We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly atomosphere, very central”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #33 of 1,272 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Located a stones throw from the Colosseum this hotel is perfectly situated for all the Rome sights. The staff a firendly and helpful. Ask and they will provide you suggested walking routes for you to see the different sights of Rome. The breakfast will give you a good foundation for your day. There are plenty of good (casual) restaurants in the streets around the hotel for dinner and there are cafes for lunch or drinks too. There is a small supermarket nearby too. I was travelling alone, but there were plenty of families (mainly US & UK) too.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Macpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,880)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

750 - 756 of 1,881 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

My son and I stayed here last weekend and the hotel was fantastic. Set in a lovely quiet street just a stone's throw from the Colliseum, it was wonderfully peaceful and relaxed. Our room was well equipped and had air con. We only found the roof terrace on the last day but this was lovely with a good view to the Colliseum. Breakfast was good and the evening meal smelt wonderful - we ate out every night in one of the local pizza and pasta places nearby which were good value and good food. We would love to return!

Room Tip: Apparenty the rooms on the 6th floor with a view of the Colliseum and a terrace are the best ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sarahlovesfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We kicked off our visit to Italy with a 6 night stay at the Hotel Lancelot. We loved the hotel. The 2nd floor room was great & the staff were consistently helpful, efficient & cheerful. The location - with close proximity to the Colosseum & easy access to ATM, supermarket & Metro - was unbeatable.

We could only avail of the dinner at the hotel for one night due to our schedule - but we are glad we did. Both the ambience and the food were classy. It was great to have the proprietor, Mrs. Khan, join us at our table. The breakfast spread was also very good. If we are lucky to be back in Rome again, Hotel Lancelot would be where we would want to stay. It is now easy to understand the large number of repeat customers.

Not surprisingly, even the limo service that works with this hotel is excellent. We ended up going on a trip with Mr. Giovanni - he is a kind, considerate and knowledgeable gentleman. We also used his service for airport pick up. We highly recommend this service as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pnws
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

I can't fault the Lancelot. We had left one of our bags at the port by mistake and Lorena the hotel receptionist spent at least an hour helping to organize its return. And she did it with a smile. A GREAT hotel to stay at. Thanks Lancelot

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raewyn12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

if you are looking for a great location ( you might see the Colosseum and the palatine hill from your balcony ), tasteful design, and special balance between proportionality and familiarity of the staff ( especially wonderful Max),
and the owners - the khan family - this is the place for you
WE will defiantly stay at this warm and beautiful hotel next time in Rome.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Noga E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Can't believe I haven't written this sooner. We stayed in Hotel Lancelot in August 2012 and would recommend it as a must for anyone staying in Rome. The hotel manager and his family made us feel very welcome, his tales of Rome were very knowledgeable and interesting. The rooms were clean, the food fantastic and varied and is minutes from the Colosseum.

Rome is a city we are hoping to return to again and we will be contacting the Lancelot about staying there again!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My husband and I stayed in room 62 for 2 days with our 18 month old son. We had an amazing balcony with unbelievable views of the Colosseum. The balcony was perfect because we were able to sit and enjoy a glass of wine while he napped and after he went to bed at night. We had a wonderful experience at their nightly dinner and met a great family. Shout out to Max. He was an awesome server and bartender. We highly recommend staying at the Lancelot. It is close to so many restaurants, parks, and sights that you come to Rome to see.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mckfloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Trevi
White Hotel
White Hotel
#141 of 1,272 in Rome
1,041 reviews
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,272 in Rome
1,222 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#73 of 1,272 in Rome
2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#11 of 1,272 in Rome
665 reviews
Trastevere
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#10 of 1,272 in Rome
3,024 reviews
Monti
Princeps Boutique Hotel
Princeps Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,272 in Rome
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range: £80 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing