We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“re review by soalandyR”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #36 of 1,256 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
united kingsdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“re review by soalandyR”
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I was amazed to read this review and the comments about breach of security. I have been a regular visitor to this hotel for nearly 20 years and have never had any reason to question the security of the rooms, honesty of the staff or cleanliness.
What puzzles me is the fact that this so called breach of security does not appear to have been reported to the management. There is always a member of the Khan family on the premises, who I am sure would have called for an immediate investigation of a complaint of this nature.
As for the dust in the room, again I find this too, difficult to understand as the rooms are thoroughly cleaned every day.
It's such a pity that instead of writing negative comments on Trip Advisor the person concerned didn't feel able to take the matters up with the owners.
My experience at the Lancelot has always been one of a very warm reception, staff who are more than willing to go the extra mile and food that is a delight to the palate.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margsalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,782 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,241
    443
    81
    12
    5
See reviews for
505
667
78
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

always stay here when in Rome great hospitality free working wifi good breakfast depending on which room you get they are good size. small bar

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harissa47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Great location a block from the Coliseum in a nice neighborhood. Hosts were personable, hospitable and helpful. Breakfast was great. Enjoyed the dinner as well. Large room was comfortable for our family. Bathroom was adequate. The pillows were flat but I slept well. I wouldn't hesitate to return. Enjoyed the bar, garden, and lobby areas as well.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianaleeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Unforgettable, friendly service. We arrived late, got lost in Rome and the owner's son came out to find us to escort us across Rome to the hotel! Great buffet breakfast, comfortable rooms, parking available in the garden, good location. Brilliant.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathrynMH15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The Hotel Lancelot is warm, friendly, helpful. During the breakfast (included) we felt relaxed, invited to visit with other guests, and ate delicious food until we were fully charged for a day of adventure. There were several sitting rooms of various sizes off the main lobby including a lounge and garden patio. We were able to spread out, read books available to guest and browse through the guest book full of compliments. The staff was very knowledgeable and helpful. we felt safe and secure. While we were invited to have dinner there, we also had wonderful choices of a variety of establishments within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windermere, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

The cozy atmosphere was terrific. The breakfast buffet setting invited guest to relax, mingle with other guests and eat until full. There were several small and medium sitting rooms off the main lobby nicely deocrated; books to read, guest book to sign, a garden to have a cocktail in. Security was terrific. While guests had a choice to dine in for dinner or not, there were close great places to eat and taverns to visit. The staff was very freindly and helpful. There wer three of us yet the room was spacious. All this for a great price. It was a warm retreat during a very hectic vacation. Lots to see in Rome!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regmorrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

I booked two rooms with the Hotel. It is very quiet even though it is ca 10 min walk to the coliseum. The staff was mostly friendly, the rooms of reasonable size. Parking was available which was good as we are doing a driving trip. It is near some good restaurants (avoid the Irish bar down the street however due to mediocre food and bad service).

The hotel probably needs some renovations to cover pealing paint and some faded exteriors. The price was a bit high but not extreme compared to higher end Roman Hotels. Really a bit of peeling paint and a wee bit pricey are the only things that knocks it down from a low Excellent to a very solid Very Good.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#150 of 1,256 in Rome
974 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,256 in Rome
582 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,256 in Rome
2,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Palazzo Manfredi - Relais & Chateaux
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Monti
Raffaello Hotel
Raffaello Hotel
#82 of 1,256 in Rome
2,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing