We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Super Little Secret”
Review of Hotel Lancelot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Lancelot
Ranked #35 of 1,257 Hotels in Rome
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
1 review
“A Super Little Secret”
Reviewed 1 March 2010

I hesitate to write this review because I feel I'm letting too many people in on a wonderful secret. We visited this charming, well-situated hotel for a quick weekend in February. The Hotel Lancelot sits in a lovely neighborhood so is very quiet, but you are basically next door to the sites of Ancient Rome. The hotel rooms are spacious by any european standard and ours benefitted from the most magnificent views - not usual for a hotel in the centre of town. The bathrooms were well-equipped, pristine and more than comfortable. The staff, however, is what makes this hotel extra-special. They make you feel so extremely welcome. There is no question that we have (finally) found our Rome hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank City-Break-family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,223
    437
    81
    11
    5
See reviews for
499
650
78
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (359)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2010

perfect location in a neighborhood near colesium. Very helpful staff. Their largest room accomodated my family of four, not a luxurious room, but fine for the four of us.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fordstreet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
233 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2010

My wife and I spent a week in Rome, with another couple, in January 2010. We picked the Lancelot through TripAdvisor, which rated it 17th out of 1200+ rated hotels in Rome, astonishing for a modest-sized 3-star hotel.

We understood the rating the minute we walked through the front door, as we were greeted as though we were well-loved family members returning after a long absence. This level of attention, warmth, and service continued through the entire week, including the 90 minutes the proprietor spent with us our first night outlining things to see and do and how to get there, not only the major tourist destinations, but things a local knows about best. The accommodations were fine, althougn nothing extraordinary -- it was the service that won our hearts.

We spent almost every late afternoon in the Lancelot lounge, taking well-prepared tea, and visiting with other guests and with members of the owner's actual family who apparently are always passing though town.

The location is super, a few blocks from The Coliseum. Very convenient, not only for visiting the Coliseum and the adjoining Forum and museums, but because at any major bus stop in central Rome there is a bus or two that includes "Colosseo" among its stops -- making it easy to get home. We cannot imagine returning to Rome and not returning to the Lancelot. (Thank you TripAdvisor!).

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Madre, California
Level Contributor
317 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2010

We have stayed twice at Hotel Lancelot and enjoyed it. The best part was the patio and view of the Colosseum. The staff was very helpful giving directions and instructions on how to use the metro and the buses. It is a quiet area with some good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynndds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2010

Great location. Super close to Colesseum and Metro. Suite with balcony has a great view. We stayed for 10 days. Nice staff. I'd recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LSaG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2010

My husband and I had a great time at the Hotel Lancelot. We rented a room with a terrace and sat out as much as possible. It's has a charming atmosphere and broad age range of guests, which made it fun. They had a nice little bar area and the dinner they serve was wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akameda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2010

We were a bit spoiled staying in an agroturismo in the Tuscan hills for 8 days prior to staying here, so we were a bit shocked to return to small hotel rooms at high prices. This place is walking distance to the Coliseum and subway, but a bit of a hike when dragging luggage... seems not far enough to take a cab, yet just far enough away to be a huge bummer to drag your roller bags! My sister in law and her husband stayed in a little pricier room than ours (ours was around $200 american I think) and had a charming balcony... well worth the money in the end, to sip a bottle of wine on the lovely flower filled patio. Not sure what she paid... but it was pricey for what it was. Not really any place to walk at night (say, to go grab a bite or a leisurely dinner)... plan on taking cabs to somewhere a bit more lively. (Which is OK, because in turn, it's not noisy at night!) Overall, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillieTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Monti
Nerva Boutique Hotel
Nerva Boutique Hotel
#14 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Monti
Capo d'Africa Hotel
Capo d'Africa Hotel
#67 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,011 reviews
Esquilino
The Independent Hotel
The Independent Hotel
#31 of 1,257 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Esquilino
Dharma Hotel & Luxury Suites
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Trieste
Palm Gallery Hotel
Palm Gallery Hotel
#20 of 1,257 in Rome
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lancelot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lancelot

Property: Hotel Lancelot
Address: Via Capo d'Africa 47 | Colosseum - Celio, 00184 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Monti
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Rome
#39 Romantic Hotel in Rome
#44 Business Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lancelot 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lancelot is a peaceful haven at a short stroll from the Colosseum and the Roman Forum. The friendly english speaking staff are always willing to help you with suggestions and tips on discovering Rome's treasure's. A distinctive feature of the Hotel are the " round tables" at which people from every corner of the earth meet and converse over breakfast or the generous evening meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Lancelot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancelot Hotel Rome
Hotel Lancelot Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing