We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #129 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2010

From the moment we were greeted by the Britannia's pleasant staff to the prompt arrival of the driver they called to take us to the airport, everything about our stay there was delightful. We enjoyed a lovely room with many details that made being there pleasant and comfortable. Being able to open both the window in the bedroom and the one in the amazingly spacious (by European standards) bathroom, the aquarium and live plants were unique extras for a hotel in this price range. Breakfast was extraordinary; the location convenient and quiet. Looking forward to returning to Hotel Britannia soon and recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1964040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    665
    360
    72
    30
    17
See reviews for
232
622
27
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Britannia for three nights at the end of a cruise. This is the fourth time we have stayed at this hotel. It is a very comfortable small hotel. The rooms are small but adequate in size and quiet. The beds are comfortable and the staff is very helpful. The breakfasts are outstanding. The price is reasonable for Rome. It is located near Termini Station.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smd22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2010

The location was wonderful and the staff were very helpful. The room was not large but quite comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zzzusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2010

We chose this hotel for it's location, being within walking distance of the main station and still close to Rome's main tourist attractions. The rooms are average size for Roman hotels, clean and comfortable. Good breakfast, superb coffee. The only negative point is the fish bowl with a couple of forlorn guppies in in the rooms, described in the hotel brochure as tropical aquariums! The main advantage with this hotel is the Mario factor. Mario is the night manager and nothing is too much trouble for him. He's a mine of information, even knows train times by memory. We will certainly stay there again and hopefully the fish bowls will have gone.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike_pope40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

Found wonderful reviews about the hotel and chose it based on them and the location, photos, rate and staff responses to my questions. Rooms were very clean and bed was comfortable. Breakfast was more than many larger hotels and always fresh, especially the fruit. Maddalena and Mario were very helpful to any questions/needs we had. They made arrangemets for pick-up and return to airport, which went very smoothly. Also had a small breakfast packed for our very early departure. They even allowed us free use of a computer so that we were able to check-in for our flight the day before.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madmarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
Level Contributor
164 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2010

We stayed 2 nights at the Britannia which is very well managed, excellent and
very friendly staff, nice quiet rooms and very good breakfast; Free Wifi and excellent
location. A 4 star Hotel at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Templeton, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2010

From the time we got there the hotel staff at the Britannia made us feel welcome. Small but elegant the Britannia is well located to the places you want to go. They serve a nice breakfast to start your day. I would recomend Britannia to my friends and family absolutely...
Jon and Stephanie

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmefishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#50 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Hotel Cortina
Hotel Cortina
#63 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#23 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,978 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Diocleziano
Hotel Diocleziano
#48 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Property: The Britannia Hotel
Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing