to this location. All in all, these apartments are a great value for the money.
No cons whatsoever

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constantin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We reserved two apartments for a family of five. They were quite spacious, well appointed, and very clean, and an excellent value. The beds were excellent and there were a lot of amenities. They are located about a kilometer from Roma Termini Station. You can walk or take the 105 bus to several nearby Metro stations to access all of Rome. The staff that manages the apartments is outstanding. When we asked them to call a taxi to bring us to the station, Maria came outside with us to make sure everything went smoothly. She is fierce and determined and runs the place very well. I think this might be the ideal place for a family to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mem212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
428 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here from May 20-24. Booked just a fortnight ago as we cancelled another apt we had booked near Vatican. We got an excellent price booking directly on the website. We got emails asking us about arrival times etc--we booked their car transfer from airport. However, the driver never arrived; we took the shuttle for 5euro pp and took a taxi from Roma termini. Don't feel like faulting the mgmt for this taxi glitch because everything else was top rate. Checked in as soon as we arrived into a lovely apartment. The kitchen is high tech and was very handy. there is a full size fridge, The bed, wardrobes large, the sofa pulled to a comfy bed at night. Loved the little touches of potpourrie, artifacts, paintings etc. Especially loved the humorous briefing by Maria Laura. Bus 105 takes you to termini right from near the apt. or you walk a few steps, cross the porta maggiore and take 571 which takes you through St Giovanni in Laterano... Colosseum... corso vittoria emmannuelle to St Peter square. The neighborhood is decent working class, A local lady came with her scholl going child with us daily in the bus. We absolutely LOVED everything about the apt, it added to the happiness of our stay in this wonderful city!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank IndFamTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Residence Candia
#360 of 1,258 in Rome
407 reviews
Romoli Hotel
#379 of 1,258 in Rome
332 reviews
Hotel Area Roma
#501 of 1,258 in Rome
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chroma Pente
#168 of 1,258 in Rome
234 reviews
Monti
MarcoAurelio49 Apartments - Colosseo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lux Appartamenti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lux Appartamenti

Property: Lux Appartamenti
Address: Via Casilina 3U, 00182 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 1,099 Speciality Lodging in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Lux Appartamenti 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lux Appartamenti is a first class property, centrally located in Rome, just steps from Porta Maggiore, not far from Termini Station, in an area full of shops, bars and restaurants. Many public transport links nearby (bus, trams, subway) allow easy access to Rome's tourist attractions. Lux Apartments is the perfect solution for long term business trips or tourist city breaks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Lux Appartamenti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lux Appartamenti Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing