We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent quality”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #27 of 1,267 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel over the past few years and the reasons we liked the hotel then are still there today.
It is very close to the Colosseum and is within 10-15 minute walks to the subway and bus stop.
We booked a room with a balcony again for its view but it cost us more money and it wasn't worth it the second time around. Other than that,the room was very clean and comfortable but not cheap at $300/night Canadian.
The staff are great and the continental breakfast is very good.
If we go to Rome again we will be staying at the Lancelot.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phantom052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,835)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lancelot
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

836 - 842 of 1,836 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We heard about the Lancelot from friends, repeat visitors to Rome, who recommended the property to us for a short stay in the city (two nights) before grabbing a car and heading to Tuscany for this trips’ ‘main event’.

We arrived in Rome dazed and confused after a 16-hour flight that included a nine-hour time change.

First impressions were very positive and these first impressions were reinforced and added to during the stay. The building is of unknown vintage and has been re-purposed as a hotel. The only real compromise we noted was the tiny lift but this was more than complemented by a beautiful and finely detailed staircase that we took advantage of except for moving in and moving out.

We only ate two breakfasts and one supper in the Lancelot’s dining room and came away both satisfied and impressed. At supper we met the owner/manager, a real charmer who in turn introduced us to Giovanni for a spectacular tour of Rome by car.

As a side note take the time to find the hotel’s small and intimate courtyard, a wonderful spot to end the day with a cocktail or whatever.

As to location, the Lancelot is on a very quiet Roman street, about three blocks from the Coliseum. There are also quite a number of restaurants nearby for those that want to venture out.

‘When in Rome’ would we stay at the Lancelot again – you bet we would!

Mike and Lorna

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mike F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Rarely do you find so much in one place. The Lancelot is a place you could spend a month in and find nothing at all to complain about. We stayed here for a Rick Steves city tour of Rome, arriving a day early. It is located nearly equidistant from two of the Metro lines and a short walk to bus transportation. You can see the Coliseum from here, and it is a short walk to the Forum and other ancient sites. There is a magnificent circular marble staircase, which made walking up to our 5th floor room enjoyable [there is a lift, also]. There is an entranceway courtyard with tables, and another interior courtyard steps from the bar with a vine-covered roof. The bar and library are big enough for cozy meetings with friends. Our room faced private apartments, but the street noise could get intrusive during the early mornings - Rome's garbage collectors, no fault of the hotel staff. There is a terrace on the sixth floor available to all, and it is a splendid place to drink a bottle of wine and see the Coliseum lit for the night. The staff here is very attentive and friendly. Although we did not dine at the restaurant, others did and reported that it was very good. The included breakfast was excellent, among the best we've had in Europe. There were many very good nearby restaurants and cafes for lunch and dinner. I thought this was an ideal spot, like so many carefully selected by Rick Steves. We would stay again during our next visit to Rome.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

What a wonderful place! Lots of greenery, palm trees and creeping vines greeted us as we entered this "Olive Garden" type place. We were in Italy at last!
The staff was so accommodating and welcoming that we felt like we were home. Helen, the owner,
was a lovely charming lady. The rooms were immaculate and each one had a charm of its own.
When we return to Rome, we would stay at no other place!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

This Hotel is about as good as it gets for a 3 star hotel in a city as big as Rome. Well located in the center of the cradle of Old City Center Rome, the Lancelot is a respite from the noisy, in your face adventure that is Rome. On a quiet street in a neighborhood just a few minutes from the Roman Forum and Colosseum you are greeted by the nicest, friendliest, and incredibly helpful staff imaginable. Rooms are tidy, clean and quiet. The AC WORKS and the size is about what you would expect for a European hotel. Public areas are pleasant and inviting. The included breakfast is ample and tasty. Great coffee. Ask for a 6th floor terrace room with unbeatable views of the Colosseum. It's especially lovely at night. I would not hesitate to wholeheartedly recommend this great hotel made very special by the fantastic staff.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank WaveWatcher16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

We stayed here for six nights while visiting Rome. The coliseum is only about 3 blocks away and it can be seen from the sixth floor balcony. We found the location convenient to walk to many sites; the hotel will call you a cab if you want one. Many restaurants and bars are nearby. The hotel does offer a nightly 3-course dinner for 25 Euro which includes wine. We did this on our first night in Rome; the food was fine but what we enjoyed more was talking with the other guests as they were very helpful and informative on when to go where. We'd done a lot of research before arriving but first-hand information was great. There is a small bar to purchase soft drinks and alcohol. A can of coke was 3 euros which is pricey; there are small markets within a block or two where you can get the same size can for 1 or 2 euros. The hotel is on a very quiet street; breakfast is included in the nightly cost. The rooms were very clean and a safe was in the room. The bed felt hard but we had no trouble sleeping on it; the shower was great. We opted for room with its' own balcony but there is a small shared balcony on the sixth floor. A great place to view the Coliseum when it is lit up at night.

Room Tip: Sixth floor room with private balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hola4876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Great hotel. extremely convenient for the great sights in Rome. Family run hotel and it shows. Rooms nice and clean and everyone very friendly. 3rd time to stay here.. great really great...We just got a taxi on previous visits but got the prebooked car to take us to the airport on our way back. excellent... definately a must for future visits..thatnk you Khan Family.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#140 of 1,267 in Rome
1,005 reviews
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,267 in Rome
620 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#71 of 1,267 in Rome
2,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Residenza Maritti
Residenza Maritti
#13 of 1,267 in Rome
381 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#16 of 1,267 in Rome
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £93 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing