We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly place in a great location with a very friendly and helpful staff.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #31 of 1,292 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A friendly place in a great location with a very friendly and helpful staff.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

I have lived at the Lancelot since 1987 and have watched it grow into a classy 4 star hotel with very reasonable 3 star prices. Friendly and helpful staff. Brilliant location. Interesting guests. A superb kitchen and a tradition of eating together leads to great connections and friendships. If you want to feel at home and live in a convivial place this is it!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rathinroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,723 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    429
    79
    11
    5
See reviews for
491
633
76
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Loved starting our Italian trip with a stay at Hotel Lancelot. Located just off the Colosseum in a lovely shaded street. Rooms are smallish but comfortable and very clean. Great view of the city from the terrace. The breakfast was amazing. The Khans were super helpful and went out of their way to suggest itineraries and restaurants. Totally recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TasPad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012 via mobile

Nice clean rooms with very good location when visiting Rome for just two days. You can walk to many sights or take the metropolitan not far away. Many nice small restaurants around the corner. Very friendly and helpfull personal.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Momim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

After reading all the excellent reviews, we booked this hotel for 3 nights and had high hopes for it. Just like you reading it now, I never bothered to read the Poor/Terrible 1-2 star reviews and if i had, probably i would have chosen another hotel. To begin with, we drove from Switzerland to Italy for 2 weeks, the car park they offered was not free and at 10euro per night. Good thing is the hotel is outside the ZTL zone and driving into the property you won't get a ticket. The choice of room on bookings.com and agoda was either double or triple, and none of them stated clearly which room type had a blacony. We chose the double room and never got any balcony. Those room with a balcony seems to be reserved for certain guests, at the owners discretion, and whether u get one is like a lucky draw. If you are not that lucky, then like us you will get a small size room with a double bed, big window, tiny bathroom with standup showers. No fridge. Really the room is 3 stars only. Cleaners burst into your room as their is no " Do Not disturb" signs available to hang up and they just open the door with their keys in the afternoon, so a big thumbs down for privacy. Service in general is quite poor, especially the male receptionist. As we parked our car in the front yard and it was blocked by another car, we had to wake the staff up as we feel like going for a night drive, he said he couldn't move the car since he forgot to get the keys from that guest. When we insisted, he talked angrily under his breath, probably swearing at us in Italian. The owner Ms Khan, like in previous negative reviews, sometimes chooses to reply to her emails instead of giving us the keys after standing there ringing the bell and waiting for 5-10 mins at the front desk. Breakfast was like a circus everyday with families waiting for a table, queuing up, and we all had to share a table with others. Quality of breakfast was average with cold bread, cheese and cereal. Even the waitress ( the only one serving the entire room) was working at her turbo mode, dropping stuff and rushing around, clearly unhappy. Not classy at all. Retrospective read of the Poor/Terrible reviews and the way the owner Ms Khan replied clearly demonstrate what kind of management is running this place. It seems she cannot take the negative comments as a way of positive improvement and having met the staff in person, i'm not surprised. Go and have a read at these reviews may give you a more realistic perception of the place. I'd say i would definitely return to Rome this beautiful city, but not to Lancelot.

Room Tip: Get the ones with balcony if u can, but i don't think u have the choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shampoo999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubnakhan, Owner at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent stay with us. This kind of feedback is very important to us and helps us pin point our weakness in order to correct and improve our short comings.

There are, however a few clarifications that e feel we need to reply to your review. Parking is possible in our courtyard subject to availability at a fee of 10.00 euro per night as stated on our website.

Balcony and terrace rooms are very few and are offered upon request. There is no discrimination by the management or staff as to whom is allocated these rooms. Our double rooms comply with European standard and most hotels have mainly showers. We apologize the "no disturb " sign was not in your room and will certainly make sure housekeeping do not enter without knocking first.

We apologize that you were unable to venture out late at night as the porter did not have the key to the car blocking your passage. Generally, the staff are good about reminding guests to leave their car keys. We will discuss this with the night staff on duty whom should not have been asleep and you found to be unfriendly and impolite. Our rooms do not have mini bars, a choice meant to encourage the communal atmosphere at our bar and sitting area.The same holds for the round tables at which breakfast and dinner are served where guests meet and share stories and travel experience. We do agree, there can be moments in which the breakfast room becomes quite hectic for the waitress to manage. We will look into this. Generally, guests are happy with the wide choice of our breakfast table.

There is no excuse if you waited 5 or 10 minutes before opening the gate.My apology. I shall be more attentive to guest in front of me rather than attend to emails.

Customer service is highly important to us and we will try our best to learn from your negative review. We have many happy guests who return year after year. Even one unhappy customer is something to try to set right for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

beautiful hotel, rooms are a bit small but lovely. lovely gardens and terrace. they were very nice about letting my daughter play their piano in the lobby. lovely lobby/common area with a few games and beautiful books to explore. Great location, about 2 min walk to the coliseum. staff is very very nice, and extremely helpful with train tickets and directions. they even mailed the bottle of limoncello we had left in our room! sent it all the way to the usa and it arrived perfectly wrapped in bubble wrap!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank barbaracatlover22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

We booked at Lancelot after reading reviews here on TripAdvisor! We stayed for 2 nights before embarking on our cruise. Giovanni met us at the airport and delivered us safely to the hotel where we were received with a warm welcome. Our rooms were very comfortable and had balconies attached, it faced a quiet street. The Staff was very helpful and patient in providing us with a city map and guiding us to the best places to see, routes to take, advice on tickets and tours and also transportation. It was great to be in close proximity to places like the Coliseum – we could walk there for lovely sunset pictures. There are also many other restaurants in walking distance of the hotel. It was great to just wander out on the first night, getting a ‘feel for the place.’ There was a wide variety of food to choose from at breakfast time which included fresh fruit, cereals, nuts, yoghurt, different kinds of bread and rolls, eggs, salami and sliced cold meat. Coffee and juices were also available. We were very pleased with the excellent ‘after-sales-service’ when Lancelot Staff arranged for Giovanni to take us to the airport after we arrived back from our cruise. We highly recommend staying at The Lancelot whenever visiting Rome.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelsnorthtosouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Tx
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were so pleased with Hotel Lancelot. My husband and I traveled with two teenagers, so we had two rooms. Both rooms were quite attractive and functional. We found the rooms small, but the beds were really comfortable, and the air-conditioning felt wonderful. As a diabetic, I need to be careful food-wise. The breakfast provided by the hotel each morning was just fabulous. There is fresh fruit, milk, cereal, boiled eggs, cold cuts, all kinds of breads, juices and coffee. Definitely something for everyone. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful with suggestions for restaurants, making tour reservations for us, directing us to shops, etc. They just couldn't have been more helpful. Another plus about the Hotel Lancelot is its location so close to the Colosseum and Ancient Rome. I was surprised how many sites are actually within walking distance if you like to walk (Trevi Fountain, for example). We stayed 7 nights and hated to leave. We would definitely stay at Lancelot again!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josephine1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#65 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#27 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,292 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,075 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#58 of 1,292 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing