We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Britannia Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Opera Roma(Rome)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
iQ Hotel Roma(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (1,278)
Filter reviews
1,278 results
Traveller rating
738
403
82
34
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
738
403
82
34
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia napolifree mini barwithin walking distancetrain stationquiet side streetrooms are smallthe hotel staffopera housespanish stepsprivate terracecharming hotelexcellent breakfastlocation is greattrevi fountainmajor sitespastriesquiet at night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
405 - 410 of 1,278 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just got back from a three night stay and miss it already!
Food - breakfast was excellent...massive choice and I enjoyed everything! I particularly miss having the scrumptious hot chocolate, plump prunes, and dried ham every morning!
Room - had everything we needed and I loved the little rubber duck! The pillows were a little hard, but we used the decorative pillows to soften up and to be fair we did sleep like logs!
Staff - very helpful and friendly...morning ladies were particularly chirpy and Marco on the evening recommended a decent restaurant
Hotel - we loved the bar and lift decor, but found the rest a little dated and cheesy - although this might just be personal taste - also there was a cute little fish tank outside our room with a fish in it...but there was a dead one at the bottom and this made me sad! Please Britannia buy the little fish a friend and remove the dead one!
Location - excellent...well within walking distance of everything we needed with a decent Irish pub just steps away for a late night pint or two!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 66Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Dear 66Red,
we wish to thank you for writing a very good feedback although some little things did not meet your favour the decors are between classical and liberty, very charming, but we do understand that a modern style could look new and a classical style could look old, you are aware and you frankly write it. Also, the dead fish: lives end and this is not a positive situation; we are progressively removing the small thanks in order to avoid arranging new young fish, anyway.
We thank you for the praise of all the rest, breakfast on top and staff.. and the ducklet, and for missing us. we miss you too, please come back and do not forget to contact us directly, we invite anybody to do that.
We also wish to say again that we are 24 hours prompt to our Guests' requests, next time you will ask us for softer pillows or anything you may need.
Thank you. Best Regards,
Simona Rongione - Guest Care, Hotel Britannia. Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We booked four nights at Hotel Britannia and we were surprised at the high quality of this hotel. It must have been refurbished a few years ago. Very friendly and warm-hearted staff. The hotel has a great location close to the Colloseum and Piazza Venezia nevertheless it is located in a quiet side street. Not easy to find in Rome.
We were also positively surprised by the lavish breakfast buffet, something unexpected in Italy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FelixStuttgart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear FelixStut,
we wish to thank you for the precious full score review and for sharing your positive experience here, so we managed being your shelter in your days in Rome, next to the Heart of the City.
We are proud of our breakfast: quality, variety and freshness are above the average and we're happy for each single Guest enjoying it.
Please come back and contact us directly to find the best situation for you.
Best regards,
Simona Rongione
Guest Care Manager, Hotel Britannia - Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

My wife and me stayed 4 nights at December 2013, room are very nice and clean, excellent breakfast and very good location. But more then all i must mention the friendly staff, its begin with drinks when we arrived at morning and they always want to help in any way .
Also they recommended to us few restaurants near the hotel and it was very good.
After we left, Simona ( from the hotel) found for us per of gloves that we forgot at restaurant near the hotel and sent it to Israel with a gift. I believe this is unusual service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank uri1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear uri1962,
thank you for taking the time to write your very good feedback here, we are happy we could help you with the gloves you forgot; we do that with any Guests when we find something in their rooms.
We hope to have the chance to welcome you back. Best regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager - Hotel Britannia, Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Friendly and chic hotel. Small but very comfortable and pretty room, good size bathroom. Very good location, just off Via Nazionale, close to Repubblica subway station. The staff was very helpful and nice. Free wi-fi, although a bit unreliable. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cristina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2014

Dear Cristina,
we regret that you had some issues with the wi-fi, we already explained in some replies to Guests complaining for the same problem that our wi-fi system is efficient and daily tested but it could suffer from problems that we fix the moment we are aware.
We are happy this did not spoil your experience and you that frankly reward our rooms, our location, our staff. Thank you for thinking to come back, we will appreciate your direct contact to allow us help you find the best situation for you.
Best regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care manager - Hotel Britannia. Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at the Hotel Britannia. The room was lovely and I was pleasantly surprised by the large bathroom! The staff is wonderful - they went above and beyond to make sure we were comfortable!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanessa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much, vanessa m.
We enjoy being home to our Guests in their days in Rome. Thank you for appreciating and for sharing your experience here with an amazing score to us.
We'll be waiting for you back again.
Best, regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews