We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bella Britannia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #124 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
hampshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bella Britannia”
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I have just returned from this wonderful hotel. It truly is a little gem. The staff are all extremely friendly and helpful especially Simona who is amazing. The location is fabulous a short walk from the Termini and within walking distance of many landmarks. The rooms are beautifully decorated not huge but with fabulous bathrooms tea and coffee making facilities and a free mini bar! We slept well as the beds were so comfortable and the hotel quiet .I am missing the delicious breakfasts and cappuccino. Cant wait for my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fohfoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
.. and we can't wait to welcome you back, fohfoh..
thank you very much, you can't imagine how happy we are when we read a review in which a few words seem to be perfectly telling what we are and what we love to be to our Guests: location, breakfast, care, elegance, cleanliness, our bathrooms, the amenities, the comforts.
A good italian cappuccino will await you and all our Friends.
Thank you very much for your amazing feedback.
Ciao, a presto.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care. Hotel Britannia - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    688
    368
    74
    31
    17
See reviews for
235
641
29
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Marco, Simona, Eldridge and the entire staff at the hotel were fabulous. The hotel is clean with excellent proximity to transit and all of the attractions. The staff is very helpful and willing to assist with any need you may require. What makes this hotel so special you might ask? Well they do things without you asking them to, such as take your luggage to your room, provide you with a spirit after a long day, offer shopping tips, and safety advise. In addition, they ensure the bedroom is as comfortable as possible with their turn down services. Restocking of the refrigerator is another major plus. The breakfast is excellent and there is something for every palate. You get the best bang for your buck and I'll recommend this hotel to who is seeking top notch service with a smile.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigitte H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Dear Brigitte,
we live our Guests' days in Rome as if we were hosting them home with us, from the moment they enter eager to enjoy their journey to the moment they say goodbye, somewhat sad because they leave lots of unseen things behind; we grow fond of each story and of each face and it is beautiful to think that "goodbye" is a promise to come back, to welcome back.
Your wonderful review is a prize to us. Thank you for sharing your very good feelings here. Thank you from all of us, Marco, me, Eldridge, the Staff in its entirety.
Warm regards,
Simona Rongione, Hotel Britannia


Marco, Simona, Eldridge and the entire staff at the hotel were fabulous. The hotel is clean with excellent proximity to transit and all of the attractions. The staff is very helpful and willing to assist with any need you may require. What makes this hotel so special you might ask? Well they do things without you asking them to, such as take your luggage to your room, provide you with a spirit after a long day, offer shopping tips, and safety advise. In addition, they ensure the bedroom is as comfortable as possible with their turn down services. Restocking of the refrigerator is another major plus. The breakfast is excellent and there is something for every palate. You get the best bang for your buck and I'll recommend this hotel to who is seeking top notch service with a smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Excellent hotel in a quite alley.
Very close to bus stops and 3 minutes-walk to the metro and about 15 minutes-walk to Plaza Venecia
You’ll need to use the public transportation.
The rooms are specious and convenient.
The staff is very nice and helpful.
Breakfast is very good.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ALAL789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Dear ALAL789,
thank you very much for reviweing Hotel Britannia on Tripadvisor and for rewarding us with full score. You appreciated our very good breakfast and your room, the location (we're next to the main must-see places in Rome and Metro and Bus stops are everywhere nearby).
Thank you from the whole Staff, we'd be glad to welcome you back and happy to be directly contacted to help you choose the situation that better will suit your needs.
Best Regards.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care - Hotel Britannia, Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, Maryland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

A wonderful small hotel in Rome. We discovered the Britannia on our honeymoon in 1973. twenty five years later (1998) we spent another week there. Some remodeling had taken place that made it even better. We stayed in the same room (one with a balcony). Then in October 2013 we returned to celebrate our 40th Anniversary.

This hotel is central to most of Rome. They have a great breakfast. Most of all the staff is wonderful. They will take care of all your needs.

We look forward to returning.

Marge & Bob Burkley

Room Tip: Try one of the rooms with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargeBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Marge, Bob.
We are delightfully surprised by your review, 5 months after your departure.
This means you did not forget your days here, as well as we did not. Some of us were here in 1973, in 1998 and last year, when I met you for the first time and I enjoyed learning some cuts of Briannia's past from you. I hope I have the chance to see you back, We all hope to have the chance to welcome you to your Home in Rome for the fourth time.
Thank you very much, Marge & Bob Burkley.
Simona Rongione & the entire Staff, Hotel Britannia - Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We've just returned from a 4 night stay in Rome at Hotel Britannia. We've stayed in many Italian cities and prefer the smaller, individual hotels where service is usually more personal. This is numero uno of anywhere we've stayed in Italy! From the moment we checked in until our departure, we experienced top notch service. Every staff member we met acknowledged us with a smile/Buonjorno and took time to chat to all the guests. Special mention to Simone and Marco who gave us lots of suggestions/tips for our stay in Rome - they are first class professionals and a credit to Hotel Britannia. The hotel is converted from a small palace, so every room is individual. We booked at the last minute and were very happy with the comfort and style of the room, considering the extremely good rate that we paid. The room and bathroom were immaculate and thoroughly cleaned each day. We requested a quiet room and although on the small side, our room perfectly ok for a few nights. The room was warm and cosy when we arrived. A really nice touch was the complimentary soft drinks and water in the fridge, which were replaced each day. Breakfast was good with a good choice of fresh ingredients. Location is a personal thing, but for us being situated in the up and coming Monti area was just right. The hotel is within 15 minutes walk of the centre (Trevi Fountain, Spanish steps etc) and only 5 stops on the Metro to the Vatican. Within 10 minutes you can take the Roma Tour Bus. For dinner we'd recommend La Boheme and Alessio within 5 minutes walk for good traditional Roman cuisine (both recommended by the hotel). If we go to Rome again we'll book here - if you're planning a stay in Rome, look no further - you've found the place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colleen_Jennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Colleen_J,
we really thank you for the words you write about your days here, we are happy you enjoyed everything. We love being Friends to our Guests while they are home with us, it is nice to have a little talk when meeting around.
We thank you also for pointing out the intimacy of our rooms, each of them being individually decorated and very clean, nice and offering amenities and services that add comfort, regardless of the rate or the room category.
We would be happy to welcome you back and happy to help you choose the ideal solution for you, so we look forward to seeing you back.
Sincerely,
Simona Rongione - Hotel Britannia, Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic two night weekend break in Rome, and my only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. We were lucky enough to book a junior suite which benefited from a beautiful outside terrace and the room was very luxurious with every home comfort included. From our arrival all the staff were very friendly and welcoming and made a real fuss of me as they picked up that it was my birthday and on our departure I was presented with a panorama of Rome as a Birthday gift. We had booked a Vatican Tour for 7.30am on our first day but a full breakfast was delivered to our room exactly at 7am so that we could get a taster of how good the breakfast was and on our second day we were able to have a more leisurely breakfast and enjoy the fantastic array of breakfast choices including a cooked breakfast, a plethora of fresh fruits, meats, cheeses, cereals and fresh pastries. The location is fantastic but it is the hotel and it's staff that made it such a fantastic stay. We were rushed off our feet but could quite happily have spent more days there just chilling in this beautiful hotel. Will definately stay again.

Room Tip: If your budget stretches to it the Suites with their oppulence and outdoor space are terrific value
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Letusletit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Letusletit,
our delayed reply is to thank you for your great review and the full score, for the perfect descirption of our Junior Suite and for sharing your positive experience with everything.
We would be happy to wlecome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us before.
Warmest regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager. Hotel Britannia, Roma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just got back from a three night stay and miss it already!
Food - breakfast was excellent...massive choice and I enjoyed everything! I particularly miss having the scrumptious hot chocolate, plump prunes, and dried ham every morning!
Room - had everything we needed and I loved the little rubber duck! The pillows were a little hard, but we used the decorative pillows to soften up and to be fair we did sleep like logs!
Staff - very helpful and friendly...morning ladies were particularly chirpy and Marco on the evening recommended a decent restaurant
Hotel - we loved the bar and lift decor, but found the rest a little dated and cheesy - although this might just be personal taste - also there was a cute little fish tank outside our room with a fish in it...but there was a dead one at the bottom and this made me sad! Please Britannia buy the little fish a friend and remove the dead one!
Location - excellent...well within walking distance of everything we needed with a decent Irish pub just steps away for a late night pint or two!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 66Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear 66Red,
we wish to thank you for writing a very good feedback although some little things did not meet your favour the decors are between classical and liberty, very charming, but we do understand that a modern style could look new and a classical style could look old, you are aware and you frankly write it. Also, the dead fish: lives end and this is not a positive situation; we are progressively removing the small thanks in order to avoid arranging new young fish, anyway.
We thank you for the praise of all the rest, breakfast on top and staff.. and the ducklet, and for missing us. we miss you too, please come back and do not forget to contact us directly, we invite anybody to do that.
We also wish to say again that we are 24 hours prompt to our Guests' requests, next time you will ask us for softer pillows or anything you may need.
Thank you. Best Regards,
Simona Rongione - Guest Care, Hotel Britannia. Roma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#42 of 1,256 in Rome
857 reviews
Esquilino
Selene Style Hotel
Selene Style Hotel
#119 of 1,256 in Rome
1,280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Starhotels Metropole
Starhotels Metropole
#163 of 1,256 in Rome
2,161 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#49 of 1,256 in Rome
2,218 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#59 of 1,256 in Rome
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Property: The Britannia Hotel
Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing