We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Britannia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Artemide(Rome)
US$386
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$322
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$648
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$437
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Diocleziano(Rome)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$179
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$380
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Colosseum(Rome)
US$185
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$213
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$262
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$251
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$1,067
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$604
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,290)
Filter reviews
1,290 results
Traveller rating
743
409
82
35
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
743
409
82
35
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvia napolifree mini barwithin walking distancetrain stationquiet side streetrooms are smallthe hotel staffopera housespanish stepsprivate terracecharming hotelexcellent breakfastlocation is greattrevi fountainmajor sitespastriesquiet at night
Filter
Updating list...
691 - 696 of 1,290 reviews
Reviewed 21 May 2010

From the time we got there the hotel staff at the Britannia made us feel welcome. Small but elegant the Britannia is well located to the places you want to go. They serve a nice breakfast to start your day. I would recomend Britannia to my friends and family absolutely...
Jon and Stephanie

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmefishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2010

I stayed at this hotel for 3 days with my mother. The hotel entrance is a little tricky if you have problems going down stairs., but once inside the hotel there is an elevator that works well and fits 2 people and small laugage. Nevertheless, the location was good, just a few blocks from train station and half a block from bus stop, and close to shopping area and local restaurants and small cafes. The service was Fantastic. They were always helpful in giving you information (on places to go, eat and transportation) and in providing anything that we needed at any time of the day. When we arrived the room that we had reserved did not have the shower that we had asked for, so they switched us to a room that had a shower without any trouble at all. The room with the bathtub was bigger than the one with the shower. But the bathroom with the shower was bigger than the other, which was good as my mother has knee problems and that was more accessible. The rooms were very clean, very well kept. It was the nicest room we stayed in Italy in our whole trip. The decoration has features from England in the19th century. We realized that is just afew blocks from the Great Britain Embassy. THe only thing is that the temperature of the rooms is standard for all the building (you ca not change it), we found it a little hot some days (since it was November they had the heater on and they do not turn the air conditioner on during that time) so we openned the windows a few minutes and it was comfortable afterwards. We stayed in a higher floor which made the room quiet. The night shift and early morning staff were the best. Two wonderful and very polite gentleman. The breakfast was good standard italian breakfast: bread, toast, slices of meat, slices of cheese, they had eggs too, cereals, great coffee (the capuccino were a delight/ you have to ask for it though), juice, milk, and a lot of fruits, mermelades and chocolate. I would recommend this lovely hotel to any adult looking for good service, comfort and location.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mao70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

my husband and I stayed at britannia hotel for 8 days for a romantic trip, this hotel is absolutelly wonderful, clean, service excellent , breakfast very good and the staff was great and very helpfull. a must and we will return.

Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank dargo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

As a result of the April 2010 volcanic ash crisis and resultant flight cancellation we could not return to our original Rome hotel, but that hotel arranged for us to transfer to the Hotel Britannia for 2 nights. It has a good location, near Termini rail station.
This hotel was less spacious than the first, but the reception staff were extremely helpful and gave free internet access to allow us to check out alternative ways to travel. They also translated the recorded messages on the Alitalia Helpline which, as time progressed, were totally in Italian (even the 'English option'!).
The hotel breakfast was good, with a wide selection. Overall a hotel that provides very good value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eastlighter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

My wife and I, both in our 60s, spent a very happy three nights at the Hotel Britannia. Very convenient - easy walking distance from Termini (destination of Airport Transfer bus), for Metro and for buses (although we walked nearly everywhere).
Our room and bed were very comfortable, bathroom fine (liked the fish and the rubber duck!). Breakfast was the best we've experienced. The staff were very friendly and helpful with advice. They kindly booked tickets for us at the Villa Borghese.
When we return to Rome we shall definitely stay there again, and would thoroughly recommend it to our friends as a good value and well located hotel.
We can't believe how pernickety some people are in their reviews!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GerminPill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews