We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Beautiful Boutique Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #123 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Well, what more can we add on all those 5 points rating reviews?! Everything was just perfect!
1- Location, Location, Location- Just can't be beaten! Central, but on a quite street.
2- Beautiful property with a very tasteful and varied breakfast- Not a common thing in Italy.
3- Beautiful room - Just the right size, tastefuly decorated and sooo clean. Great tea/coffee making facilities, slippers and of course the rare advantage worldwide of a free mini-bar!
4- Service- So polite, always with a professional smile. Special thanks to Simona, Marco and Maddalena.
Ci Vediamo Presto!!!

Room Tip: If you can- ask for a room with a terrace (especially if arriving during summer time). For a nice b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Chen A,
You wonder what more you could add to our 5 points reviews and you added yours: thank you very much, it doesn't matter how many we already have, each new good feedback is precious and you write a beautiful description of Hotel Britannia: the strategical location, the elegant style, the excellent breakfast (much higher in quality and variety than the average) and the rooms, (cleanliness, decors and extra amenities). All bordered by our Staff, we wish each Guest feels home and if you did, we worked very well, thanks to you, thanks to our Guests..
If you really come back, please book directly to us, on our official website or by e-mail.
Greetings from me, Marco, Maddalena, Francesca, Mario, Cesare and the Breakfast Staff.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager - Hotel Britannia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

378 - 384 of 1,245 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2014

We Stayed at the Hotel Britannia for 5 nights during Easter. We were a group of 6 adults and two babies under the age of one. The hotel was exceptionally clean and very well run. Breakfast was a treat every morning - with a wide range of fresh food and fruit. The rooms were of good size - some bigger than others. They provided excellent cots.
In particular the staff (esp Simona) went out of their way to ensure we had a pleasant stay. They helped plan our days, book excursions and even help advise on restaurants. They also arranged transfers from the airport.
Its a brilliant location - we were able to walk to many locations - trevi fountain, Colosseum.

I would definitely recommend to anyone esp families with children.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShahL0nd0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear ShahL0nd0n,
families with babies are welcome to Hotel Britannia as well as single travellers or couples or small groups of firends. We do with pleasure what we can to help everyone enjoy his time in Rome. Our entire Staff, our services our amenities are offered to our Guests to make their stay what they expect it is: a positive experience.
Thank you for spending a few minutes of your time to write such a wonderful review and for recommending Hotel Britannia.
We'll be happy to have you back, please contact us directly to find the best accomodation.
A friendly hug to your beautiful Family.
Best Regards,
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager. Hotel Britannia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Perfect Hotel
My Husband and I have just spent the most wonderful 4 days in Rome staying at the perfect Britannia Hotel. It was an excellent base for sightseeing and we could walk to most of the best tourist sites and when we felt tired we used the Hop on Hop off Bus. The breakfast was amazing and plentiful with so many excellent choices. There was a well stocked mini fridge in the room which was replenished daily at no charge. But best of all was the Hotel staff who made us feel very special and welcome thanks to Simona, Madalena, Marco, Francesca and Etheridge who sorted out my wifi problems and enjoyed chatting about the football with my husband. All in all a great long awaited trip to the most beautiful city of Rome. We will definitely return. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank catheralls378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

John, Sandy.. a couple of days ago we were joking around at your check-out (John, you are very funny..) and you promised to write a feedback on Tripdavisor. You did it. Very fast. Thank you so much for the review, for the full score but also for sharing your emotions with us while here, thank you for promising to come back.
Hugs to you both from Simona, Francesca, Maddalena, Marco, Eldridge, Mario, Cesare, Emilio, Martha, Claudio, Edith and every other member of the Staff.
A presto, John & Sandy Catherall..
Simona Rongione, Hotel Britannia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel during our 14 day trip around Italy. Rome was our last stop so we were in this hotel for 4 nights after being in 4 other Italian hotels prior. Hotel Britannia was the best hotel by far. I was 7.5 months pregnant during our stay and had a lot of trouble sleeping in the other hotels in Florence, Venice, Milan and Como. I had the best nights sleep in Hotel Britannia. It was clean, close to subway and Termini train station, good temperature in April 2014 when we were there and wonderful service. The assistant manager Simona is so pleasant and speaks great English. She really represents the hotel well.

The last thing id like to add is that their breakfast is fantastic. It was the best we had in all the hotels we stayed at. Sooo much selection, fresh fruits, warm croissants, hot food options, they even make you hot chocolate (which I didn't have as an option in other hotels being pregnant and not drinking caffeine...)

Next time we are in Rome, we are definitely coming back!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoreenandTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear DoreenandTony,
we are so happy to read your words, thank you very much.
It was a great pleasure for us to have you home with us in your particular situation, we are proud we contributed to making your beautiful trip Italy an unforgettable experience before your important date. Thank your for the nice words you write about me, thank you for appreciating the whole Staff, the quiet and central situation, the rich and generous breakfast with fresh food.
It would be great to welcome you back as a larger Family, Good Luck...
Best Regards.
Simona Rongione, Guest Care Manager - Hotel Britannia, Roma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We loved everything about our 4 night stay in this hotel: our room 402 with a spacious outdoor terrace, overall feel and interior decor, the frendly, super helfpul staff, great buffet breakfast and perfect location for sightseeing. We could walk easily to most landmarks. Overall, though not the cheapest option, it was best value and really made our stay on Rome truly memorable. With its boutique, family run feel, it is one of the best hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Rooom 402 has a good size outdoor terrace for soaking up the sun and Rome atmosphere - doesnt add m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you, Andrew M
Your feedback is great, we are very happy you enjoyed your beautiful and elegant room with terrace. What makes us feel proud in your review is the "Family feel" you write about, because we wish to be home, a shelter to our Geusts in Rome and if you and your wife had this feeling, well.. we did it right.
Thank you again and please do not hesitate to come back but please contact us in advance.
Thank you for the nice pictures you posted, we like them.
Best regards,
Simona Rongione and the Staff. Hotel Britannia, Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

This was our first family vacation, and it was fantastic!
First of all the staff are the best! They was very kind and helpfull.
The room is clean, and every time we left the room our trash beans has clean.
The breakfast was good and has a lot of variaties.
The hotel is in quet location although very close to the main street.
Nearby there is al grocery store.
Some dificulty was with the stroller of child because there are steps in the entry. but because of the best expirience it wasn't an issue.
I will recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benjos2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Dear Benjos200,
We wish to thank you for sharing your experience with a very positive review. Your words reward our passion in offering the best we can to our Friends.
It is true we have 12 steps from the door to the lobby but we are prompt to our Guests' needs to carry anything and really do appreciate you feel this did not spoil your enthusiastic approval.
We will be happy to have you and your beautiful Family back to us and please contact us in advance.
Thank you from the whole Staff.
Simona Rongione, Hotel Britannia - Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We were delighted with this small hotel for our two weeks in Rome. The rooms were very clean and well cared for. The staff on the desk and the women serving the excellent breakfast were all very friendly and helpful. There was no charge for the soft drinks in the fridge in the room, which was restocked daily and this added to the feeling each evening that we had once again returned to our home away from home.

Room Tip: There's next to no street noise. The fourth floor has one room with a charming balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 602karenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuestCareBritannia, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at The Britannia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Thank you Karen N, thank you for your 5 points.
We wish to thank every single Friend who found a couple of minutes to write a feedback, both excellent (so precious and so satisfying) and not (so helpful to improve, if productive).
Thank you for feeling Home at Britannia, we are here and we wait for your next stay.
Best Regards,
Guest Care Manager, Hotel Britannia - Roma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,363 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,017 reviews
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#38 of 1,272 in Rome
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#34 of 1,272 in Rome
1,413 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#46 of 1,272 in Rome
2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing