We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit for Rome Marathon”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #37 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I loved everything about this hotel. I booked a single room and this is the first time in my many trips to Rome that The room was not a closet with a twin bed. I had a little terrace and plenty of room inside. Simple but very comfortable and homey. I was very grateful after the marathon to be so close to the finish line.
The staff could not not be more helpful and friendly and their knowledge of Rome both current and historical was endless. Even the other guests were friendly. This is the theme of this hotel as you are encouraged to gather in the bar and dining room to mingle. I met other runners so there was plenty to discuss. I am also grateful to the young woman at the desk who took the time to help me out with my airline troubles.
Breakfast was excellent. They even had smoked salmon and cream cheese which I have never encountered before. You also had the option to have dinner at the hotel.
I cannot think of any reason not to stay here. I am a woman and travelled alone and this hotel was perfect

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Patti417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,886)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

832 - 838 of 1,886 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

Everyone was extremely helpful - made trip to Rome a great experience . Breakfast was amazing . Staff was wonderful - especially Lorena - who babysat my 7 year old- and even took him to the park. Recommend highly .

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manochamark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great pint-sized hotel appropriate for everyone. I was given a beautiful room supervising the main beach. The hotel is opposed Lotus Ecologico, a place where you can have a really nice massage (ask for Rosa) and everyday Yoga classes with Silvia. I've been to 4 and 5 star hotels before, but apart from perhaps having healthier facilities such as a nice orchard, a well armed gym or a larger swimming pool, some of them are not that much better than Lancelot. Overall, a great place to vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0eNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Hotel is about 500m from Colloseum. You can walk to all the major Roman locations (Colloseum, Roman Forum, Trevi Fountain, Spanish Steps etc). Vatican is just a bus away or metro train away. The highlight of the hotel is the staff. They accommodated many of our special requests, were always helpful with suggestions on where to go and when to go. Breakfast is very good. The room was an okay size with separate beds for my kids. But we were all (2 adults and 3 kids) were put up in just 1 room and that's why i gave 4 stars. Else this can easily qualify for 5 stars.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karthik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Great location on a quiet street. Beautiful terrace views and delicious breakfast. Recommend this for couples or friends. Comfortable sized rooms for 2 people. They forgot to give our wakeup call so, set an alarm.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

I would definitely recommend this hotel for visitors to Rome. With a view of the Colosseum from the 6th floor terrace, it's a wonderful access point for the Eternal City. The staff were really friendly and accommodating, and the room was very comfortable. I had dinner at the hotel on my second night and had great fun meeting other guests as well as (I think) the owner, who was charming as he joined our table for dinner. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Lancelot provides very caring service and a warm, welcoming atmosphere in a central location. The reception rooms are very comfortable. The breakfast buffet is good with plenty of choices. The rooms are clean and well appointed although they are very small. My main concern has been that there is no sound insulation between the rooms. This means that if there are guests in the adjoining room there is a lot of noise transfer. Otherwise though, this is a very gracious place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back courtyard are quieter. Also try asking for a room with no immediate neighbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Heidi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#137 of 1,272 in Rome
1,051 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#21 of 1,272 in Rome
1,227 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,272 in Rome
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trastevere
Hotel Residenza San Calisto
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
3,043 reviews
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,272 in Rome
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £87 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing