We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but shop around first.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Britannia Hotel
Ranked #122 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Reviewed 9 August 2010

The location is great - close to Repubblica metro station and about a 15-20 minute walk to the Colleseum and the Termini - and safe. It is right off Nazionale, so eateries and shopping abounds.
However, this hotel is very small and so are the rooms, the decor (dark and heavy) and amenities are showing their age. This was probably a luxury hotel back in the day. For a similar price or slightly more, you can find something more upscale. The service was good during the day, but somewhat less reliable at night. Breakfast is included and there is a considerable assortment.
Overall I'd say this is good for a 1-2 night stay, unless you're OK with only using your room to sleep, in which case you can find cheaper options. It would've been nice to have more room to wind down and relax after our days of sightseeing.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank castawaycanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

655 - 661 of 1,255 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2010

This hotel is located in a quiet street some 600 metres from the railway station with good access to the two underground lines as well as a number of bus routes for the city centre.
Whilst the bedrooms are a little on the small side, doubtless this is a common feature of hotels in the centre of Rome rather dictated by the restrictions imposed by the original design of the buildings for other purposes. We were comfortable enough and went to Rome to see the city, not to spend much time in the bedroom. The hotel is also located in an area where there are restaurants a plenty so you are spoilt for choice as to where to eat.
The hotel staff were always first class in their responses to our various requests and provided clear directions as to which buses to take to go to the various attractions.
If we were to visit Rome again for a couple of nights, I wouldn`t bother looking for anywhere else.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tydur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

The Britannia is within walking to distance to most major sites in Rome. Staff was friendly and helpful with information. The hotel breakfast was excellent! Although the rooms were a bit small, (who needs a big room when you are touring?) the amenities included a safe, hair dryer and refrigerator. Little touches like an aquarium and a rubber duck were fun! A very clean hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank our-time-around
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

I cannot say enough about how much we enjoyed our stay at Hotel Britannia. The room we stayed was a little smaller than we would have liked and we didn't have much of a view,but it's location more than made up for that.We we're only a few steps from the Metro and Termini Station.The hotel was really in walking distance to many landmarks ( maps can be deceiving ) yet was on a quiet side street only one block off a main avenue.The staff was more than helpful ! Everyone spoke excellent English and gave us directions,exchanged Dollars for Euros at the main desk and in general we're Pleasant,Friendly and Helpful. Oh they also has a nice breakfast laid out to start the day ( make sure you get it included when booking your room ) ! Definitely stay here !

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

We had a pleasant welcome and were offered a drink upon arrival. We had booked a superior room which turned out to be at the top of the hotel (#42), included a small aquarium complete with two fish and a small very bright private terrace – good for pre-dinner prosecco! The room itself was comfortable and had tea and coffee making facilities which was great. The bathroom was small but adequate. It had a Jacuzzi bath that didn’t work, a good shower and a bidet which took up too much space. Linen/towels were fresh and the room was clean. Nice to have free WiFi in the bedroom.
The buffet breakfast was probably one of the best that we have ever had in a small private hotel. There was a good choice of bread, cereals, fruit and cold meats. In addition, there was an excellent cooked breakfast on offer – no dry and rubbery scrambled eggs here!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MagellansTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2010

If you fly into Fiumicino International Airport, you can get the train (Leonardo Express - €14) to the main Rome station, and the hotel is just a 10 min walk away.
We arrived at 11:00am, and the room was ready. The receptionist was polite and spoke perfect English and arranged for a welcome drink for us (Fresh Orange juice / Chilled water) and some biscuits.
Lift to the room is small - but it works and is quick. The room was not the biggest bedroom, but the air-conditioning was cooling the room (Temp outside was 42c), it was quiet, the bed was large and so was the bathroom.
Breakfast had fresh pastries, fruit Juices, yoghurts, cereals, breads, Variety of meats & cheese, Cooked food to include sausage/ Bacon / eggs plus more, fresh fruit & fruit salad, Tea & coffee.
The reception staff were always willing to help, and recommended a great restaurant close by (Ristorante Cotto‎, Via Torino, 124, 00187 Roma)
All staff that we met were polite and charming.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank trainedears
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2010

We stayed here on our last night in Italy (whirlwind trip began in Rome, then Sorrento, then Florence and back to Rome to fly out next day). Mario Teti greeted us with a great smile and gave us fantastic service. I asked Mario about when we should arrive at the airport the next morning so we could plan when to catch the train and he asked me if €50 is a better deal than €56 (€14 per person) and which would I choose. Instead of hiking back to the train the next morning, he arranged a private minivan for my family that picked us up in the lobby (boy, do they know how to drive in Italy - what a great ride). We had a great stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IdahoFamily_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Esquilino
iQ Hotel Roma
iQ Hotel Roma
#19 of 1,272 in Rome
4,394 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#36 of 1,272 in Rome
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Rome Life Hotel
Rome Life Hotel
#40 of 1,272 in Rome
1,009 reviews
Esquilino
Quirinale Hotel
Quirinale Hotel
#208 of 1,272 in Rome
3,458 reviews
Esquilino
Hotel Artemide
Hotel Artemide
#7 of 1,272 in Rome
7,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Britannia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Britannia Hotel

Address: Via Napoli 64, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Esquilino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Price Range: £96 - £203 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Britannia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally situated in Rome, The Britannia Hotel welcomes you in a historical elegant building within the Hills of Viminale and Quirinale, at short walking distance from the famous Trevi Fountain and the Spanish Steps and from the main sights, 15 minutes away from the Coliseum area. Friendly and caring Staff, cosy and quiet ambiance, quality service, large and rich american buffet breakfast will help you feeling home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Britannia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing