We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“My Navona”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Navona

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Navona
Ranked #133 of 1,291 Hotels in Rome
Pittsburgh, Pa.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“My Navona”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2011

If you're familiar with European two-stars, you'll know what to expect here. The rooms and hotel were clean and comfortable, and breakfast was tasty. I thought the hotel was hard to find (and I never did quite figure out the surrounding streets) but the general location was good. The Piazza Navona is touristy but great fun. The beds were very small, and I think a large person would have difficulty with them. And it is indeed very noisy - I finally wore earplugs to block out the street noise.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    427
    412
    99
    44
    41
See reviews for
205
451
40
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new Orleans, la
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2011

This hotel was great value for money - even though our room did not have any of the features advertised - no view, no frescos, nothing ancient about it - a tiny room stuck in the corner of a hallway. But the bed was the most comfortable of the four hotels we stayed at in Italy, the bath room was super modern - the whole thing was very clean - there was a small safe in a cupboard for valuables. There was a clothesline just outside a door (that opened onto a central courtyard) that we used to dry socks and undies. The lady at the desk was very helpful arranging tickets. the AC was controlled by a remote, and although they turned it off everyday when cleaning the room, it did not take long for the room to be cool enough and actually cold during the night. This will be "our hotel" in Rome.

Room Tip: Room 16 is very tiny with no view (just stuck in a hall it seemed), but the bathroom was superior an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maganista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We spent three nights at the Navona in mid-October, and it was exactly what we had hoped for -- clean, basic accommodations in a great location. The hotel is in the heart of old Rome, just moments from the beautiful Piazza Navona in one direction, and the Pantheon in the other. The rooms were basic, but comfortable (there was some street noise, but it was not bad), the staff on the desk was helpful, and a staffer helped carry our bags from the ground floor to the second floor check-in area. They stored our bags for us before check-in and after check-out. Breakfast also was basic, but did the job. The best thing about this hotel is the location, which was ideal.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbmytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

We stayed at Hotel Navona for three nights in October 2011. I'd stay here again. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, the rooms were small but clean, the breakfast was nice. It's an European continental breakfast so it was croissants and pastries, ham and cheese, fruit (canned peaches) yogurt, cappucino and coffee and tea. Enough to get us started each morning. The location is fabulous - just a two-minute walk to Piazza Navona where we ate a few meals and enjoyed the activities, five minutes to the outdoor market, 20 minutes to the Coliseum, 25 to the Vatican/Sistine Chapel/St. Peters, 20 minutes to the Spanish Steps and Trevi Foundtain, and all around the hotel, you'll find wonderful shops and restaurants. It was a little noisy early in the morning, but from what I understand, that's a problem in any neighborhood in Rome. This is not a fancy hotel by any means, but it was nice and clean and centrally located. One thing to note: like many hotels, they provide towels but not washclothes. If you are used to using one, bring your own.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank crittergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WBridgford Expat in Scotaland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2011

We spent three nights at the Navona earlier this month. We found the hotel reasonably good value for money. Our room was very clean and quiet if slightly basic. Reception staff were okay but the attitude of the kitchen/dining room staff was rude and arrogant. The pictures on the internet show the breakfast room set up as individual tables for two or four people. Sadly this was not our experience. We were told breakfast was from 7.30-9.30 but when we appeared for breakfast on our first morning at 8.00 the place was a shambles. The hotel obviously caters for groups and they take preference over individual guests. The dining room was packed - the tables had been pushed together to accommodate maximum amount of people. We spotted a smaller room apparently set up for breakfast with no one there and assumed this was for non-group people. Wrong - we were rudely ordered out of there and into the main breakfast room by a very arrogant member of the kitchen staff. We explained there was nowhere to sit down there, however he shoved us in the middle of a table between four members of the group. We pointed out that we were not part of this group but he either didn't understand or didn't care. The latter we suspect. We were not offered any coffee or tea and the buffet table had been more or less cleared by the party. There was plenty of bread rolls and yoghurt but there was one rather sad half peach left and two slices of cheese, the ham had all gone. Nothing was replenished whilst we sat at the table.

We never did find out who or what the other room was for and it remained empty throughout our stay! We complained at reception and were told that individual guests were encouraged to come to breakfast from 9.00 as they liked to clear the parties first! Useless if you have a pre-booking at a museum, as we had on that day, or indeed a train to catch. However next morning we went down at 9.10 - we were the only people there at that point, but some others came in about 10 minutes later to the obvious irritation of the staff. We were almost made to feel we had arrived late for breakfast and were now in the way as they bustled about clearing up around us. Our last morning we appeared at 8.50 and were met with the chaos of the first day, so altogether a no-win situation on the breakfast front. If you like a leisurely start to the day, this is not the place for you. When we were leaving the kitchen staff were having a very loud altercration with the guy in reception.

We would probably not stay there again unless they sorted out their kitchen staff and eating arrangements, which is a pity really because the hotel itself is well situated and decent value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WBridgfordExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We booked this hotel for a family of 9 hoping that it would live up to previous positive comments on tripadvisor. It more than lived up to them, the location is ideally located 2minutes walk from piazza navona, 5 mins from the pantheon and 10mins from the spanish steps. The staff were very friendly and welcoming (in particular Michele), they gave us great recommendations for restaurants and places to see. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 17Carla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Dont expect too much from this hotel. The rooms are basic and i would say ideal for group travel. Breakfast is simple but nice & filling and keeps you going - Euro breakfast. You can grab more food/coffee around Piazza Navona and other areas if you want. Ideal location!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ksar1901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rome hotels
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Palazzo Navona Hotel
Palazzo Navona Hotel
#33 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Navona Colors Hotel
Navona Colors Hotel
#75 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Abruzzi
Hotel Abruzzi
#51 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Boutique Hotel Campo de Fiori
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Residenza Argentina
Residenza Argentina
#25 of 1,291 in Rome
4.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
Hotel Albergo Santa Chiara
#117 of 1,291 in Rome
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Navona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Navona

Property: Hotel Navona
Address: Via dei Sediari 8, 00186 Rome, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lazio > Rome > Navona / Pantheon / Campo de’ Fiori
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Rome
#92 Family Hotel in Rome
#199 Romantic Hotel in Rome
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Navona 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the historic centre, Hotel Navona Roma enjoys a privileged position only a few steps from Piazza Navona, the Pantheon, Campo de’ Fiori and the other main tourist attractions in the Eternal City, all within walking distance. Stay at Hotel Navona and immerse yourself in history. This historic 15th century building stands on the site of the Baths of Agrippa,, the first bath complex in the city, which was built by Marcus Vipsanius Agrippa and opened in 12 BC. The hotel has been completely refurbished, while retaining aspects that reflect the glorious past of the Eternal City. Several rooms feature frescoed ceilings, and ancient Roman bricks are still visible in the communal areas. The hotel provides different types of room with Economy, Standard, Superior and Family Rooms. Each elegantly decorated room features a private bathroom, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi (excluding groups ), mini-bar and satellite TV. For those who prefer a stay in total freedom, we offer comfortable, functional apartments with kitchens in Rome’s historic centre, just a few minutes from Hotel Navona. Hotel Navona provides a full buffet breakfast served between 7.30am and 10am, for you to start your tour of the city bursting with energy. Breakfast is not included in the room rate, and is charged at 10 euros per person. Take advantage of our special ‘breakfast included’ offers for your stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Navona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Navona Rome

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing