We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Really 4 Star; But Nice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Locarno Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Locarno Rome
Ranked #615 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Not Really 4 Star; But Nice...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Stayed by accident (needed a room) and they were very friendly and nice and the price was aceptable. Very basic room, nice bath room (size and quality); great bar. Close to Piazza de Popello. Close to transit and easy walking distance. Great staff.

Room Tip: We got the last room, so no advice gere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDGS-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    263
    106
    106
    75
See reviews for
106
277
57
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Excellent hotel, although slightly overpriced. Staff were friendly and helpful and location was excellent for seeing the sights of Rome. We loved the secluded, open air terrace where breakfast was served. Rooms were clean but we would have preferred a shower rather than the bath and hand held shower.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

All of the reviews of this hotel were correct; the service is very uneven, with one particular staff member being extremely unhelpful. I booked a specific type of room, but did not get it. Only after asking three times did the manager acknowledge the mistake and discounted my stay. Breakfast service is extremely slow, so don't count on getting coffee at 7am. The internet did not function for the last 1 1/2 days of my stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HannesCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Rome hotels

Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

The hotel was charming, howevere we satyed in an annex which was ok too but the rooms did not have that art deco flavour the others in the main buiding had. Apart from that it was great.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Sonia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lodi, ca
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

I don't know what to say of the other rooms, but the single room I had was perfect! It was clean, had a closet with a dresser for my clothes, decent amount of power outlets, a great breakfast and the location was ideal! The only reason I gave it a 4/5 was the shower was tiny tiny, no way anyone could shave their legs in there. Those could be updated. But to be a block from piazza de popolo and only $90 a night.... unbeatable. I felt safe, secure and felt the room was plenty big. From this hotel i could walk everywhere and the metro was maybe a 2-4 minute walk. Plenty of great places to eat, drink, shop and explore were also in close walking distance. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget! Staff was also very friendly and arranged my airport taxi (50 euro).

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennykae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Shabby and dated rooms being branded as 'Art Deco'. Nowhere close to a 4-star hotel as advertised. Rude and impolite staff.

Air conditioning does not work, bathrooms tiny, consider yourself lucky if you get hot water in mixer tap. Location is slightly less touristy but definitely a hotel of last resort and if you must than insist on a room in the ‘new wing’ across the road from reception.

Stayed here in July 2012, completely unsatisfied and won’t be coming back for sure.

Room Tip: Insist for a room in the new wing if at all you have to stay here, will make it bearable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SKRR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012

If your looking for a comfortable 4* hotel then don't stay here.
I have no idea where it got its 4* from.
The room I had was tiny, like a prison cell.
I could not unpack my suitcase as there was no where to put my clothes.
The air con didn't work properly.
There was mould in my shower.
My sheets had holes in them, not just 1 but about 8-9.
Instead of changing my towels housekeeping hung up my dirty used towels instead of replacing with fresh towels.
The rooms are not sound proofed. The furniture is very dated. The tv is from the 1980's and this hotel is vey overpriced. I do not usually leave reviews on hotels but after staying here I wanted to share my terrible experience.
It deserves to be a 1* hotel and should not be marketed as a 4*.
The pictures on the website looked very appealing but the 2 rooms I was given looked nothing like the rooms on the website.
Stay away or perepare to be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N74C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#236 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 941 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#211 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Campo Marzio
Piranesi Palazzo Nainer Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Palazzo Dama Hotel
Palazzo Dama Hotel
#525 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Mozart
Hotel Mozart
#145 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
Campo Marzio
The Inn At The Spanish Steps
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locarno Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locarno Rome

Property: Hotel Locarno Rome
Address: Via della Penna 22, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#282 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locarno Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back in time to the 1920s!Near the splendid Piazza del Popolo, at the very heart of Rome, is a romantic and intimate guesthouse sought by actors, directors, writers, producers and musicians. Its two buildings are adjoined by an open garden where in spring and summer guests can take their breakfast and lunch or just an excellent aperitif. Enjoy relax and atmosphere in our bedrooms and suites strictly antique but also featuring modern facilities.Hotel Locarno: we’ll make you feel welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Locarno Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locarno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing