We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful family-run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #38 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful family-run hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This hotel is exactly what I imagined when I booked it for one night (wish I could have afforded to stay here for all four nights in Rome): simple, classic architecture; great view from a small terrace on the third floor; friendly family owners; cozy bar/library area on the first floor; beautiful furnishings; and only four blocks from the Colosseum on a quiet street. If it's in your budget, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,740 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,210
    434
    80
    11
    5
See reviews for
493
642
77
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Really a good value for an in-city, centrally located boutique hotel in Rome. The location is excellent and close to so much.......the Colosseum, the Palatine, Trastevere, the Vatican, etc.
Friendly, helpful staff, bountiful breakfast and the hotel itself is European stylish. Not inexpensive, but easily worth it due to the location, breakfast inclusion and the service and staff.

Our only complaint was that we had two double beds (had requested a queen). Overall, we would recommend this hotel to any of our friends and acquaintances looking to visit Rome.

Room Tip: Rooms facing west are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BRW73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

This hotel really is just a stones throw from the Colosseum. The location is fantastic and the hotel staff exceptionally friendly and helpful. We had a nearly 8 month old baby with us for our long weekend and Rome and this hotel was perfect for us. The rooms have a bath, although we ended up showering with our baby. Lancelot provide a travel cot all made up and go out of their way to be of assistance.
The rooms are nice, basic but cleaned every day and comfortable. The air con is only on for the summer months which was a shame as we were there in October and it was still very hot for us coming from Ireland :) But with the window open it was fine.
There are loads of great trattorias close to the hotel and the breakfast is a good selection, there is a highchair for babies as well.
Cost was around €600 for 3 nights stay, expensive enough but for the location we thought it was good value. Would recommend to all.

Room Tip: You can get a room with a balcony, which would have been nice in the warm evenings - we didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelznz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

The location is perfect close to the Collosseum and to the other attractions of Rome. The room was clean and functional with a great view. Also the restaurant was very nice with good service. The staff very helpful speaks a good English and the wifi service is excellent. I think this is one of the best place to stay in Rome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodger S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

My wife and stayed at Hotel Lancelot for 5 days in October. We love the hotel and of course Rome, and we will be back.

The hotel staff are friendly, helpful and completely fluent in English. The location is perfect and is among the closest hotels to the Roman Forum and Colosseum.

The self served breakfast served at the hotel was great. A good selection of meat including smoked salmon and various cured meats. Also some fantastic jams including an incredible Orange marmalade (best I've ever had) and some of the freshest nuts I've ever had. There was a wide array of cereals, breads, and croissants. The fresh squeezed apple juice from green apples was unique and very good.

Now, this is not a cheap place to stay. We paid 195 Euros per night. I think it's worth the money though given the typical high costs for hotels in this area. Being so close to all the sights and being able to walk everywhere justifies some the added expense. There are cheaper places, but you would need to either take a bus or taxi to get to where you really want to be in Rome. If you can afford it, I don't think you will be disappointed.

Be sure to visit the terrace on the 6th floor. Its a great spot to drink some wine in the early evening.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GT3Jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

This was my ninth visit to Rome and for this occasion I decided to try a new area of the city to stay in and chose Hotel Lancelot based on the Trip Advisor reviews and the fact there were some lovely rooms available with private terrace. It was a special occasion, one of the reasons being my daughter's 21st birthday and my niece's first trip overseas.
We stayed in rooms 60 , which is the corner suite and 61 which was the next room. Both of these have a lovely view from the terrace, the suite having a view of the Colosseum and Parco di Traiano and at night one could see all the way up to St. Peter's.
We arrived early evening after a very long series of flights and immediately welcomed by the receptionist and by Mrs. Khan . Everyone was very helpful in getting us settled and explaining how things worked at the hotel.
Our rooms were comfortable - the suite was spacious and the double room was small , as most rooms are in Rome. The bathrooms were well appointed, the suite having a bath tub. The mattress in room 61 was new and too firm for the girls but the linens were of very good quality. Both rooms had TV, free wi fi and spacious storage for belongings.
The breakfasts were buffet style and there was a wide selection of foods ranging from breads, cheeses, meats, fruit , juices, tea and coffee. If one wants a cappuccino or other than straight american coffee one only needs to ask at reception or to one of the staff . Each night dinner is served at the hotel either in the enclosed patio area or breakfast room. The menu is offered at the reception desk and at breakfast . If you do not chose dinner included in your room rate you only have to let them know by 4pm that you wish to join for dinner- which is served at 7:30pm. The food is prepared by Mrs. Khan's son who is marvelous and very interesting to talk with also. We very much enjoyed our one meal there. There is also an extensive bar offering a selection of standard drinks plus liquors unique to Italy. There is a lift if one wishes to use it but I chose to walk the 6 flights each time which is how I could justify eating so well each day .
A truly special thing they do at the hotel is serve something special if it is a celebration, like a birthday . On the evening of my daughter's birthday before we went out to dinner they brought up to the rooms drinks in which the glasses had been decorated with colored sugar and Happy B-day and my daughter's name was written on one of the glasses. It was such a sweet little special touch that really emphasized how personal the hotel is and how Mrs Khan and her family feel about the business they have.
The only draw back was in my daughter and niece's view and that was that the location was too far away for them to just go out at night and wander the hang out areas, like Campo di Fiori and Piazza Navona. As I am a big walker I did not find the location a problem and actually enjoyed staying in a totally "new" area .
I highly recommend this hotel and the hospitality of Mrs. Khan and her son (sorry- forgot your name ! ) and all the rest of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

Great hotel, great location but ... should be much better for money they ask you.
Upon arrival we had a "bad" experience with a clerk... we booked parking and arrived very late, the clerk had no driving licence, so we had to move 3 car ourselves to park our one, this after 6 hours of flight from edinburgh with children sleeping in the car... well... this is not so nice for an hotel like this one. Bad Service this time !

Pros:
The staff: really kind, polite and helpful, (except maybe for the previous nigh-clerk !)
The atmosphere, the hall is very very good
Good breakfast

Cons:
too much pricey... we payed EUR 240 /night for a 4 bed room.
furnitures (expecialy bathroom) are somewhat too old
bathroom was really awful
air conditioned does not follows the temp you set. If I set 24 degrees I want 24, not 27 ok ? after all I pay 240 EUR/day !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carlop_oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#16 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#68 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#29 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#22 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing