We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Cute and Quaint Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #126 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Location, Cute and Quaint Hotel”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights before a Med. cruise. At the end of our cruise we also stayed 1 night at a different hotel, so this review is based on a comparison between both.

Without a doubt Britannia was the better of the two. Both were supposedly 4* hotels, but Britannia felt more like a 3.5* one rather than a 2* one (like the other hotel did). The room we had was small, but the bed was big, there was closet space to hang your shirts/jackets, and washroom was decently sized with more counter space than we expected. The staff were always friendly and efficient, and those at the front desk were able to speak English very well. The hotel is centrally located about a 10m walk west of Termini station, which makes it closer to the main tourist sites to the west of the downtown.

One of the highlights of this hotel was its breakfast: It put any breakfast I've had in a North American hotel to shame. The breakfast was more of a brunch than anything. You had the usual toast, coffee/espresso, eggs, bacon, but you also had some amazing fresh fruit, tonnes of pastries, cookies and cakes, prosciutto, cheeses, etc., even some sort of rice and mushroom dish which I didn't try. The dining room looked rather fancy and neat as well for such a small hotel. The waiters were always quick too.

Overall, this hotel was excellent. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. If you're looking for a solid 3* hotel for a reasonable price in central Rome, this is the perfect place. Grazie tante!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank torontoguy2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,189 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    693
    373
    74
    31
    18
See reviews for
239
646
29
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Destin, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Not only was the hotel absolutely lovely, but the staff, (namely Mario and Jean Franco). They took such good care of us, from helping us with luggage, dinner plans, sites to see. Everything we needed they were right there with a smile. They really made our trip special and we have the best memories because of them.....The breakfast was included and it was wonderful. It always had fresh fruit and a wide selection of choices of food.

Room Tip: I loved our room with the balcony to sit on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccbinfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ancaster, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

Our visit to this hotel was short and we were thankful it was. The hotel is off the beaten path so it's quiet. The hotel lobby is small and very nice with wood panelled walls and marble. The breakfast area is adjecent to the lobby. Breakfast was fantastic. The room was extremely small. It had a window with shutters. When you opened the shutters it looked out to a gap between the buildings with garbage cans. The bathroom was shower only and you had to pull the toilet paper out of the dispenser prior to sitting on the toilet as it was so close and back side of you. If you didn't, you wouldnt'be able to access the paper (I'm not a big guy
so if you were any weight over 250lbs good luck. The washroom was a tight area as well. There was a very small closet when you walking into the room. The suit case fit into it thankfully as if you didn't put it in the closet.. you would have to walk over it to get around the end of the bed. The room was very very small. I understand this is common in Rome but wow. This was by far the smallest room I have ever had in all my years of travel. We were supposed to get a welcome drink. (one thinks coctail right, well they came over with orange juice) then, we were supposed to get a fruit basket. One thinks a small arrangement of fruit in the room. When I asked about the missing fruit basket I was told fruit is available during the day in the lobby breakfast area. We weren't told of this until it was too late. Perhaps they need to clarify this on the reservations. Staff were nice and friendly. They arranged a car to the airport for 50 Euros and it arrived on time with the driver in white shirt and black pants and the car was a Mercedes. Very nice.
All in all, I think if you only have to stay one night it's fine but to stay longer and with more than one person the basic rooms are just too small.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AncasterOntarioguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thehotelmanager68, Direttore at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 20 July 2011
We are grateful to you for your kind review and we are pleased to know you have found fantastic our breakfast and the hall small, but very nice.
We regret to have not satisfied you with the room. We always try to explain, through the communication on the web, that The Britannia Hotel is situated in an old building ex house of Prince Orsini and it is just the building architecture who make its rooms confortable and elegant but definitely not the largest ones
We have not been able to understand by your nick name only, which was your room number but we believe it is a little excessive from you to have defined it the smallest ever had.
Our welcome drink consists of ice tea and orange juice served with biscuits.
On every floor there is available for the entire day a nice fruit basket at disposal of each of our guest and we are sorry you didn't noticed it.
Finally we thank you for have appreciated the kindness of our staff and the transfer arranged to the airport.
We will consider all your comments to improve us and make the stays of our future guests more and more pleasant.

Augusto Grifoni
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

I appreciated this hotel not just for its central location, but I remember it after many other hotels because of its specially decorated rooms. Apart from an old fashioned basis, there were many peculiarities in the room. There was a very simple fish tank with little fish in it. There was a "bath duck", although there was only a shower. There was a seventies style infrared lamp in the bathroom to "get a tan". There was fruit in the hall, which was great. There were many many (fake plants) around the hotel. All in all there were many things to discover, the owner seems to have an eye for detail (not necessarily for style, but that was fine with me). Very friendly staff willing to explain more about the hotel. I really enjoyed my stay here and will not forget it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Very pleasant staff went out of their way to be helpful and for the money you probably can't expect much more in Rome, particularly in such a convenient area. The decor looks somewhat dated and the room seemed a tad dingy - if enlivened by the presence of a tank full of small fish. The big bed was comfortable and we got a good night's sleep. Breakfast was included and acceptable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Stayed at hotel for 2 nights prior to Med. Cruise. The hotel was very nice. Staff friendly and helpful. The room was a little small, but I believe most in Rome are small. The breakfast was very good. Close to everything. All in all, I would definitely stay here again!

Helpful?
1 Thank 1Rubicon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duisburg, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The hotel is centrally located, close to Termini, the Metro and the bus lines. We were offered great advice on where to eat and what places to visit during our short stay in Rome.The premises are well taken care of and carefully planned. The breakfast in the morning was also nice. I will surely recommend this hotel to anyone who wishes to visit Rome.

Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank hgaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#42 of 1,258 in Rome
875 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,258 in Rome
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#164 of 1,258 in Rome
2,180 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,258 in Rome
2,232 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Columbia
Hotel Columbia
#97 of 1,258 in Rome
808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Property: The Britannia Hotel
Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #126 of 1,258 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing