We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conde Nast Traveler is right on mark”
Review of Hotel Locarno Rome

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Locarno Rome
Ranked #583 of 1,271 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I planned 15 days vacation in Rome, Capri and Malta a treat after several surgeries. I love to plan the trips myself and had planned to stay at the hotel we stayed at in Rome 7 years ago ( Hotel Modigliani- which is wonderful. On finding they were fully booked I started doing the homework. Everything I read about the Locarno sounded great.
We arrived early on Sept 21st, but found we were able to check into our room early. Room is definitely a little quirky, but that's what we like. The facilities were well maintained daily.
The garden/bar was beautiful to have breakfast or drinks, and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. The rooftop terrace was great to sit in the afternoon as well.
Here's the best part- the staff. Stefano at reception was incredibly helpful in suggesting restaurants when we told him the type we wanted- particularly when we asked about one we had walked by in the Borghese Gardens. He knew we would prefer not too "touristy", which, even thought the food was good, it was.
We would definitely return and refer friends to it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jppjrcemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

We thouroughly enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Locarno in october 2013.

We booked a Junior Suite which was nicely decorated in art-déco style. The room was very large - unfortunately the bed was terribly squeeky which made it almost impossible to find sleep. Breakfast was great - we could even take it in the lovely courtyard and we had no problem getting coffee or tea - staff was quite attentive.

The whole positively old-fashioned atmosphere of the hotel was very pleasing to us and we liked coming back for a nice drink at the bar after a busy day of sight-seeing. Reception staff was extremely friendly and eager to organize private transport to airport (which was even a Little cheaper than the official fare). The location is just great - we discovered Rome by feet, starting every day from the Hotel and we never walked more than 45 minutes to get to the important sights (and we walked very slowly).

Prices are high - yes indeed, but then that is what we expected in a city like rome, and accordingly we planned our budget. In general, we loved the Hotel.

The only thing which we do not like are the small double beds in European hotels - we don't understand why we cannot have rooms with two queen size beds - we are not used to sleeping in small beds and this always is a big hassle when travelling.

Besindes that, we would certainly choose the Hotel Locarno again to stay at in Rome whenever we return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I cannot speak for the annex bldg., but the main bldg. is old and worn out.
Initially we were given Room 105 ( a Double ) - Terrible: Room was cramped,
dimly lit ( as is the dining room and other areas ), Dresser could not be opened ( no knobs ! ),
Ancient TV did not work; Room safe was blow-torched open ( an eyesore & inconvenience ),
Walls were worn and dirty. Shower had moldy tile. We complained & were given Room 205
which was a bit cleaner, but the bed springs made it uncomfortable. To be fair,
the strong point is good location and the price ( we paid $333 a night in mid -Sept) would be reasonable IF the furnishings were upgraded, better maintained and cleaned. Rich B

Room Tip: Avoid Room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Spent one night here on a business trip. The hotel had a slightly disheveled, old world charm, with a bird-cage style elevator and metal keys. Had some wi-fi issues but they were settled quickly. The bar was hopping at night but I didn't have time to linger. Breakfast was tasty and abundant but in a dimly lit room. Location was good for meetings at Piazza del Popolo.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellogg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Love this place, and would go back again and again! Strategic location, right off of Piazza del Popolo, on a lovely street surrounded by good eateries, and other little gems. It's old, it's got style, and it's got oodles and oodles of character..! Hotel Locarno is definitely for those in the "know", and for those looking for an authentic "Vacanze Romane" experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magenta33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo R, Direttore at Hotel Locarno Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We deeply thank you for the great review you have shared with all our followers and we hope to have you back soon here with us!
Best regards,
Claudia Giuliani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here 27th-30th September. What a great place. Helpful front desk, room decent size with aircon(needed) and free wifi. Breakfast in the courtyard was just lovely, friendly staff with prosecco included. Very central, and lots of great restaurants -Porto di Ripetta, nearby. We walked everywhere. 5 minutes to Spanish steps, 10 minutes to the trevi fountain, 20 minutes to the Pantheon and 45 minutes to the Colosseum & Forum. The nearest metro (Flaminio) is a few minutes away off Piazza del Popolo. We caught the metro close to Vatican only two stops away. Be aware on the metro, carry only what you need and have a great time, Rome is one of the most beautiful places ever! I will return to Rome with my hubby and son and stay at the Hotel Locarno. We did pre book online the Vatican and the underground tour of the Colosseum which was def worth doing as both places were very busy. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Foster3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albergo R, Direttore at Hotel Locarno Rome, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for having chosen Hotel Locarno and we are very glad to hear you did enjoy your recent stay with us and discovered the best sights of Rome.
You’ve enjoyed the city as a true Roman would do!
I hope to personally meet you here in Rome meanwhile I send you my personal best regards,
Claudia Giuliani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The location is wonderful, the common areas are charming but the rooms are a different story. Tired Art Deco. Our first room was dismal, a large elongated room with the window opening onto the bar/breakfast area, noisy at night & the wait staff start at 6am preparing for breakfast. The A/C blew warm & humid air so it was useless. At 4am I got up to open the window & was then wide awake by 6.30am. Needless to say we changed rooms because 4 nights of this would have been unacceptable, our new room was much smaller but on the 2nd floor with good A/C & a huge window overlooking a side street with an extremely comfortable bed. The food at breakfast is great & the lunch buffet which we had once was delicious, the only problem is it's served in a dimly lit room - luckily I have a tiny torch on my key chain. The roof top garden is delightful even though it offers little view, you can order a drink from the bar if you wish. The staff were very efficient & friendly however the reception staff are guarded because I felt they were used to getting many complaints.
Two wonderful restaurants right across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLWToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Campo Marzio
Hotel Anahi
Hotel Anahi
#156 of 1,271 in Rome
500 reviews
Campo Marzio
Palazzo Dama Hotel
Palazzo Dama Hotel
#369 of 1,271 in Rome
185 reviews
Campo Marzio
The First Roma
The First Roma
#31 of 1,271 in Rome
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campo Marzio
Hotel Valadier
Hotel Valadier
#287 of 1,271 in Rome
1,032 reviews
Campo Marzio
Hotel Art by the Spanish Steps
Campo Marzio
Margutta 19
Margutta 19
#374 of 1,271 in Rome
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Locarno Rome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Locarno Rome

Address: Via della Penna 22, 00186 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Campo Marzio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#283 Luxury Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £164 - £285 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Locarno Rome 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Travel back in time to the 1920s!Near the splendid Piazza del Popolo, at the very heart of Rome, is a romantic and intimate guesthouse sought by actors, directors, writers, producers and musicians. Its two buildings are adjoined by an open garden where in spring and summer guests can take their breakfast and lunch or just an excellent aperitif. Enjoy relax and atmosphere in our bedrooms and suites strictly antique but also featuring modern facilities.Hotel Locarno: we’ll make you feel welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Locarno Rome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locarno Hotel Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing