We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It Is What It Is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #33 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“It Is What It Is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

With just two nights and one full day to spend in Rome, we wanted a small, reasonably priced hotel in a neighborhood loaded with restaurants and attractions so we could walk from site to site without having to take cabs, buses or trains. The Lancelot fit the bill perfectly. We checked out its website and it featured a walking tour that included the Coliseum, many churches including San Pietro in Vincoli (with Michelangelo’s Moses) and the tiny St. Clements church. (We highlight this do-not-miss, archeological wonder because when you visit you travel through time: its 12th century edifice is built on a 4th-5th century church which is on built prehistoric foundations.)

Now, getting back to the Lancelot: it's good news and bad news. The good: The neighborhood with its historical sites and abundance of restaurants and bars, the very friendly and knowledgeable staff, a comfortable old world ambience, a decent breakfast buffet with plenty of choices, but no hot foods. Another plus is the round table dinner where you sit with other travelers from all over the world. The 3-course dinner was surprisingly good. The bad news is that we found the negatives stated by other reviewers to be unfortunately true. With a dated decor, our room and bathroom were really small. You expect that in Europe, but a large person would have a difficult time in the shower. Some have suggested getting a room with a small balcony. It helps for size but if you keep the door open, you may smell cigarette smoke or food smells as the staff prepares breakfast and dinner. Another peeve about tiny: there wasn't room to hang the towels except draped over the shower door and that didn't guarantee dry.

Many of us use TripAdvisor to find hotels to meet our specific needs. Glancing through the various reviews and traveler photographs, we discover the pros and cons of each property and know approximately what to expect. With the Lancelot, there were no surprises. Our expectations were spot on and we enjoyed our 2-night stay because it satisfied our most basic requirements.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Winger2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lancelot, Manager at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We understand that you research your hotels meticulously and that with the Lancelot your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. Thank you for pointing out your impressions about the room decor: in this quieter season we are going through all the rooms to ensure that they have a fresher look where needed .Some of our bathrooms may be on the small size due to structural reasons, although they do meet European standards and are compact but functional. We are sorry you did not find a place to hang your towels, had you pointed this out to us while you were here we would have atteneded to the matter. Many people really enjoy their little balconies and getting a glimpse on the life that goes on in an Italian city with it's colours and also the smell of fresh croisants or home cooking .Smoking is not permitted inside the Hotel building, but we cannot prohibit smoking outdoors. We are sorry that you found the breakfast to be simply decent, many other guests tell us that for a three star Hotel they find the breakfast buffet to be generous and varied. On a positive note, we are glad that you found our Staff helpful and knowledgable and the ambience to be comfortable and warm in a charming and historically rich neighbourhood.

Kind Regards,

Lubna Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,199
    428
    79
    11
    5
See reviews for
491
632
76
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

This is a nice european hotel. I love the location near the Colosseum because of the neighbourhood. It is close to everything with buses and metro stops in the vicinity.

The hotel rooms are on the small size as were the twin beds, but this is not surprising for Europe.

Overall average.

The breakfast was very good with a generous assortment of food.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drsjadfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lancelot, Owner at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are sorry to hear that you found our rooms small and that you rated your stay as average. Our rooms can vary in size, however they all comply to Italian standards of safety and size for a three star Hotel. Many other guests are very happy with our accommodations and find the comfortable and pleasing, we are sorry to hear that this was not so for you .We are glad to hear that you found our Hotel nice and breakfast generous and satisfactoryas well as the neighbourhood charming and convenient to visit the city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aceh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Lancelot recently on our trip to Rome. We were there for three nights and four days. The hotel staff were welcoming. Our check-in was smooth and the room was clean, and very comfortably appointed. The feeling of being in a family-run hotel never leaves you as every small request is taken care of promptly and with a smile. The front desk staff were always more than willing to give insider tips of where to go and their favorite places to eat, which is much needed in a city like Rome as there are so many tourist traps.

The hotel was perfectly situated and a short walk from all the major sites. There is small grocery store nearby for essentials but we did not need to buy much as the hotel breakfast was reasonably priced (ours was included in the room rate) and delicious.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who would like to stay in a friendly place run with warmth and love. Aunty Helen, the owner, was always around to check in on us and make sure we were having a comfortable stay. Give me a small boutique hotel any day over the major chains! And Lancelot was just that perfect gem.

Room Tip: Choose one of the rooms on the higher floor with a view of the small cobblestone road...the road is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gita_modgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lancelot, Manager at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting such a nice review on Tripavisor. We are happy to hear that you were comfortable and happy with your stay at the Lancelot and that you appreciated the warmth and hospitality of a small hotel versus that of standard and more impersonal Hotels that may be large and fancy but are lacking in the personal service and the smiles that so many return guests appreciate at the Hotel Lancelot.

Thank You & Return again !

Lubna Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
united kingsdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Our flight arrived early but Giovanni was waiiting to whisk us off to the Lancelot. He is the hotel's recommended driver and never fails to be on time. We arrived at the hotel just as dinner was about to be served, but this was not a problem, our bags were taken up to our rooms and we joined other guests in the dining room. Mrs Khan and her daughter Lubna gave us a very warm welcome shortly to be greeted by Farris. As a;ways the food was delicious with excellent wine to accommpany our meal. Our rooms were bright, clean and comfortable in every respect.
I would recommend without hesitation Hotel Lancelot.

Room Tip: Try for one overlooking the inner court yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank margsalady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lancelot, Manager at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for your kind and thoughtful review on Tripadvisor. It makes us very happy to know that guests have felt welcomed and at home at the Lancelot and keep returning year after year !
Glad you enjoyed the company and evening meals and found you rooms to be bright and comfortable in every respect !

Hope to see you again soon at the Lancelot .

Lubna Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

A very good place to stay if you want a peaceful hotel close to major sites. In fact only 6minutes walk to the Colosseum!

We stayed here 24-28 October 2013 and were extremely pleased this was the hotel in Rome we picked. The hotel has a real charm about it, but I suppose thats what you get from a family run hotel, from the time you walk in the front gate.

All staff are very cheerful and helpful. Especially those at the reception desk. And they know a lot about their city and the best way to get around, right down the the bus numbers to take to get to the Vatican and other places. A credit to them all.

Our Room #12 was a good size and the furnishings were very good. Bed was very comfy for a good sleep after a hard day of site seeing. Room had its own bathroom and toilet. A little window opened up onto a courtyard at the back of the hotel.

The breakfast room had a good selection of food for all tastes.

Hotel has a lift.

Costs for our four night stay was quite reasonable for Europe and Rome. We definately looked at a lot more expensive ones during our planning.

There are a number of good restaurants very close by - the best being Ristorante Naumachia, with great pizza and pasta. Oh and the tiramisu is awesome!

Would definately stay here again when in Rome.

Room Tip: Room #12 nice very quiet room on a corner overlooking a small courtyard of other buildings. Very goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Lancelot, Manager at Hotel Lancelot, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your October stay at the Lancelot. We are very glad to hear that you found the hotel to have a real charm about it and all the Staff to be cheerful and helpful. We are also delighted to hear that you found your room to be of a good size and pleasantly furnished and the breakfast to be plentiful and good.
It is very important to us that guests are satisfied and happy at the Lancelot.

Thank you for letting us know !

Lubna Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

We, a family of three, spent a few nights at the Hotel Lancelot during the middle of December in 2013. We were immediately impressed by a very courteous and helpful staff. Even though we arrived before noon, our room was available immediately. Accommodations are spacious, quiet and clean. Most noteworthy, however, is the exquisite character this charming hotel has to offer. The lobby, lounge, dining area and bar, all warmly welcome guests to stay. This hotel is perfectly located to start sightseeing excursions. The Colosseum is just a stone throw away. Taxis, called by staff, arrive in less than five minutes. Our time at the Hotel Lancelot was an excellent experience, and we would stay at this hotel again during future travels to Rome.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LYHtoeverywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Lancelot is an excellent hotel -very simple, clean, quiet and close to some great little places to eat and drink. The staff were friendly and helpful and after five days I really didn't want to leave. The room was basic clean and faced a little street that was quiet. The room was not large and the bathroom was small, but clean and very functional. The foyer, dining=room and bar were all quaint and very intimate. The round tables in the dining room encouraged interaction between guests and made my stay more fun. The breakfast – that was included in my room rate - was excellent and on request, included a first-class espresso coffee. The neighbourhood felt safe and it was incredible to walk to the end of the street and see the Coliseum. Public transport was easily accessible and included trams and trains within 10 minutes walk of the hotel. There was also a hop-on hop-off tourist bus that pasted by the Coliseum and provided a great way to get orientated on my first visit to Rome. All in all I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel to tourists or business travellers. It is a very comfortable and friendly place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Hilton T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#15 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#66 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,967 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#26 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,291 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel
Dharma Hotel
#61 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing